We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a Piece of heaven”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Plumbago Guest House
Ranked #2 of 23 Hazyview B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 23, 2008

My wife and I were looking for accomodation near the Kruger National Park.We selected Plumbado guest house
The friendlyness of our host upon arrival, immediately made us feel at home.
The room were spotless,the view over the advocado and banana orchard is beautiful.
Dinner is highly recommended and our host Ilara made it very special.
We left the next morning with a hug and with her special bread recipe.
This is what you call. Going the extra mile.
The Viljoens. Randpark Ridge.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SFVRandparkRidge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plum1mp, Owner at Plumbago Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear SFVRandparkRidge
apologies for the delay in relying to your time spent on Trip Advisor writing a review for us all at Plumbago - somehow I missed some pending reviews I am so sorry.
nice to touch base again - after so long ...
your words are much appreciated -- taken to heart and noted in the Staff meetings as well.
The comments make such an impression on the Ladies that work so hard to take care of you - thank you for this!
we hope to see you soon again! take care and keep well
hugs from the Plumbago Family and the four legg'd ones too!
regards ilara and Robbie
& the Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (329)
There are newer reviews for Plumbago Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

254 - 260 of 329 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2008

Plumbago far exceeded our expectations and remains among our best memories of South Africa during a 2-week, 7 lodge stay. We were recommended to stay in Kruger Park, and are delighted that we chose to stay 3 nights at Plumbago (just outside of the park) instead. I hope to return to SA, and to Plumbago specifically. We stayed in a number of great places, but Plumbago was THE BEST of the guest houses, hotels, and private homes in which we stayed. The hosts, Ilara, Robbie and Ilara's mom, Val, made us feel like old friends. Speaking as a "foodie," the meals provided by Plumbago were memorably delicious, even better than Ilara's local restaurant reservations--which were wonderful! It was at Plumbago that we realized we were on a "culinary tour" of South Africa.

Traveling as ~50-year old moms with one of our daughters (a very cosmopolitan 27 year-old); we all concur that the Plumbago Guest House in Hazyview, SA ranks as a 5-star accommodation.

Thank cindymama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plum1mp, Owner at Plumbago Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear cindymama
apologies for the delay in relying to your time spent on Trip Advisor writing a review for us all at Plumbago - somehow I missed some pending reviews I am so sorry.
nice to touch base again - after so long ...
your words are much appreciated -- taken to heart and noted in the Staff meetings as well.
The comments make such an impression on the Ladies that work so hard to take care of you - thank you for this!
we hope to see you soon again! take care and keep well
hugs from the Plumbago Family and the four legg'd ones too!
regards ilara and Robbie
& the Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2008

From beginning to end our stay at Plumbago was sheer perfection ! The setting is lovely, tucked at the end of a little road and overlooking a banana plantation.Our bungalows were roomy and so well appointed. Precious Mercy would have flowers on our bed and all around our room, with fresh fruit for us to munch, hot tea in the late afternoons and always wonderful water with lemons, limes and basil. Chocolates on our pillows each night . Ilara and Robbie were so amazing, full of knowledge of the area. They suggested wonderful restaurants and fixed us a fabulous dinner one evening when we were tired from all of our days activities. It is close to several of the gates for Krueger Park and there are some beautiful day trips to make to God's Window and so forth. We loved sitting by the pool one lazy afternoon enjoying the sun. The close attention to every little detail to make your stay perfect was amazing. We fell in love with Ilara, Robbie, their children and Ilara's mum as well as their staff.
After we left Plumbago we stayed in a couple of other guest houses in different parts of the country and they all paled in comparison to Plumbago. We can't wait to return and take our whole family. We feel we made some good friends and they have become a part of our extended family. It is a place you don't want to miss out on. Out of 5 stars we would give it an easy 10!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank mjcocke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plum1mp, Owner at Plumbago Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear mjcocke
apologies for the delay in relying to your time spent on Trip Advisor writing a review for us all at Plumbago - somehow I missed some pending reviews I am so sorry.
nice to touch base again - after so long ...
your words are much appreciated -- taken to heart and noted in the Staff meetings as well.
The comments make such an impression on the Ladies that work so hard to take care of you - thank you for this!
we hope to see you soon again! take care and keep well
hugs from the Plumbago Family and the four legg'd ones too!
regards ilara and Robbie
& the Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2008

Our first three nights in South Africa were spent at Plumbago. We hired a car at Jo'Burg Airport & it was an easy drive to Hazyview - about 5 hours but the roads were great & traffic free.

Ilara greeted us very warmly with a glass of sherry & we settled down to a delightful three night stay. We dined at Plumbago the first night (very good) - Reese did a great job as a stand-in waiter.

The next 2 nights we went to restaurants - Illara has plenty of good recommendations.

There is plenty to do in the area or you can just lounge by the great pool (too cold for me to swim in). On one day we played golf at the Sabie River Resort. This proved to be quite expensive (£40 per person). It was a lovely course though.

After Plumbago we drove onto Olifants in the Kruger (fantastic: we were lucky enough to see all the so called 'Big 5' in our first 24 hours). Plumbago is a terrific place to stay en route & really broke the journey up for us.

The best compliment I can pay Ilara & Plumbago is that of all the places we stayed on our 3 week tour of South Africa this was our favourite (closely followed by Iketla Lodge) - great room, nice lounge area, great breakfasts, great hostess, small & friendly.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Honda2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plum1mp, Owner at Plumbago Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Honda2003
apologies for the delay in relying to your time spent on Trip Advisor writing a review for us all at Plumbago - somehow I missed some pending reviews I am so sorry.
nice to touch base again - after so long ...
your words are much appreciated -- taken to heart and noted in the Staff meetings as well.
The comments make such an impression on the Ladies that work so hard to take care of you - thank you for this!
we hope to see you soon again! take care and keep well
hugs from the Plumbago Family and the four legg'd ones too!
regards ilara and Robbie
& the Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2008

The P.A. does not deserve all the credit for booking at this most excellent guesthouse. The hostess went more than the extra mile and all extra arrangements made by her was of the most high quality and organisation. Thanks and thanks again for making a special couple "Raymond and Birgit" anniversary very special. Petro Ehlers

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank CheriSouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plum1mp, Owner at Plumbago Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

DearCheriSouthAfrica
apologies for the delay in relying to your time spent on Trip Advisor writing a review for us all at Plumbago - somehow I missed some pending reviews I am so sorry.
nice to touch base again - after so long ...
your words are much appreciated -- taken to heart and noted in the Staff meetings as well.
The comments make such an impression on the Ladies that work so hard to take care of you - thank you for this!
we hope to see you soon again! take care and keep well
hugs from the Plumbago Family and the four legg'd ones too!
regards ilara and Robbie
& the Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2007

Plumbago Guesthouse - we just had our second stay at this fabulous establishment. We requested suite 3 for the first stay and again for the 2nd stay. It is right at the pool, with the most beautifull sunrise and sunsets.
Ilara and her team are absolutely outstanding, you can look for faults and you will not find it.
Hospitality from the moment you arrive until you depart. You feel at home immediately, it is home away from home.
Breakfast & the dinners well what can I say it is a wow you donot go hungry if you do it is your own fault.
Everytime we go i got to work which is a pleasure you have birds chirping away around you, water fountains bubbling away, then the most refreshing lemon water with mint or cented garanium leaves in- you want to work!!
Ilara has a knowledge of where to have lunch, where you can buy linens, candles name it. Her knowledge of the area strecthes far beyond your imagination. We cannot complain - it is a must stay if you dont you are the one who misses out. It is a 4 to 5 hour drive from Johannesburg make sure you have GPS it makes your life much easier.
A big thank you to Ilara and family it is always good to get out of Johannesburg to have a stay at their establishment.
5 STAR it is!!!
I recommend this anytime for any first time visitor or long lasting visitor it is BRILLIANT.
Nick and Beatie Norwood Johannesburg

Stayed: October 2005
Thank TravelMaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plum1mp, Owner at Plumbago Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear TravelMaze
apologies for the delay in relying to your time spent on Trip Advisor writing a review for us all at Plumbago - somehow I missed some pending reviews I am so sorry.
nice to touch base again - after so long ...
your words are much appreciated -- taken to heart and noted in the Staff meetings as well.
The comments make such an impression on the Ladies that work so hard to take care of you - thank you for this!
we hope to see you soon again! take care and keep well
hugs from the Plumbago Family and the four legg'd ones too!
regards ilara and Robbie
& the Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2006

Stayed at Plumbago for eight nights.Excellent location,rooms and service.Robbie & Ilara Robertson are excellent hosts and offer a truly 5* star experience.Tranquil and with beautiful views, comfortable beds and gourmet foods,lovely and particular decor,personal and careful service...only superlatives from all of us.Thank you for making our holiday an unforgettable one.

Thank Dan-George
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plum1mp, Owner at Plumbago Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Dan - George
apologies for the delay in relying to your time spent on Trip Advisor writing a review for us all at Plumbago - somehow I missed some pending reviews I am so sorry.
nice to touch base again - after so long ...
your words are much appreciated -- taken to heart and noted in the Staff meetings as well.
The comments make such an impression on the Ladies that work so hard to take care of you - thank you for this!
we hope to see you soon again! take care and keep well
hugs from the Plumbago Family and the four legg'd ones too!
regards ilara and Robbie
& the Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hazyview hotels
2.8 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview
5.7 mi away
Summerfields Rose Retreat & Spa
6.6 mi away
Hippo Hollow Country Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Perry's Bridge Hollow
Perry's Bridge Hollow
#1 of 13 in Hazyview
369 reviews
5.1 mi away
Rissington Inn
Rissington Inn
#1 of 39 in Hazyview
555 reviews
7.1 mi away
Kruger Park Lodge
Kruger Park Lodge
#2 of 39 in Hazyview
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plumbago Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plumbago Guest House

Address: P.O. Box 210 | Hazyview, Hazyview 1241, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Hazyview
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Hazyview
Price Range: $188 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Your 5 star experience with affordable rates" Only 20 min from the Kruger National Park Close to the Panorama Route Through the wrought-iron gates at the end of a bougainvillea-lined drive you will find Plumbago - as pretty as the flower that shares its name, set on an avocado and banana farm, it sits above the plantation watching over out to the Kruger National Park in the distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Plumbago Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plumbago Guest House Hazyview, South Africa - Mpumalanga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing