We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing”
other travelers have booked this property
Chalet with large decked patio as seen from the wooded garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Chalet with large decked patio as seen from the wooded garden
Entrance into the chalet which overlooks  the mountain Second bedroom with queen bed, airconditioner, fan, cupboard and pretty view
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
Chalet with large decked patio as seen from the wooded garden
Entrance into the chalet which overlooks  the mountain
Second bedroom with queen bed, airconditioner, fan, cupboard and pretty view
Large loft room with 4 beds.  Kids delight
Lounge leading onto patio
Well equipped kitchen
Comfy lounge
Spacious decked patio with comfortable outdoor furniture
Sabi River running along the Resort
Close to all tourist spots
Monkeys enjoy the gardens as much as you will
View from the Hippo HIde
One of the many resident hippos.
Multi award winning resort
Superb golf course
Restaurant overlooking the swimming pool area
Stunning flora and fauna
Entrance and reception area to the hotel
Mini carts
One of the three public swimming pools
Resident impala throughout the Resort
Safaris to the Kruger Park can be arranged.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Hazyview, Mpumalanga

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
vhutshilo...
Hoedspruit, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing”
Reviewed February 21, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We were very fortunate enough to secure this place directly with its owner, Breena who helped out with all our questions. The booking process did not even take more than 2 hours, and she called to explain how the chalet is, where it is situated and what to explain. We only communicated through emails and phone calls, but she gave such a very warm welcome and hospitality. we had a very pleasant stay at Shongwe-ingwe. the unit is very neat, has a breath taking view. we travelled as young couples, and what I loved the most about this self-catering unit is that each room has got its own private bathroom, and there is absolutely nothing you wouldn't find in the house. would definitely come back soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The bathroom in the loft :)
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 22, 2016
Thank you so very much for your positive feedback. It was a total pleasure dealing with you. We constantly strive to maintain the quality of the furnishing etc in the chalet and it certainly is a great place for couples. Please visit us again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Desmond Y
1 review
“christmas 2015”
Reviewed January 13, 2016 for a stay in December 2015

1 the photo of the Shongwe is not the same unit we occupied .
this is evident by the space on the braai area .
the photo looks like a large house ,which is in fact 2 units with upstairs and down- stairs. units. Its like a semi detached unit eg 227a and 227 b
our unit was 227b

upon arrival , you are allowed into the unit after 14h00
the unit is extremely dark and as a result there were large spider webs around the lounge area. WE CALLED HOUSE KEEPING AND THE UNIT WAS CLEANED AGAIN .
later that evening ,when i lit the braai ,I was attacked , by bees ,fortunately not stung. The smoke must have had something to do with them being not too aggressive .
I immediately called the manager ,and was later visited by Andre , from the K P L .
WE discussed the state of the unit ,
the old lounge suit -with collapsed center springs and not very clean
the dining room table with only 4 chairs -cant seat comfortably 6 as one is almost on top of the stove -kitchen and dining one spot .
there is a small second bed room with 2 single bed plus air con
the main bed is fair with air con but also very dark
there are NO AIRCONS UPSTAIRS BUT ONE INEFFECTIVE ROOF FAN
there are NO AIRCONS IN THE LOUNGE DINING AREA BUT ONE INEFFECTIVE ROOF FAN.
there are 2 micro TV units -one in a hole in the wall downstairs and one upstairs (only bean bags upstairs -to sit on ) I call them micro as they are no bigger than a microwave unit
the unit is particularly dark and all the lights were required to be left on during the day time
this unit is in need of a major make over and the rate charged for the accommodation not good value
in fact- our holiday became most stressful
the KUGER PARK LODGE is a beautiful place we have visited many times but this unit ,as its now ,is a no go
desmond

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the Kruger Lodge not this unit
Liked least: accomodation unit 227b
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 14, 2016
In view of the fact that we have constantly received positive feedback through Tripadvisor and many guests who return regularly to this particular chalet, we are surprised and saddened that you did not enjoy your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morne l
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
“UNFRIKKENBELIEVABLYAWESOME”
Reviewed August 13, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Breena thank you again, I actually don't want to do a review or tell anyone else about the great service or the beautiful spacious accommodation because they say you need to keep the good things a secret... We were spoilt with the accommodation and how close it was to the Kruger Park and the Mall with PicnPay and Spar right across the road. The only thing I should have done is take my golf clubs. Safe and secure with friendly staff on the premises.
Breena I owe you big time for your custom. I am certainly referring you and booking through you again. Feel free to contact me 076 329-3185.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The spacious living conditions and how close it is to the Park
Liked least: Going back to Pretoria...
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 16, 2015
Hi Morne,
Thank you so much for your kind words. It was a total pleasure dealing with you especially as you called at the last minute, just as we had a cancellation for the long weekend. It is most heartwarming hearing that our guests enjoyed their stay so much. Please come back again soon and bring your golf clubs and golf buddies as well.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rodney M
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
“Wonderful accommodation in a wonderful setting topped by the wonderful hospitality of the manager.”
Reviewed August 10, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

This was our second stay at Shongwe Ingwe. The first (3 years ago) was magnificent. This time, with our daughter and grandson from Canada, was even better. We have nothing but the highest praise for the chalet, its furnishings and equipment, the surroundings and the manner in which we were welcomed.
Thanks so much.
Lynne and Rodney Massel

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: We loved it all
Liked least: Our stay at Shongwe Ingwe came to an end
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 12, 2015
Thank you so much for spending your precious time in South Africa, in chalet
Shongwe Ingwe. It is heartwarming to know that you enjoyed your stay so very much. Please come and visit us from Canada again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deon S
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
“Easy, Clean and Well-Equipped”
Reviewed July 7, 2015 for a stay in October 2014

This was my 4th time going to Shongwe Ingwe Chelet. Its a clean and well-equipped Chalet with plenty of space for 8 people. The Kurger Park Lodge is a great place to go with friends and family and easy to access Kruger National Park via Phabeni Gate.

Its extremely convenient to book through Breena Bick. She always helps accommodate all my requirements.

I will be returning again this year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Ease of booking through Breena Bick
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 8, 2015
We are delighted to hear that you enjoy chalet 226a,Shongwe Ingwe, so much and that it is most suitable for a group of young adults. We look forward to welcoming you in the not too distant future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robin M
Sandton, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Executive rental with all the trimmings”
Reviewed July 7, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We stayed in Shongwe's rental unit 303 and were very pleased to find that the unit was fitted out throughout with items of a very high standard, particularly the kitchen. The unit was a try home from home with a very nice one-level layout. We will be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quality of the fittings and utensils in the rental
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 8, 2015
Thank you so much for your feedback. Chalet 303, Elephant, is one of our
finest chalets. Not only is the inside extremely comfortable but the outdoors area is superb. We are delighted that you enjoyed it so very much and look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HannaduP
Delmas, South Africa
1 review
“Excellent, as always”
Reviewed June 28, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

It is always a pleasure to travel to Kruger Park Lodge and rent chalets from Shongwe Ingwe. Chalet was immaculate and the lodge wonderful. We would definitely return!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The chalet itself and the proximity to Kruger National Park
Liked least: That we couldn't stay longer!!
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 8, 2015
Thank you so much for your positive feedback. It is very rewarding when our guests return to anyone of our chalets, in this case 226a, Shongwe Ingwe.
We look forward to sharing our home with you once again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing