We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pestana is a fantastic place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pestana Kruger Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Malelane
Randers, Denmark
Level Contributor
68 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Pestana is a fantastic place”
Reviewed January 16, 2011

I was at Pestana Christmas 2010 - a wonderful place with always smiling staff.
In the morning i wake up to bird song and somtime i had visit of small grey monkeys on my balcony

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holgerni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    144
    91
    33
    21
See reviews for
99
151
15
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
212 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2010

This hotel is trading on it's proximity to Kruger National Park. The hotel is tired, the food mediocre and the service poor. A letter to the hotel itemising 10 key points has been ignored for a week.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DineFrequently
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Malelane hotels

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2010

We stayed 2 nights in Pestana. I booked this hotel because the location was by a river (nice views and lots of crocodiles) and only a minute to crocodile river bridge. I decided against a private game reserve because they don't allow children under 6 to go on game drives and I have a 2-yr old son.

I found the accommodation in Elephant 205 nice- by the stream, big double bed with extra sofa bed, TV, bathroom with separate shower and bathtub, parking by the front door. It was also only a short 2 minute walk to the main building where the restaurant and reception was. I also really appreciated the free internet. Service at the restaurant was average, but the food was superb!

However there were a few problems with the hotel. It was a cold 2 days in Kruger and the heating in the room was inadequate. The duvet supplied was not big enough to cover the double bed, and my 6ft 2in husband spent the first night shivering in his sleep. We asked for an extra blanket the next day. The front door has a small welcome mat, but it's on a dirt path, so basically dirt tracks into your bedroom as soon as you come in unless you take off your shoes outside first. There was also a nasty smell coming from the bathroom which turned out to be a blocked shower drain; this was seen to as soon as we complained about it.

Lastly, the location next to the park gate was great, but the majority of game that we saw were roaming between Skukuza and Lower Sabie. to get there from Malelane took us at least 1.5 hrs driving. Driving back in time for the 1730hrs closing time was always difficult. If I ever go back to Kruger again, I would probably stay in the park in one of the camps or private game reserves, or stay nearer to Paul Kruger gate in Skukuza to get more quality time in the park. That said, we only saw rhinos near Malelane so maybe it wasn't so bad!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZadaZainal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2010

I just got back from Africa, and our experience with this hotel was great! The safari company that the hotel recommends "Echo Africa"- http://www.echoafricasafaris.com/ is very good and reliable. I lost my sunglasses in one of the safari trucks and the Pestana Hotel and Echo Safari staff combined the efforts to ship my sunglasses back to the US. Pestana Hotel offers great breakfast and dinner included!

Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CarolMiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boksburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
80 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2010

Our welcome was very warm when we arrived at the hotel in the dark on the Friday night. We were given the keys to our room. The sleeper bed was made up for the kids, but only 1 pillow. No towels at all for them. The dinner has a choice of 3 starters, 3 mains and a dessert. Food okay, but nothing too exciting. I had ordered a chocolate cake for my husbands birthday. This they presented to him just after giving us our main meals. Off course that was the last mouthful of food the children had as they only had eyes for the delicious looking cake. Unfortunately I cannot say the same for the taste. Lumpy and I would guess still party frozen. Two mouthfuls were sufficient to decide this was awful and we sent the cake back. Sunday morning breakfast was the biggest disaster ever. The service was non existant. We ended up getting someone from reception to organise us coffee as the waiters / waitresses had disappeared. We then queued for 20 minutes at the kitchen hatch as the chef on duty could not manage more then 2 eggs at the time and then still had to dish up the sausages etc from the back where they were standing on a counter getting very cold. This hotel has the most fantastic location but with service like this we will not be recommending it or going back.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SureTravel24-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2010

We stayed in January 2010 as part of a tour of SA.
The hotel was really nice. Set in neatly manicured grounds, the lodges are dotted about along the long driveway from the gate.
My husband has stayed here before when he was here on business and his room was way along the start of driveway over the bridge, and although it did have a plunge pool, it had a straw roof which he could hear the creepy crawlies in at night, so I made the decision to forgo the pool and book a deluxe room.
The room overlooked the Crocodile river, and it was very spacious and comfortable. It wasn't absolutely pure luxury, but I wasn't expecting it to be as the whole point of us being on the edge of the Kruger National Park was that we wanted something in between and it certainly fitted the bill. A huge king size bed. Well , traditionally decorated, clean room. The sliding balcony doors led out onto a patio with table and chairs which overlooked the river. We arrived late in the evening, at dusk and opened the doors to be greeted by the sound of the hippos, and birds and monkeys, and the wonderful smell of Africa. WOW! It was just wonderful. I couldn't take my eyes off the river and the beautiful scene beyond into the Kruger National Park.
A short walk up the hill to the reception, restaurant, and bar and a lovely cold glass of wine on the veranda overlooking the river, then dinner in the restaurant. There was a menu to choose from as the hotel wasn't full, and they didn't put on the usual buffet style menu, but that wasn't a problem, as the food was lovely, lots of choice and well cooked.
Back out onto the veranda for a night cap, where you could shine one of the powerful spotlights they provide onto the river and see the reflecting eyes of the crocodiles and hippos shining back at you.
The staff were extremely helpful and polite, and drove us over to Leopard Creek Golf Club for an appointment - if you play golf, try at least once in your lifetime to play here!

Dinner at night at Hamiltons restaurant at the end of the drive. It was my birthday and they had decorated the table for the occasion, it was so nice it made me cry! The food and service was excellent there too.
Next day, up at dawn for a game drive with Echo Africa, the safari company based at the hotel (who incidentally picked us up and dropped us at the airport for a very small extra fee!) Nothing was too much trouble.
There were supposed to be a group of us but two couples were ill so it was just us and our guide Clint Heunes who was was a breath of fresh air. Knowledgeable and very enthusiastic about everything we saw - elephants, lions, black rhino, etc etc. We felt very confident with him - even when we sat 6 feet away from a mother and baby elephant. A stop for lunch and then back on the game drive. It was such a fantastic day out!
Next day, our last breakfast on the veranda and over the banks of the river a herd of elephants came out of the bush,and into the river to bathe - it was as if they had come to say goodbye. I could have stayed forever, but we had to move on to our next destination. I fell in love with the place and will definitely go back.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank itsgottabehot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2010

We selected this hotel because of its proximity to Kruger National Park, the principal object of our visit. The grounds and the surrounding area are beautiful, and staying there was an unique and great experience. The lodge itself is very nicely decorated with a fabulous balcony from which we could see often see elephants, hippos, and the astonishingly beautiful scenery of the Crocodile River. The lodge personnel were very kind, especially at reception. We stayed in the Leopard suite which was equipped with all necessary amenities. Shortly after we got into our room we realized that we had forgotten the appropriate plug for charging our cell phones and laptops, but the room had an adapter that solved what could have been a problem. We enjoyed swimming after sunset in the illuminated pool despite its rather small size. Dinner is generally served as a buffet and it as well as breakfast were quite pleasant. Our favorite aspect of the resort itself was that marvelous balcony, while our only complaint was the lack of a tubin the bathroom.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MariaVelosoRito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malelane
2.7 mi away
Rio Vista Lodge
Rio Vista Lodge
#2 of 11 in Malelane
100 reviews
6.0 mi away
Buhala Lodge
Buhala Lodge
#1 of 10 in Malelane
313 reviews
3.1 mi away
River House Lodge
River House Lodge
#5 of 11 in Malelane
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.2 mi away
Bushwise Safaris
Bushwise Safaris
#3 of 34 in Marloth Park
315 reviews
9.1 mi away
Kambaku River Lodge
Kambaku River Lodge
#2 of 10 in Malelane
101 reviews
23.3 mi away
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
#73 of 171 in Kruger National Park
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Kruger Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Kruger Lodge

Property: Pestana Kruger Lodge
Address: R570 Riverside Road | 150 meters from Malelane Gate, Kruger National Park, Malelane 1320, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Malelane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Malelane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Kruger Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Graded TGCSA 4-star, Pestana Kruger Lodge is situated 700 meters away from Malelane Gate, the most southern entrance to the Kruger National Park. The Lodge is surrounded by 22ha of indigenous gardens and bush with magnificent views of the Crocodile River, which forms the border with the Kruger National Park. Accommodation comprises 74 well-appointed rooms, all with modern facilities. The Lodge is a great choice for families wanting a relaxing holiday in the African bush. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pestana Kruger Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Kruger Hotel Malelane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing