We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elephants on the back door!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Khandizwe River Lodge
Ranked #7 of 12 Malelane B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 13, 2014

We stayed at Khandizwe for 4 nights and had the lodge exclusively for ourselves. With elephants and hippos playing in the river every day and elephants regularly visiting us right up to the edge of the lodge, I wish we could have stayed longer. The lodge owner was extremely helpful with restaurant bookings and park details. The room was lovely with a deck overlooking the river. Would love to go back!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lucy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (99)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 99 reviews

Reviewed June 12, 2014

The Khandizwe River Lodge has a fantastic location overlooking Crocodile River and behind it the Kruger Park, our main destination. True of the river's name there are indeed crocodile as well as elephant, rhino and bush buck.

We made trips to the Berg and Dal area of the Kruger Park as the lodge is very close to the Malelane Gate.

The accommocation is near perfect and the family did not want to leave. I should have planned our stay at the end of our holiday rather than at the beginning.

I had not realised that this is a self-catering facility rather than a B&B, although breakfast can be made available.

Very recommendable indeed!

Room Tip: We had two rooms, the best one overlooked Crocodile river, so if you are with two people ask for a r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Johan17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

The view from the backyard was amazing. Our first day there, we saw a family of elephants and some hippos crossing Crocodile River. We spent as much time as we could out back enjoying the sunshine and the pool. The house itself was huge and nicely furnished. We had a great time staying here and I'm already talking with other friends here in Canada about returning next year.
The only reasons I didn't provide an Excellent review are because I was a bit disappointed that the spotlights described were not available. The staff said they had been dismantled, but it would have been nice to see the animals at night. Also the ladies of staff made it a bit awkward as they told us at length about how long It takes to get to work, etc until we eventually told them they didn't have to come and we could take care of the cleaning ourselves. Not so much a problem for us aside from feeling obligated to dismiss them, but since they said they're still being paid 1/2 their wages, the owner of the home may want to be aware.
Overall though this was a great stay and I look forward to hopefully returning next year!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
3  Thank Courtney B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2014

An upsolute "Gem" which you must discover! What a stunning place with great staff and owner to assist in all your needs. Highly recommended. Book the entire Lodge!! Value for money!
It feels like you own your own Lodge...Will visit again soon!!
Esme

Room Tip: Main bedroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank esme0304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

We stayed at Khandizwe River Lodge the first 3 days of our vacation. We should have stayed the full 2 weeks! It was absolutely beautiful! The view from the backyard is Kruger National Park. The location is right by the river, and we had elephants visit us basically in the backyard! The elephants would cross the river and feed off the bushes and trees just outside the property wall. White rhino, antelope and hippos also frequented the river bank across from the lodge. Khandizwe River Lodge is a perfect place for families. Our kids, ages 9 and 4 spent hours playing in the yard and swimming in the pool. The lodge itself was wonderful! Great views from every room. Elsie was the housekeeper during our stay and she was incredibly friendly and helpful. We don't have enough words to thank Peter, the owner, for all of his help while we planned our vacation. We were lucky to be visiting while Peter was there. He went above and beyond to make our stay as enjoyable as possible. Before our trip we had e-mailed him with all sorts of questions and he always responded very quickly. He gave us tons of tips about atrractions and restaurants in the area. He also helped us book a Safari tour in Kruger National Park, and we later did several self drives per Peter's recommendation. We have to admit that the self drives through the park will be the most memorable part of our vacation. We drove around for hours looking at all the animals. The whole family had a fantastic time! We've already recommended Khandizwe Lodge to friends!! Thanks again, Peter!

Room Tip: The largest room of the lodge has the best view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pearland1028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

Our family booked the use of the lodge for the weekend and we were extremely happy with the experience.

Booking through a third party website you never really know exactly what to expect, but this time the pictures didn't lie. The lodge is even prettier in real life and the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The location is absolutely amazing, right on the bank of the Crocodile river with the Kruger Park Malelane Gate a mere 5 minute drive.

Sipping a cocktail in the swimming pool while watching the elephants graze a few meters away can only be good!

Room Tip: The main bedroom closest to the swimming pool has magnificent views of the crocodile river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Louis d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We had an opportunity to stay at the Khandizwe River Lodge near the end of our two week adventure. When we went to book, the lodge wasn’t available for the first night that we wanted to stay there; Peter, the owner set up a different B&B without hesitation, which was beautiful and right down the road from Khandizwe. When we arrived at Khandizwe, we were early and they were able to accommodate us and give us recommendations for a self-drive through Krueger. We were lucky to be visiting while Peter was there and he was certainly an amazing host. Every morning we had breakfast outside, overlooking Krueger Park; usually there were hippos or water buck around the banks. In the evening, we were able to watch elephants by the river; some even came up on our side of the bank! The lodge is conveniently located about 10-15 minutes from the park. We did a few self-guided drives, with the recommendations of Peter, but he also set up a full day and evening guided drive for us. The experience here was truly amazing and more than we could have asked for! I hope we will have an opportunity to return in the future!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigwillie343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malelane hotels
3.1 mi away
Pestana Kruger Lodge
Pestana Kruger Lodge
#1 of 1 in Malelane
408 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rio Vista Lodge
Rio Vista Lodge
#2 of 12 in Malelane
111 reviews
0.2 mi away
Belvedere-on-River
Belvedere-on-River
#5 of 12 in Malelane
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
River House Lodge
River House Lodge
#4 of 12 in Malelane
118 reviews
8.9 mi away
Buhala Lodge
Buhala Lodge
#2 of 11 in Malelane
364 reviews
6.2 mi away
Kambaku River Lodge
Kambaku River Lodge
#1 of 11 in Malelane
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Khandizwe River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Khandizwe River Lodge

Address: 19 Visarend Street | Fish Eagle Bend, Malelane, Wild Frontier, Mpumalanga, Malelane 1320, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Malelane
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Malelane
Price Range: $145 - $441 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Khandizwe River Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Khandizwe River Lodge is positioned on the banks of the Crocodile River at the Southern border of the Kruger National Park. Our views of the Kruger Park are spectacular. We are 5 Star graded and offer 4 en-suite guestrooms. The Lodge can also be booked as one private unit with its own kitchen and BBQ area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Khandizwe River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Khandizwe River Hotel Malelane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing