We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely in the Lowveld!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mhlati Guest Cottages
Ranked #1 of 11 Malelane B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Pretoria, Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
“Lovely in the Lowveld!”
Reviewed July 4, 2012

Clean, restful, well equipped, reasonable prices and a five star breakfast! Outstanding and commendable!

Room Tip: Difficult to say - we stayed In Elephant, very nice, spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeenvdBijl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    8
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
37
51
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

We enjoyed a fabulous family stay at Mhlati in June, which was the start of our bush holiday. We were warmly welcomed by the owners and settled in to a very luxurious family cottage. Nothing was too much trouble, especially for our two busy children! It certainly was the perfect start to a great time in the Lowveld!

Room Tip: Every room is superb but be sure to ask for the family cottage when travelling with young children...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rivermanor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisboa
1 review
Reviewed April 23, 2012

My husband and I went to Mhlati at the time of Easter to visit Kruger Park. This fantastic guest cottage is located in a conduminium of houses very close to Malelane Gate ( about two minutes by car). Everything was fantastic! The place is fabulous! Very peaceful, intimate romantic and familiar. The chalet is very spacious, comfortable and with a fantastic decor. It has everything you could need. To complete we could not have been better received by the owners, their family and dogs, who literally made us feel at home. Formidable welcoming and extremely friendly.
Breakfast was fabulous in everything to our taste and request.
There are places that strive for details and this is one of them! We hope to retun one day!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gilda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lokeren, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2012

Our second stay in Mhlati guest cottages was great again .. Excellent and safe location just outside of the Malelane gate to Kruger park. Warm welcome, luxury cottages, excellent breakfast ... The ideal welcome in South Africa after a long trip from home .... Also offering satellite tv.
Very helpful in arranging things for us .... Thanks again ! ( also for using the binoculars) ... Looking forward to go back ....

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rcools
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberton, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 28, 2012

For business i do a lot of travelling and have stayed in many places in South Africa. The first time i visited Mhlati in September 2011 i was pleasantly surprised with the service i received from the management and have been going very regularly ever since. Recently I decided to take my wife for a weekend get away in order for her to experience the beauty, tranquility and hospitality that Mhlati offers. Both Eric and Jan was there to meet us on our arrival. As was the case with my previous business trips there. My wife was very impressed with the cleanliness, hospitality and the tranquil surroundings offered. We both loved Eric's breakfasts and company. Their attention to detail is outstanding. Being so close to the Kruger National Park entrance at Malelane gate makes this the ideal stay over for visiting the park. We will definetly be back for a longer visit. Thank you Eric and Jan!!!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2012

We stayed at Mhlati Guest Cottages in January 2012 in order to visit the Kruger Park. We flew to Nelspruit and drove the fifty minutes to Mhlati where we were met by the charming owners, Eric and Jan Maritz. Our beautifully appointed cottage in the grounds consisted of a large bedroom, excellent shower room and kitchen/lounge and outside a delightful swimming pool. Eric Maritz is a designer and it shows in the standard of workmanship and attention to detail in this beautiful place. Eric and Jan could not have been more accommodating and hospitable - from providing us with chilled beers on arrival, to leaving breakfast for us at 5.00 am on the morning we were visiting the Kruger Park. The cottages are five minutes drive from the Malelane Gate at the southern end of the Park. There is an excellent restaurant, Hamiltons, less than five minutes drive away where we had the most delicious dinners sitting under the stars. Eric and Jan were keen to talk to us about life in South Africa today, and it also turns out that Eric has a very interesting Afrikaans family history which was fascinating. We have previously stayed at very expensive game lodges within the Kruger Park but would much prefer to stay at Mhlati with this delightful couple.

Room Tip: The Elephant Room is divine
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2011

We are 4 girls from Italy! we went in South Africa on 2011 august and we think that Mhlati Guest Cottages is a wonderful accomodation!!!!!!very accurate details! beautiful rooms and garden with swimming pool!very kind and nice owners like their dogs ;) near Malelane Gate (Kruger National Park) and some shops and supermarkets! RECCOMENDED! we hope to see you soon ;)

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flaminia698
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malelane hotels
1.1 mi away
Pestana Kruger Lodge
Pestana Kruger Lodge
#1 of 1 in Malelane
378 reviews
3.2 mi away
Rio Vista Lodge
Rio Vista Lodge
#2 of 11 in Malelane
104 reviews
5.4 mi away
Buhala Lodge
Buhala Lodge
#2 of 11 in Malelane
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Kambaku River Lodge
Kambaku River Lodge
#1 of 11 in Malelane
112 reviews
0.1 mi away
Selati 103 Guest Cottages
Selati 103 Guest Cottages
#7 of 11 in Malelane
37 reviews
3.4 mi away
Belvedere-on-River
Belvedere-on-River
#3 of 11 in Malelane
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mhlati Guest Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mhlati Guest Cottages

Property: Mhlati Guest Cottages
Address: 206 Tambotie Street, Malelane 1320, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Malelane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Malelane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mhlati Guest Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury thatched cottages in a secluded private village in sugar cane country very close to the Kruger National Park Malelane gate and the Worlkd renowned Leopard Creek Golf Course with access to the scenic beauty of Mpumalanga Province, Swaziland and Mozambique. We serve delicious breakfasts and our cottages are serviced daily. A local restaurant close by provides lunches and dinners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Orbitz so you can book your Mhlati Guest Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing