We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Georgeous, relaxing, clean, safe!"”
Review of Elangeni Lodge

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Malelane
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Elangeni Lodge
Ranked #11 of 11 Malelane B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 3, 2010

My colleagues and I have stayed at Elangeni literally since before it opened. Proprietors Haba and Chris are warm, welcoming, and the staff is friendly and helpful without being officious and annoying. The spacious, clean huts are fully air-con, most with TVs and all with mosquito nets (we go throughout the year and don't really need nets b/c of the air con).

The food has its good days and bad days, but bar is amazing, pool is a lovely extra (so is the trampoline for kids of all ages), and the landscape is uniquely African!

It's a bit of a hike from Kruger (30 minutes), but given the other nearby options, definitely worth the extra few minutes on the road.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank xwsider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (11)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 11 reviews

Reviewed March 29, 2010

Haba and Chris made our stay extremely pleasant. That added with the 1st class accommodations in the heart of Africa made this a place I would recommend to my friends and family. If the Ritz and Four Seasons resports are overall a five star than this was a 4 star in those standards. If you are talking about bang for the buck in the middle of Africa I give this a 10 out of 10!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank austinisthebomb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2010

The Elangeni Lodge was a wonderful place to stay! The rooms are truly beautiful and very comfortable. The food was delicious and I was pleased by all aspects of my stay there. One of the best parts was the staff's attention to detail and willingness to do whatever it takes to make it the best possible experience for everyone. I would definitely recommend the Elangeni Lodge to anyone and will stay there again on my next visit!

  • Stayed: March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcdonaldaustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2010

Was very impressed by Elangeni Lodge and it's accommodations. This place is a hidden treasure. The open restaurant and bar area are picturesque as they open up to the large swimming pool area. There is a trampoline for the little ones and a t.v. in the restaurant, available to give the men their sports updates (esp. soccer/football!).
The food was excellent--they took pride in preparing and serving a variety of meals.

Our house was clean and simple. The white linens were clean and comfortable, as was the bed. There is a t.v. in the room. The bathroom was large: a very nicely-tiled shower and separate large bathtub were a nice touch.

very happy with my stay here!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katbritt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2010

The Elangeni Lodge is a real jewel. The property is beautiful, with nice open-air restaurant and inviting bar. The accommodations are first-class, especially the bathrooms, which have terrific showers and tubs. Best of all, the owner Chris, the manager Haba, and the entire staff are warm and attentive – they made sure our group’s every need was met.

Elangeni is only about 15 miles from Kruger National Park and is an excellent alternative to the much-more expensive in-park lodges (our group did a game-drive and bush braai in Kruger while staying at EL). Of course, if you want to be in the Park, it's not the place to stay. But if you are looking for a comfortable, affordable home base from which to experience Kruger, Swaziland, Mozambique and Mpumalanga, look no further than the Elangeni.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OutOfAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2010

we went to South Africa with a group of friends and, while we were in SA, stayed at Elangeni Lodge. It was a great place, with great staff, food, and amenities. Rooms were clean and freshly made each night. Chris, the owner, and Haba, the manager, will take care of anyting you need. They are very friendly and trustworthy. I would certainly stay there again. Meals were great, from breakfast to dinner, and prepared on time. Bar/pool area lends itself well to relaxing with friends in a comfortable atmosphere.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NewBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2010

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Elangeni Lodge. We were there for work/pleasure. The lodge served as "home base" as it is fairly close to many of the areas we needed to get to during our one-week stay.

The environment is pleasant, peaceful, and understated. The rooms, bath and linens are excellent.

The best asset of the lodge is the graciousness of all who work there. From owner, to mananger, to bartenders and waitstaff, there is a consistent willingness to serve and make your stay as enjoyable as possible.

I would highly recommend this lodge.

  • Stayed: March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank allthehalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malelane
0.0 mi away
Pestana Kruger Lodge
Pestana Kruger Lodge
#1 of 1 in Malelane
396 reviews
0.0 mi away
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
0.0 mi away
Cycas Guest House
Cycas Guest House
#8 of 11 in Malelane
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Aan de Vliet
Aan de Vliet
#5 of 13 in Hazyview
460 reviews
0.0 mi away
Buhala Lodge
Buhala Lodge
#2 of 11 in Malelane
348 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kruger View Chalets
Kruger View Chalets
#4 of 11 in Malelane
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elangeni Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elangeni Lodge

Address: Tonga Road | Between Kamhlushwa & Mzinti, Malelane 1320, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Malelane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Malelane
Price Range: $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Elangeni Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elangeni Lodge is located in a natural bushveld environment of the Mpumalanga province of South Africa. We are located less than 100km from the Mbombela stadium, which is located in Nelspruit; one of the 2010 FIFA Host cities.The kruger National Park, Swaziland Border and Mozambique Border are all in close proximity to the lodge. Our accomodation comprises of 10 private chalets, each with an ensuite bathroom fitted with a rain shower. We also have a restaurant and bar which offer a wide variety of drinks and meals to appeal to anyones taste. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing