We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine accomodation, but not exceptional”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Palms Guest House
Ranked #54 of 77 Nelspruit B&B and Inns
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fine accomodation, but not exceptional”
Reviewed May 20, 2010

The Palms Guest House is a small property with a few rooms, a large garden with a pool, a breakfast room and a communal living room with an honesty bar. We stayed in a unit with 2 adjoining bedrooms with a family of 4, which suited us fine. The beds were good, the rooms were perfectly adequate. The bathrooms were nothing special but adequate as well (a simple but good working) shower and toilet. We asked for an airport transfer, which was swift and efficient. Breakfast was fine - you could have a fully cooked English breakfast or continental type. The only thing we found was that the owners were not very knowledgeable or interested to tell us more about how to get from Nelspruit to the Kruger Park (which is sort of around the corner from Nelspruit). Other than that a good value for money

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ycew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    6
    7
    2
    6
See reviews for
11
18
1
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, SA
Level 6 Contributor
78 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2010

we had a lovely single night stay here. Driving up late from Pretoria we needed a place to crash. This was ideal. Secure parking, large room with bath and shower, tv and an excellent stocked honesty bar in the lounge. Plenty to read also if this takes your fancy. Good breakfast - cooked to order and huge pool if the weather is kind. Convenient for transit but I would stay here for an extended period in the future.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CHH-pretoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2009

We only required one nights accommodation on our way to Kruger Park but wish we could have stayed longer at this guesthouse. The garden setting is absolutely gorgeous, the hosts were wonderful and the rooms were excellent. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and definitely recommend to everyone.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank missytwoshoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2009

Chris and Sue were friendly and welcoming, showing us round the place, pointing out the honesty bar and then leaving us to unpack. Sue provided bath towels when we went for a (nice but a bit chilly) swim so we didn't have to use those provided in the rooms. The food was good, although not the quality (and quantity) we'd had elsewhere in SA. Rooms comfy, excellent powerful shower and nice additional touches like mosquito repellent provided in the bathrooms!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MepLon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2008

Chris and Sue welcomed us into their very homey guesthouse for the evening. Sue showed us the drinks bar immediately (it was a long day of traveling and meetings), and left us in peace in our very clean and comfortable room. Dinner was a very creative salad, which accommodated the vegetarian in the group nicely. The young woman at our table turned out to be extremely interesting, and we drank tea and talked late into the night (the owners also joined us for a while).

Breakfast was very good, with freshly brewed coffee. They have a number of very friendly dogs, which I loved.

The location is good, the decor tasteful, the beds comfortable, the food great (this is rare), and the company wonderful.

  • Liked — The food and the dogs
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prontopup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcs
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2008

This visit to the Palms turned out to be for longer than expected; the helpfulness of the staff and the housesitters, Rachel, Terence and Elice, made what could have been a really difficult stay into a very pleasant one. The rooms are excellent, some smaller than others, but all perfectly formed, with everything you need. The garden is peaceful, apart from when the monkeys visit and upset the dogs, we heard owls every night, and improved our birdwatching skills. Meals are provided in the week and that together with the well stocked honesty bar meant the evenings passed very pleasantly. There is a shopping centre nearby with supermarket, internet cafe, atm and laundry as well as a couple of takeaways and a Portuguese Restaurant.

  • Liked — All of it, the room,the garden, the staff and owners,
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizzieWorcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nelspruit hotels
1.8 mi away
Zebrina Guesthouse
Zebrina Guesthouse
#7 of 77 in Nelspruit
146 reviews
1.7 mi away
Bavaria Guest Lodge
Bavaria Guest Lodge
#21 of 77 in Nelspruit
33 reviews
1.6 mi away
35 Kelkiewyn B&B
35 Kelkiewyn B&B
#13 of 77 in Nelspruit
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Abundance Lodge
Abundance Lodge
#7 of 69 in Nelspruit
26 reviews
0.6 mi away
Old Vic Traveller's Inn
Old Vic Traveller's Inn
#12 of 69 in Nelspruit
140 reviews
0.6 mi away
Chez Vincent Guest House
Chez Vincent Guest House
#47 of 77 in Nelspruit
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palms Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palms Guest House

Property: The Palms Guest House
Address: 25 Van Wijk Street, Nelspruit 1200, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Nelspruit
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Nelspruit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Palms Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DESCRIPTION: Warmth and welcome await you at The Palms, one of Nelspruit’s most popular and established guest houses. Bordering a nature reserve the lush sub-tropical gardens offer superb views and an abundance of bird life, creating an ambience of peace and tranquillity. LOCATION Popular tourist attractions are all within easy travelling distances, i.e. the Kruger National Park, Blyde River Canyon, Pilgrims Rest and the historical town of Barberton. ACCOMMODATION All rooms are individually appointed with your comfort in mind and all are en-suite with television, tea and coffee making facilities, hairdryers and ceiling fans. The house itself offers superb views of the subtropical gardens and mountains beyond. DINING Our breakfast room overlooks the sparkling pool and granite slabs. Your stay will include a comprehensive, full cooked breakfast. We offer packed breakfast and lunches and dinners can be served by arrangement. FACILITIES The Palms has a guest lounge with an honesty bar. We have a Braai area and our car park is guarded. Children are welcome to explore the extensive gardens, climb the granite slabs and play in the pool. TOURS We have connections with SATOUR registered tour guides and tours can be arranged to the Kruger National Park, God’s Window, Pilgrims Rest, Sabie and the waterfalls, Blyde River Canyon, Barberton and the surrounding area’s. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your The Palms Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing