We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful - Perfection.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pestana Kruger Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Malelane
Reviewed July 10, 2013

This is our second stay in 1 month at this wonderful Hotel. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff under the expert eye of Mary.
The location is on Crocodile River next to Malelane Gate which gives perfect access to the park. As I write this review on the stunning deck waiting for my morning tea - a family of Hippo are resting 30 mtrs away on a small sand bank. Prolific Bird Life and cheeky monkeys.

Services - first class with a smile.
Rooms - we are in a very spacious family room. Turn down service, extra blankets supplied. Toiletries good quality. Private drive for our car . Bath and Sep. Shower which is very important. Sat. TV. Fridge. Tea/Coffee Tray.
Free WiFi
Spa
Food - excellent are great choices.
Swimming pool with plenty of sun loungers.
Gardens and grounds exquisite.

I cannot rate this hotel highly enough - it is always well within budget and great value.

This Hotel is a Jewel in the Crown for Pestana Group. Well done.
We will certainly be back at Easter next year.

Room Tip: Family 202. But all rooms are spacious, private and chalet style.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank familybrown176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (415)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

195 - 201 of 415 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2013

Three families on a safari vacation spent a short week at Pestana. The main asset of the hotel is its location, bordering on Kruger Park. Hippos, crocodiles, elephants and many kinds of birds can be viewed from the big terrace, and even from your room, if you are staying in a room with a view towards Kruger.
We had breakfast and dinner at Pestana every day, and enjoyed a good selection of hot and cold food from the buffets every time. Eggs made to order for breakfast.
Helpful staff, but sometimes ignoring to fill empty coffee cups for breakfast.
Would gladly stay there again.

Room Tip: We had rooms in the Lion house, directly overlooking Crocodile River, with the animals, and the suns...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KaareD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Well we were 2 families who took the entire lodge of 2 rooms. We were given the buffalo rooms. It was nice view overlooking the garden. The dinning area of the resort had view to boas about. Overlooking the river from where one could see crocodile, birds & hippopotamus. At night one could have dinner under the stars. Dinner was ok, but if you prefer spicy food then no no. The day of our arrival they prepared for us special meal on request as colleagues travelling with us wanted spicy & vegetarian food. They did this even though buffet was ready and for the next few days they kept at least 4 items in the dinner buffet just for our friends which was a great gesture. Would definitely stay at this place again as also the gate is hardly 2 minutes drive.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saikiran9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Visited the Lodge in May 2013 for 2 nights. the layout and comfort was decent however the room was tired and needs a revamp. I also noticed alot of ants. The breakfast is okay, staff are friendly. The deck is very nice, you can view hippo's, elephans, buck and crocodile easily.
Abit expensive and not 4 star quality.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shaistha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

The staff members were really friendly and the food was a great selection. The rooms come with DSTV but the picture quality is so bad that you can’t see anything. A place to make a little fire at night would be nice and maybe stock the minibar with more than just water. On the down side, I forgot my phone charger and they waited for a R50 EFT to clear before they mailed it back to me after we’d spent close on R5000 between the two couples for one night.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

If you are looking for a well priced lodge just outside the Kruger gate then this is your spot! the place is really lovely overlooking the Crocodile river and the Malelane Gate. The rooms are nice and compact with aircon! They are simple but stylish, i would just say , although they are tidy and looked after, the cleaning ladies need to pay more attention to the bathroom! the food is amazing; good breakfast and dinner (which depending on the package, should be included) it is very peaceful and they have a SPA which is actually very nice! their 1h signature massage is very good and relaxing!

Room Tip: ask for the "Elephant" accommodations, they are nicer
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chant13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

I had a wonderful 4 day stay here with my husband and would highly recommend this hotel!
The setting is just perfect, it’s right at the Malelane gate to the Park. The traditional open air feel to the main hotel building is really nice and all of the rooms are separate. We were delighted with our room, very large with a good bathroom and a terrace that looked out to the crocodile river and across to the park. From our terrace we could even see hippos at the far side of the river. Plenty of harmless lizards running around too.
We flew from Johannesburg to Nelspruit airport and the hotel arranged our pick up and return to the airport. It wasn’t cheap, but airport transfers never are.
We arranged two safaris and a day trip to Mozambique through the hotel, all were excellent with good guides. Our rate included breakfast and dinner. Breakfast was very good with a good selection of fresh food and dinner was good too. Although one night we decided to walk to the neighbouring Crocodile restaurant for a change (also very good). The hotel was busy so there was a buzz in the bar and restaurant at night. There is a lovely outdoor terrace too that looks over the river to the park.
We used the pool area one afternoon after our morning safari and it was bliss! We pretty much had it to ourselves but we still had staff coming out regularly to take drink orders.
This is a very idyllic lodge right beside Kruger Park, and it has a real African luxury feel to it.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Flossykins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malelane
2.7 mi away
Kruger View Chalets
Kruger View Chalets
#4 of 11 in Malelane
114 reviews
6 mi away
Buhala Lodge
Buhala Lodge
#2 of 11 in Malelane
374 reviews
2.7 mi away
Rio Vista Lodge
Rio Vista Lodge
#2 of 12 in Malelane
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
Grand Kruger Lodge
Grand Kruger Lodge
#9 of 37 in Marloth Park
258 reviews
0.9 mi away
Selati 103 Guest Cottages
Selati 103 Guest Cottages
#4 of 12 in Malelane
55 reviews
23.3 mi away
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
#71 of 178 in Kruger National Park
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Kruger Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Kruger Lodge

Address: R570 Riverside Road | 150 meters from Malelane Gate, Kruger National Park, Malelane 1320, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Malelane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Malelane
Price Range: $123 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Kruger Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pestana Kruger is a 4 star hotel, situated in South Africa just 70m from the Southern entrance to Kruger National Park and only 150m from Malelane Gate, one of the most important access point to the park. Is surrounded by marvelous gardens and offers a fantastic view of the Crocodile River, where hippos and several wildlife species can be seen. The hotel has many special facilities that includes two outdoor pools and one indoor pool, a restaurant and two bars and one SPA that offers a range of body treatments and a Turkish bath. The rooms have views over the river and gardens, decorated with African motifs. They all have balconies and internet Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with PESTANA MANAGEMENT - Servicos de Gestao S.A., World Independent Hotel Promotion, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Travelocity, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pestana Kruger Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Kruger Hotel Malelane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing