We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An awesome experiences you don't want to miss”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mhlati Guest Cottages
Ranked #1 of 11 Malelane B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 5, 2013

The service was excellent, Jeremy our contact person was very professional in handling our bookings, Eric and his wife were very sweet and friendly. Miriam and Margaret who also work there were very sweet. You feel at home, its peaceful and quiet at Mhlati Guest cottages.

In terms of efficiency they were very efficient. Everything was properly done and the rooms were always clean. Their breakfast was awesome and quick to serve.

We just loved it at Mhlati, we are planning to go back there sometime soon.

Keep up the good work guys......

Musa and Pholile

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LileMoosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (125)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 125 reviews

Reviewed July 4, 2013

Gracious hosts, comfortable and nicely appointed rooms, five minutes from fine dining at Hamiltons, five minutes from the Malelane Gate into Kruger National Park. (I saw the Big Five the day I went!) I will definitely return if I come back to this part of SA and will recommend this great spot to my friends! Thoroughly enjoying myself! Say hello to my new friends, Eric and Janet when you book your stay!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

The warmth of the hosts touched me. the place is beautiful. It was anusual but a nice welcome touch that Eric joined me for breakfast, which he prepared.
Will definitely visit again.

Regards
Amber Ndlovu-Wudebwe

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amber N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

I just returned from a stay at the Mhlati Guest Cottages and can't recommend the property enough. The family greeted us with smiles and a comfortable atmosphere. The quiet location is in a gated neighborhood so security is not an issue. The rooms are nicely appointed with large clean bathrooms and plenty of hot water.
After a long drive we chose to bring our own meal to cook on their grill (braai in South Africa). They supply the charcoal and the kitchen is nicely outfitted. The dining area is lovely and open. I'm sure they would recommend restaurants in town if you would prefer.
Eric prepared of tasty breakfast of eggs and meats for us or you can have continental.
The location is very close to the Melalene Gate entrance to Kruger National Park. Perfect to start a day of viewing the animals. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandhappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

After over 16 hours traveling we arrived to this lovely property close to Kruger Park. We were welcomed and received a great service from Eric and his family. They accommodated our need for dinner and we sure had a great time. Food was great, rooms were clean and cozy and the ambiance was perfect for our group. We sure will consider further visits to this house with our family and friends.

Room Tip: The house offers rooms as well, but I would suggest to choose the rooms at the garden ( such a Afric...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gigika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stay there for two night in the leopard suite. 2 rooms which are very atseful funitured.
The garden is like a paradise for relaxing. The south africans who run the place were very open and helpful in all questions and discusions you have about the country and the society. The whole place is one of our best accomodation in RSA.

Many thanks for the nice stay .

Room Tip: All rooms have acces the garden which is a very nice place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RagnarK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mhlati, Manager at Mhlati Guest Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Hi,
Thank you so much to all our guests for their lovely reviews. It is reviews like yours that keep us striving to do better. Hope that you will come and visit us again soon.
Best wishes

Jeremy Maritz
Mhlati Guest Cottages

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We visited Mhlati Guest Cottages for the second time in January 2013. Eric and Jan welcomed us like old friends and we were delighted to be back. We again stayed in the Elephant Room which is our favourite and has everything that one could possibly want for a comfortable stay - excellent beds, superb shower, plenty of space, great attention to detail and evidence everywhere of Eric's superb talent as a designer. We enjoyed the pool, the peace and quiet and the proximity to the Malelane Gate at the southern end of the Kruger Park is a huge bonus. We would far prefer to stay here than in the Park itself. The value for money in this establishment is outstanding. Costs had not increased since our visit in 2012. Eric and Jan are the most delightful and informative hosts and we cannot recommend Mhlati highly enough. The standard of accommodation and hospitality could not have been higher. We could not have been happier or more comfortable. We just love this place and hope to return.

Room Tip: I'm sure all rooms are excellent but our favourite is the Elephant Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mhlati, Owner at Mhlati Guest Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Hi there,
Thanks for a wonderful review and indeed to all those who over the years have stayed with us and have responded with such enthusiasm and kindness. Your favourable reviews have kep us at no. 1 in our area. Thank you all once again.
Regards

Jan, Eric and Jeremy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malelane hotels
1.1 mi away
Pestana Kruger Lodge
Pestana Kruger Lodge
#1 of 1 in Malelane
396 reviews
3.2 mi away
Rio Vista Lodge
Rio Vista Lodge
#2 of 11 in Malelane
109 reviews
5.4 mi away
Buhala Lodge
Buhala Lodge
#2 of 11 in Malelane
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Belvedere-on-River
Belvedere-on-River
#4 of 11 in Malelane
83 reviews
0.2 mi away
Barnstormers Rest
Barnstormers Rest
#3 of 11 in Malelane
44 reviews
3.6 mi away
River House Lodge
River House Lodge
#6 of 11 in Malelane
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mhlati Guest Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mhlati Guest Cottages

Address: 206 Tambotie Street, Malelane 1320, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Malelane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Malelane
Price Range: $107 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mhlati Guest Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury thatched cottages in a secluded private village in sugar cane country very close to the Kruger National Park Malelane gate and the Worlkd renowned Leopard Creek Golf Course with access to the scenic beauty of Mpumalanga Province, Swaziland and Mozambique. We serve delicious breakfasts and our cottages are serviced daily. A local restaurant close by provides lunches and dinners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Mhlati Guest Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing