We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place to stay near Kruger”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Plumbago Guest House
Ranked #2 of 23 Hazyview B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 22, 2009

We find this beautiful B&B in book called Portfolio available in many places in South Africa. We were really impressed for the great service, great breakfast and so nice suite we had.
Also Ilara was so helpful to inform us about the spot to see in the near place(Kruger, Blyde River Canyon and so on). You must be here!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ItalyVoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plum1mp, Owner at Plumbago Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2017

Dear ItalyVoyager
Hello Again :-)
apologies for the delay in relying to your time spent on Trip Advisor writing a review for us all at Plumbago - somehow I missed some pending reviews I am so sorry.
nice to touch base again - after so long ...
your words are much appreciated -- taken to heart and noted in the Staff meetings as well.
The comments make such an impression on the Ladies that work so hard to take care of you - thank you for this!
we hope to see you soon again! take care and keep well
hugs from the Plumbago Family and the four legg'd ones too!
regards ilara and Robbie
& the Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (334)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

245 - 251 of 334 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2009

Plumbago is a spectacular place managed by an exceptional family. Simply put - there is no finer, more comfortable or friendly place to stay in the greater White River/Hazyview/Nelspruit area.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harper08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plum1mp, Owner at Plumbago Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2017

Dear Harper08
Hello Again :-)
apologies for the delay in relying to your time spent on Trip Advisor writing a review for us all at Plumbago - somehow I missed some pending reviews I am so sorry.
nice to touch base again - after so long ...
your words are much appreciated -- taken to heart and noted in the Staff meetings as well.
The comments make such an impression on the Ladies that work so hard to take care of you - thank you for this!
we hope to see you soon again! take care and keep well
hugs from the Plumbago Family and the four legg'd ones too!
regards ilara and Robbie
& the Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2009

I stayed here for 5 nights with 2 teenage sons and it couldn't have been better. The rooms were very spacious with crisp white linen on the beds and a turn down service with flowers and a chocolate on your bet at nights. It was quite chilly in the evenings so Llara put a hot water bottle in my bed - perfect!! Llara is an excellent cook and the meals we had there were both imaginative and tasty and always presented beautifully. On the days we stayed around the pools and tennis court there was always someone close by to check we had everything we needed. Llara and Robbie couldn't have been more helpful, booking various trips for us and offering us advise on where to go. Location wise the Plumbago looks out over stunning scenery and banana plantations and is conveniently located close to the Paul Kruger & Numbi gates of the Kruger National Park. Apart from safari there is plenty to do: Shangana Evening Festival, the longest aerial cable trail in Africa, Hiking Trails, Waterfall Abseil, River Rafting, Hot Air Ballooning, Quad Bike Trails, Horse trails and Pony rides, Panorama Route through the awe inspiring Drakensberg escarpment and a close by Spa for treatments and massages. Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aly2244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plum1mp, Owner at Plumbago Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2017

Dear Aly2244
Hello Again :-)
apologies for the delay in relying to your time spent on Trip Advisor writing a review for us all at Plumbago - somehow I missed some pending reviews I am so sorry.
nice to touch base again - after so long ...
your words are much appreciated -- taken to heart and noted in the Staff meetings as well.
The comments make such an impression on the Ladies that work so hard to take care of you - thank you for this!
we hope to see you soon again! take care and keep well
hugs from the Plumbago Family and the four legg'd ones too!
regards ilara and Robbie
& the Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2009

Plumbago is just great. i know of no other place in the lowveld that offers such incedible value for money whilst delivering all the pleasures of a 5 star establishment. The location is beautiful, the food superb, the rooms spacious and comfortable. And the aoverall attention to detail is wonderful. It is absolutely worth a visit - it's simply not possible to not have a great experience!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bravoSouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plum1mp, Owner at Plumbago Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2017

Dear bravoSaouthAfrica
apologies for the delay in relying to your time spent on Trip Advisor writing a review for us all at Plumbago - somehow I missed some pending reviews I am so sorry.
nice to touch base again - after so long ...
your words are much appreciated -- taken to heart and noted in the Staff meetings as well.
The comments make such an impression on the Ladies that work so hard to take care of you - thank you for this!
we hope to see you soon again! take care and keep well
hugs from the Plumbago Family and the four legg'd ones too!
regards ilara and Robbie
& the Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2009

Visited with my 85-year old mother. Suitable trips and outings were suggested and organised for us. Any wish we had was granted and we felt our comfort and well-being was top priority. We also enjoyed some high quality, delicious meals and we would very much recommend eating at Plumbago. Never felt so pampered and looked after!

  • Stayed: March 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScotlandPlum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plum1mp, Owner at Plumbago Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2017

Dear ScotlandPlum
apologies for the delay in relying to your time spent on Trip Advisor writing a review for us all at Plumbago - somehow I missed some pending reviews I am so sorry.
nice to touch base again - after so long ...
your words are much appreciated -- taken to heart and noted in the Staff meetings as well.
The comments make such an impression on the Ladies that work so hard to take care of you - thank you for this!
we hope to see you soon again! take care and keep well
hugs from the Plumbago Family and the four legg'd ones too!
regards ilara and Robbie
& the Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2009

My wife & I stayed at Plumbago for 2 nights in March and wish we could have stayed longer.
This is a fantastic and homely guest house with the owners Ilara and Robbie providing the warmest of welcomes and attention to your comfort. It has two extremely well equipped, spacious and comfortable detached self-contained guest bungalows in beautiful gardens. A third room (the ‘honeymoon suite) is located on the ground floor of the main house and has direct access to a beautiful pool and deck area which provides panoramic view over the neighbouring countryside. All three rooms are en-suite and tastefully furnished with comfortable beds, seating, safe, complimentary sherry and tea and coffee making facilities. The rooms each have their own porch with easy chairs and table. In all the rooms and bathrooms, there are the most gorgeous floral displays (ginger lilies, birds of paradise etc) picked fresh from the extensive and beautifully maintained gardens. The bathrooms are equipped with good quality complimentary toiletries & mosquito spray (Although we had no problems with mosquitoes)
The breakfasts are superb with a choice from the extensive buffet of cereals, fresh fruit, juices, meats and cheeses and home-made bread (try the muesli bread it is delicious). The cooked breakfast, cooked to order, is substantial and excellent. If that is not enough to satisy the senses, breakfast is normally served on the relaxing terrace with each of the tables decorated with fresh flowers and scattered with petals and decorative leaves. It makes breakfast such a special event and makes you feel very special being afforded such individual attention.
The large and spacious lounge is extremely comfortable and has an assortment of books, games and CDs available for use by guests.

We dined on the terrace the first night to a superb 3 course cordon-bleu quality dining experience, home-cooked by Ilara with a choice of wines served by Robbie. The main course of medalions of venison fillet served with a red wine jus and tasy seasonal vegetables was cooked to perfection. The second night Ilara suggested we may wish to sample another cuisine and recommended the Summerfields Resort about 10km away. Very enjoyable and good quality but we still preferred Ilara’s cooking.

Plumbago is both an ideal location to chill out, visit the Panorama route of as a base to drive into the Kruger. However the real value and charm of Plumbago is the warm, friendly hospitality and personal attention provided by Ilara, Robbie and their team in the most comfortable surroundings that makes you feel so much at ease. We cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DBtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plum1mp, Owner at Plumbago Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2017

DearDBtraveller
apologies for the delay in relying to your time spent on Trip Advisor writing a review for us all at Plumbago - somehow I missed some pending reviews I am so sorry.
nice to touch base again - after so long ...
your words are much appreciated -- taken to heart and noted in the Staff meetings as well.
The comments make such an impression on the Ladies that work so hard to take care of you - thank you for this!
we hope to see you soon again! take care and keep well
hugs from the Plumbago Family and the four legg'd ones too!
regards ilara and Robbie
& the Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2009

This charming guest house has a wonderful position overlooking the rolling hills. The rooms are most comfortable and beautifully appointed. We were blown away by all the attention to detail - the magnificent flower displays, the shortbread on the bed, the amazing breakfast and the way that every guest's need had already been thought of. Ilara and Robbie, the hosts, are hugely friendly and helpful and make one's visit most memorable.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jumarime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plum1mp, Owner at Plumbago Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2017

Dear Jumarime
apologies for the delay in relying to your time spent on Trip Advisor writing a review for us all at Plumbago - somehow I missed some pending reviews I am so sorry.
nice to touch base again - after so long ...
your words are much appreciated -- taken to heart and noted in the Staff meetings as well.
The comments make such an impression on the Ladies that work so hard to take care of you - thank you for this!
we hope to see you soon again! take care and keep well
hugs from the Plumbago Family and the four legg'd ones too!
regards ilara and Robbie
& the Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hazyview hotels
6.6 mi away
Hippo Hollow Country Estate
5.7 mi away
Summerfields Rose Retreat & Spa
2.8 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Perry's Bridge Hollow
Perry's Bridge Hollow
#1 of 13 in Hazyview
384 reviews
4.7 mi away
Ashbourne Country Escape
Ashbourne Country Escape
#3 of 23 in Hazyview
199 reviews
5.1 mi away
Rissington Inn
Rissington Inn
#1 of 41 in Hazyview
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plumbago Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plumbago Guest House

Address: P.O. Box 210 | Hazyview, Hazyview 1241, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Hazyview
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Hazyview
Price Range: $181 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Your 5 star experience with affordable rates" Only 20 min from the Kruger National Park Close to the Panorama Route Through the wrought-iron gates at the end of a bougainvillea-lined drive you will find Plumbago - as pretty as the flower that shares its name, set on an avocado and banana farm, it sits above the plantation watching over out to the Kruger National Park in the distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Plumbago Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plumbago Guest House Hazyview, South Africa - Mpumalanga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing