We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome stay !”
Review of Rio Vista Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rio Vista Lodge
Ranked #2 of 11 Malelane B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 16, 2013

I had a last minute stop at Malelane, and stayed at Rio Vista. They were so friendly and accommodating. The rooms are very comfortable and clean. They include tea and coffee and a fridge. The location is awesome right on the river. I had dinner at the restaurant deck and had a beautiful sunset view over the river. I left early the next morning and the catering staff packed a travel breakfast for me!
Thank you to all the friendly people at Rio vista lodge

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anita B, Owner at Rio Vista Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

Thank you for your review, we really appreciate it. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (111)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 111 reviews

Reviewed November 11, 2013

Rio Vista Lodge is the perfect start for a trip into the Kruger NP or as a basis for expeditions into the park, as it is very close to Malelane Gate. We had a very nice room with a balcony facing the Crocodile River.The rooms are simple but neat and confortable and equipped with everything you need. The bathroom is somewhat small, but sufficient. Rio Vista Lodge is situated in a lovely green garden, but its greatest attraction is its terrace with a view on the Crocodile River. which is at the same time the restaurant. This is a perfect spot to observe the animals on the river bank below. We saw hippos, waterbucks and a rhino and plenty of birds. The food is very good, the service is friendly and dedicated. All in all it is great value for money.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KMK001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Stayed in the main building with Crocodile River view, saw elephants right from the room balcony! Large modern room, all amenities (coffee machine, fridge, insect repellent). Excellent price/value. Got picked up and deposited at the long distance bus stop in Malelane, the pick up at 10:30 pm on a Friday. Most helpfull friendly and cheerful receptionist, had arranged to send someone for a take out meal from the town when their restaurant was closed on a Sunday.
Their safari operator turned out excellent, an elederly couple, Chris and Pat, with great knowledge of the animals and a great contact network, so they got to hear about all the animal sighting from the other guides. We managed to see not only the big five, but practically all the animals and a good portion of the birds of the Kruger. Much better than the Kruger staff´s sundown safari we also took.

Room Tip: Go for the river view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Petr D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anita B, Owner at Rio Vista Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Thank you for your review. We hope you enjoyed your stay in South Africa and hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

This Lodge is very well located near Malelane Gate of Kruger Park. Staff is very friendly, rooms are clean (but small), the view from Restaurant is magnificent and the menu and food at dinner was very good. Is a perfect choice for couples and a excellent relation quality/price. Highly recommend to stay here.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elisabete M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anita B, Owner at Rio Vista Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to hosting you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

On my way to Mozambique we stayed at Rio Vista Lodge. Wow the staff was friendly, the room neat and clean. The bird life magnificent in one hour I spotted 25 different speices. We then had dinner on the Deck, we encounter elephants grazing on the river bank, and the food was great. When retreating to bed we heard the hippos and Lion's calling in the distance.
We will truly recommend this Lodge to anyone. Great value for money.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shaun B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anita B, Owner at Rio Vista Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Thank you for your comemnts and hope to see you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

I go to Malelane on a regular basis for business and every time I stay with Johan and Madelein it feels like I am coming back home. The service, rooms, food and friendly reseption is something I will always recommend to any one!! Truely feels like home!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacolene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Rio Vista Lodge a home from home and best value for money. Hats off to Johan, Anita and their excellent team for their hospitality and always making us feel welcome. Close to Malelane Gate for visits to the Krugerpark. We highly recommend a stay at Rio Vista.

Huibrecht & Mannetjie

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mannetjie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malelane hotels
2.7 mi away
Pestana Kruger Lodge
Pestana Kruger Lodge
#1 of 1 in Malelane
408 reviews
0.4 mi away
River House Lodge
River House Lodge
#4 of 11 in Malelane
117 reviews
0.2 mi away
Belvedere-on-River
Belvedere-on-River
#5 of 11 in Malelane
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Mhlati Guest Cottages
Mhlati Guest Cottages
#1 of 11 in Malelane
129 reviews
8.6 mi away
Buhala Lodge
Buhala Lodge
#2 of 11 in Malelane
363 reviews
0.4 mi away
Khandizwe River Lodge
Khandizwe River Lodge
#7 of 11 in Malelane
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rio Vista Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rio Vista Lodge

Address: Stand 1062 | Monte Vista Estate, Malelane 1320, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Malelane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Malelane
Price Range: $84 - $97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rio Vista Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rio Vista 4 star Lodge is situated on the border of The Kruger National Park. Experience spectacular views from The Deck overlooking the Crocodile River as animals come to graze and drink while you eat. A dam with various species of fish for the catch-and-release angler. An ideal location for a much needed relaxing break away. Rio-Vista is 27 roomed lodge, all rooms are air-conditioned with DSTV and bar fridge, swimming pool and secure parking. Our facility is child friendly with spacious gardens. We have a lovely thatched deck and cocktail bar with an open view into the Kruger park. Our a la carte Restaurant serves the best meals in the region. Lino's Lodge consist of eight air-conditioned single or sharing chalets , all with DSTV, private patio, and bar fridge. Relax in a homely atmosphere, close to shops and the Malelane Kruger Gate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Rio Vista Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing