We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great setting and very comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Palms Guest House
Ranked #44 of 70 Nelspruit B&B and Inns
Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great setting and very comfortable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2012

We had a very quick overnight stay, and enjoyed the welcome. Found it very good value at R620 for a twin room.

Driving directions were well explained by phone, and the house is in hilltop in a very nice neighbourhood. It is very tastefully furnished, there's a well stocked bar in the living area. The room was fine, with a big bathroom.

The hilltop setting and garden are beautiful. We appreciated the fact that Chris got up early so we could have a 6.30am breakfast!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donncha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    5
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
11
17
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
KENT
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2010

Hi, we stayed at the Palms in september 2010 and had a perfect stay in all ways, nothing was too much trouble for Sue & Chris - great breakfast and decent rooms, i would recommend the Palms to all travellers in the nelspruit area you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HOLSMAN1940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2010

This beautiful house with amazing grounds and incredible staff is a must see. The rooms are comfortable but not excessive. The living/entertaining area is a great place to meet other travelers and the hosts are lovely. They thought of everything and their staff went out of their way to make our stay comfortable. The house is well signed and easy to find.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adizokanan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2010

The Palms Guest House is a small property with a few rooms, a large garden with a pool, a breakfast room and a communal living room with an honesty bar. We stayed in a unit with 2 adjoining bedrooms with a family of 4, which suited us fine. The beds were good, the rooms were perfectly adequate. The bathrooms were nothing special but adequate as well (a simple but good working) shower and toilet. We asked for an airport transfer, which was swift and efficient. Breakfast was fine - you could have a fully cooked English breakfast or continental type. The only thing we found was that the owners were not very knowledgeable or interested to tell us more about how to get from Nelspruit to the Kruger Park (which is sort of around the corner from Nelspruit). Other than that a good value for money

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ycew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, SA
Level Contributor
67 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2010

we had a lovely single night stay here. Driving up late from Pretoria we needed a place to crash. This was ideal. Secure parking, large room with bath and shower, tv and an excellent stocked honesty bar in the lounge. Plenty to read also if this takes your fancy. Good breakfast - cooked to order and huge pool if the weather is kind. Convenient for transit but I would stay here for an extended period in the future.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CHH-pretoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2009

We only required one nights accommodation on our way to Kruger Park but wish we could have stayed longer at this guesthouse. The garden setting is absolutely gorgeous, the hosts were wonderful and the rooms were excellent. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and definitely recommend to everyone.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank missytwoshoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2009

Chris and Sue were friendly and welcoming, showing us round the place, pointing out the honesty bar and then leaving us to unpack. Sue provided bath towels when we went for a (nice but a bit chilly) swim so we didn't have to use those provided in the rooms. The food was good, although not the quality (and quantity) we'd had elsewhere in SA. Rooms comfy, excellent powerful shower and nice additional touches like mosquito repellent provided in the bathrooms!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MepLon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nelspruit hotels
2.1 mi away
Mercure Nelspruit
Mercure Nelspruit
#8 of 19 in Nelspruit
3.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
0.9 mi away
Nelspruit Lodge
Nelspruit Lodge
#6 of 70 in Nelspruit
4.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
1.0 mi away
Beetleloop Guest House
Beetleloop Guest House
#4 of 70 in Nelspruit
5.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Bavaria Guest Lodge
Bavaria Guest Lodge
#17 of 70 in Nelspruit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Roca Guest House
La Roca Guest House
#2 of 70 in Nelspruit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
0.6 mi away
Old Vic Traveller's Inn
Old Vic Traveller's Inn
#8 of 64 in Nelspruit
4.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palms Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palms Guest House

Property: The Palms Guest House
Address: 25 Van Wijk Street, Nelspruit 1200, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Nelspruit
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 70 B&Bs / Inns in Nelspruit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Palms Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DESCRIPTION: Warmth and welcome await you at The Palms, one of Nelspruit’s most popular and established guest houses. Bordering a nature reserve the lush sub-tropical gardens offer superb views and an abundance of bird life, creating an ambience of peace and tranquillity. LOCATION Popular tourist attractions are all within easy travelling distances, i.e. the Kruger National Park, Blyde River Canyon, Pilgrims Rest and the historical town of Barberton. ACCOMMODATION All rooms are individually appointed with your comfort in mind and all are en-suite with television, tea and coffee making facilities, hairdryers and ceiling fans. The house itself offers superb views of the subtropical gardens and mountains beyond. DINING Our breakfast room overlooks the sparkling pool and granite slabs. Your stay will include a comprehensive, full cooked breakfast. We offer packed breakfast and lunches and dinners can be served by arrangement. FACILITIES The Palms has a guest lounge with an honesty bar. We have a Braai area and our car park is guarded. Children are welcome to explore the extensive gardens, climb the granite slabs and play in the pool. TOURS We have connections with SATOUR registered tour guides and tours can be arranged to the Kruger National Park, God’s Window, Pilgrims Rest, Sabie and the waterfalls, Blyde River Canyon, Barberton and the surrounding area’s. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your The Palms Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing