We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hospitality and great views” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Buhala Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Buhala Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Ascot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great hospitality and great views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

We recently enjoyed five nights at Buhala on our third visit. Sugar and her family have maintained the very high standards which we have come to expect. The position is stunning – overlooking the Crocodile River and the southern edge of the Kruger Park. Our air-conditioned Elephant Suite shared this view and was spotlessly clean. Game viewing while lying in bed is new experience!
Wi-fi is available in the main house.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jpd4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    44
    11
    10
    5
See reviews for
53
151
9
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Caterham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

Our fourth visit to Buhala last November did not disappoint, a wonderful experience yet again! Hugely experienced staff and the delightful Sugar Rhodes in a beautiful thatched lodge with unsurpassed views over the Crocodile river make a stay at Buhala the most relaxing I know. We are not golfers but adore wildlife and Buhala has it in abundance. We have had hippo, elephant and even buffalo in the garden, numerous birds, crocs in the river and much to see through the binoculars on the other side of the river (wonderfully close with the new raised decking they have put in, also a perfect spot for a sundowner!). Don't stop there, however, one walk along the river on this trip gave us sightings of more birds species than we saw in the three days in the Timbavati the week before, just stunning! We stayed in the Elephant suite, which I would highly recommend, utterly peaceful with uninterrupted views of the river and the Kruger Park and definitely no sound of a road or rail line (we have stayed in the main house on a previous occasion and certainly heard no traffic noise!!!) The food is wonderful, particularly the freshly made breakfast muffins every morning. It seems nothing is too much trouble at Buhala, I would highly recommend it, and have done so to friends!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fabhols_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

A wonerful experience staying at Buhala Lodge. Sugar Rhodes the owner and host was most attentive, as were her delightful staff I was also lucky enough to play golf at Leopard Creek. If heaven has a golf course, it is Leopard Creek! A memorable stay which i will never forget and hope to return one day. Thank you Sugar so much for making me feel most welcome.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Theo61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

We stayed in Buhala for 2 nights during our golf tour of South Africa. The staff are excellent,the food excellent,the views are breathtaking,not everyday you see Crocs and Hippo from your hotel verandah.The host Sugar was extremely helpful and aranged a trip into Krugar where we saw Elephant giraffe rhino etc etc. We also played Leopard creek gc which was stunning,we even saw a wild leopard by the 8th green....an awesome experience! A great place to stay with lots to do or to simply relax....i would fully recommend.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richmay10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoedspruit
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

My husband and I have been visiting Buhala Lodge now for something like 12 years . Its situation is as good as it gets , overlooking the Crocodile river with the Kruger Park on the other side . We have on occasion seen more game from the Lodge than actually driving in the Park for a day .Sugar Rhodes the owner and hands-on manager runs the lodge with staff who have largely been with her since it opened. This makes it so pleasant when returning each year . Over the years we have stayed in several other hotels in the area and enjoyed them but we always return to Buhala . All this adds up to the whole ambience being perfect . Above all Sugar who runs it is Buhala. Need I say more Marvellous

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Roger F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Höllviken
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

This was one of the highlights of our South Africa tour. We regret that we only stayed one night.
The most wonderful and spectacular veranda you can imagine, the lodge was very personal. Could have staid there for several days, just sitting on the veranda with a good book. Very restful place! Don't miss it!!

Room Tip: This was one of the highlights of our South Africa tour. We regret that we only stayed one night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pingo459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

We love Buhala, from the amazing location - Buhala overlooks the beautiful Crocodile River and into the Kruger Park to the delicious food and of course amazing service and staff! We arrived late afternoon, to enjoy the beautiful sunset and drinks of the veranda - definitely a highlight of our trip. Our room was spacious, luxurious and a treat to stay in. A chocolate on our bed at night was certainly the kind of attention to details that we appreciate.
As for the food, what could be better than breakfast on the veranda while watching elephant, buffalo, hippo and crocodile? Dinner was as much of a triumph - we chose to eat at the lodge every night. The three course meals were delicious - the chocolate mousse is not to be missed. Sugar Rhodes, the owner of the lodge, is friendly, knowledgeable and really went out of her way to make us enjoy our stay - booking us spa treatments, safaris and tours of the area. Sugar, along with the rest of the staff, made our stay so memorable. We highly recommend Buhala Game Lodge to any traveller. WE WILL BE BACK!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StarkCK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malelane
5.9 mi away
Pestana Kruger Lodge
Pestana Kruger Lodge
#1 of 1 in Malelane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
15.1 mi away
Kambaku River Lodge
Kambaku River Lodge
#2 of 10 in Malelane
5.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
8.6 mi away
Rio Vista Lodge
Rio Vista Lodge
#4 of 11 in Malelane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.3 mi away
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
#75 of 170 in Kruger National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
9.0 mi away
River House Lodge
River House Lodge
#5 of 11 in Malelane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
12.4 mi away
Bushwise Safaris
Bushwise Safaris
#3 of 31 in Marloth Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buhala Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buhala Lodge

Property: Buhala Lodge
Address: 12KM Beyond Malelane Town on the N4 | Van Graan Se Dam, Crocodile River, Malelane 1320, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Malelane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Malelane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Buhala Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Buhala Lodge is an enchanted four star lodge situated on the Southern banks of the Crocodile River with sweeping views over the Kruger National Park. Along with the unique opportunity to play golf at the exclusive LEOPARD CREEK GOLF COURSE, Buhala Lodge also offers fine cuisine, an exceptional wine list, and friendly, happy service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Buhala Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing