We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd Trip and just as great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Plumbago Guest House
Ranked #2 of 22 Hazyview B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 24, 2013

This was our 2nd time stopping at Plumbago before going into Kruger. I truely love stopping here, the setting, the attention to detail, food, service, everything is amazing.

It was so lovely to see Ilara and her family again, including the dogs, Bella and Millie, it just feels like home, I just wish I had those views!

Ilara arranged our trip to elephant whispers, which is something I will never forget and also a meal at Pioneers, my favourite steak restaurant.

I would not hestitate to keep coming back to Plumbago, you couldn't ask for better.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plum1mp, Owner at Plumbago Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Louise M
Hello Again :-)
apologies for this very very long delay in relying to your time spent on Trip Advisor writing a review for us all at Plumbago - somehow I missed a couple of pending reviews I am so sorry.
nice to touch base again - after so long ...
your words are much appreciated -- taken to heart and noted in the Staff meetings as well.
The comments make such an impression on the Ladies that work so hard to take care of you - thank you for this!
we hope to see you soon again! take care and keep well
hugs from the Plumbago Family and the four legg'd ones too!
regards ilara and Robbie
& the Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (329)
There are newer reviews for Plumbago Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

149 - 155 of 329 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2013

We had a perfect stay in Plumbago. The Guest House is set in beautiful suroundings with spectacular views.
We were warmly welcomed by Ilara. The suite was very comfortable and well decorated.
The food was of 5 star quality - a delight to the eye and taste buds. We will recomend Plumbago to frinds. If we are ever in South Africa again, Plumbago is our first choice.
Veronika and Matthias

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthias Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plum1mp, Owner at Plumbago Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Matthias Z
Hello Again :-)
apologies for this very very long delay in relying to your time spent on Trip Advisor writing a review for us all at Plumbago - somehow I missed a couple of pending reviews I am so sorry.
nice to touch base again - after so long ...
your words are much appreciated -- taken to heart and noted in the Staff meetings as well.
The comments make such an impression on the Ladies that work so hard to take care of you - thank you for this!
we hope to see you soon again! take care and keep well
hugs from the Plumbago Family and the four legg'd ones too!
regards ilara and Robbie
& the Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

What a wonderful stay but as we were on route to our time share it was a glorious oasis to spend the afternoon and night in such lovely surroundings. On arrival we were welcomed by Ilara and her two very friendly dogs Bella the Basset and Millie the Jack Russel. The gardens were lovely & well cared for The main house where the comfortable lounge, bar, reception area, dining room are situated & for the use of guests are beautyfully furnished with & decorated with family heirlooms, provided us with a feeling of being at home.The room we were allocated was very comfortable & well decorated. The gardens are lovely & well cared for. The swimming pool & its surrounds are clean but whilst we were guests , it certainly wasn't time for us to have a swim , a little on the chilly side. However i am sure it is well used in the hot summer months when perhaps the tennis court , currently under repair, would be less popular. There are lovely views over the low veld from the garden. The food is outstanding. We really enjoyed our three course dinner as we did our breakfast the next morning.This really is a place where you arrive as a guest & leave as a friend. ilara & Robbie are charming & friendly hosts with nothing to much trouble, its as though you have known them for a long time.As dog lovers we were pleased to enjoy the company of Millie the Jack Russell & Bella the Basset who sort our company but were never pests nor overbearing. As we were on route from KZN where we live, to our time share near Pilgrims Rest this was a very welcome, al beit , short to have some relaxation before the sightseeing that lay ahead of us.Thank Robbie & Ilara for your wonderful hospitality & if we are ever in your area again Plumbago will certainly be top of our list of Guest Houses.

Room Tip: Our room (Suite 2) was very comfortable & well furnished. It had a smallish bath room with showe...
Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank George W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plum1mp, Owner at Plumbago Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear George W
Hello Again :-)
apologies for this very very long delay in relying to your time spent on Trip Advisor writing a review for us all at Plumbago - somehow I missed a couple of pending reviews I am so sorry.
nice to touch base again - after so long ...
your words are much appreciated -- taken to heart and noted in the Staff meetings as well.
The comments make such an impression on the Ladies that work so hard to take care of you - thank you for this!
we hope to see you soon again! take care and keep well
hugs from the Plumbago Family and the four legg'd ones too!
regards ilara and Robbie
& the Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We had a perfect stay at plumbago. We were made to feel so welcome by ilara Robbie and family. The rooms and food were exceptional and we really felt at home.The gardens and all the surroundings were really beautiful and the attention to detail in the house and grounds was lovely. We would love to return and would not hesitate to recommend plumbago to friends and family.

Room Tip: We had twonrooms and they were both exceptional
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plum1mp, Owner at Plumbago Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Katie N
Hello Again :-)
apologies for this very very long delay in relying to your time spent on Trip Advisor writing a review for us all at Plumbago - somehow I missed a couple of pending reviews I am so sorry.
nice to touch base again - after so long ...
your words are much appreciated -- taken to heart and noted in the Staff meetings as well.
The comments make such an impression on the Ladies that work so hard to take care of you - thank you for this!
we hope to see you soon again! take care and keep well
hugs from the Plumbago Family and the four legg'd ones too!
regards ilara and Robbie
& the Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

thank you very much for your all help. we including our 1year daughter enjoyed the stay so much! breakfast was so relaxing and dinner was excellent! my daughter made friends with two cute dogs, so we must come back again!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank madoka249
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plum1mp, Owner at Plumbago Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear madoka249
Hello Again :-)
apologies for this very very long delay in relying to your time spent on Trip Advisor writing a review for us all at Plumbago - somehow I missed a couple of pending reviews I am so sorry.
nice to touch base again - after so long ...
your words are much appreciated -- taken to heart and noted in the Staff meetings as well.
The comments make such an impression on the Ladies that work so hard to take care of you - thank you for this!
we hope to see you soon again! take care and keep well
hugs from the Plumbago Family and the four legg'd ones too!
regards ilara and Robbie
& the Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

When you stay in Plumbago Guest House (Hazyview - South Africa) you feel like a star!
The rooms are luxurious. The Staff is friendly++ and always there when there is a need and you don't see them when it isn't necessary. The breakfast is more than you can eat and has a good quality; when you take a dinner you think you're eating in a Michelin* Restaurant.
I was there for business 2 years ago; but now I stayed for 2 days with my wife. Know I see a lot of hotels in a year: this is one of the top. Only the price... when you see what you get it's even cheap!

Maria & Ad

Room Tip: Plumbago Guest House has 3 rooms, better saying Appartments. Number 1 is very good; number 2 is very...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ad D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plum1mp, Owner at Plumbago Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Ad D
Hello Again :-)
apologies for this very very long delay in relying to your time spent on Trip Advisor writing a review for us all at Plumbago - somehow I missed a couple of pending reviews I am so sorry.
nice to touch base again - after so long ...
your words are much appreciated -- taken to heart and noted in the Staff meetings as well.
The comments make such an impression on the Ladies that work so hard to take care of you - thank you for this!
we hope to see you soon again! take care and keep well
hugs from the Plumbago Family and the four legg'd ones too!
regards ilara and Robbie
& the Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

My husband and I and our little Jack Russell "Freckles" had the most amazing long weekend at Plumbago Guest House! We were welcomed like long lost friends by everyone including the doggies and we left in the knowledge that we had made some new amazing friends - of the two and four legged variety! My husband had just had a massive op and we had also recently moved from one city to another so were rather stressed out, so choosing Plumbago (by chance, but mostly because it was pet-friendly) was the ultimate choice because we felt totally relaxed and ready to face the world after our weekend there of doing absolutely nothing except sitting in the sun on the veranda, reading books around a roaring fire sipping sherry! The food & wine was out of this world and of 5star quality, we subsequently found out that Ilara, our hostess, is a gourmet chef, including being the hostess with the mostest and nothing was ever too much for her, Robbie, Val and all the staff, including dog-sitting Freckles when we went into Hazyview!
We would recommend Plumbago to anyone looking for relaxation, outstanding food, fabulous accommodation, stunning gardens and views, beautiful pool and last but not least fabulous hosts including our doggy-hosts who made Freckles feel so welcome!
We will be back!!!

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Di C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plum1mp, Owner at Plumbago Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Di c
Hello Again :-) from a sunny Plumbgao
apologies for this very very long delay in relying to your time spent on Trip Advisor writing a review for us all at Plumbago - somehow I missed a couple of pending reviews I am so sorry.
nice to touch base again - after so long ...
your words are much appreciated -- taken to heart and noted in the Staff meetings as well.
The comments make such an impression on the Ladies that work so hard to take care of you - thank you for this!
we hope to see you soon again! take care and keep well
hugs from the Plumbago Family and the four legg'd ones too!
regards ilara and Robbie
& the Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hazyview hotels
2.8 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview
5.7 mi away
Summerfields Rose Retreat & Spa
6.6 mi away
Hippo Hollow Country Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Perry's Bridge Hollow
Perry's Bridge Hollow
#1 of 13 in Hazyview
368 reviews
5.1 mi away
Rissington Inn
Rissington Inn
#1 of 39 in Hazyview
554 reviews
7.1 mi away
Kruger Park Lodge
Kruger Park Lodge
#2 of 39 in Hazyview
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plumbago Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plumbago Guest House

Address: P.O. Box 210 | Hazyview, Hazyview 1241, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Hazyview
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Hazyview
Price Range: $189 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Your 5 star experience with affordable rates" Only 20 min from the Kruger National Park Close to the Panorama Route Through the wrought-iron gates at the end of a bougainvillea-lined drive you will find Plumbago - as pretty as the flower that shares its name, set on an avocado and banana farm, it sits above the plantation watching over out to the Kruger National Park in the distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Plumbago Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plumbago Guest House Hazyview, South Africa - Mpumalanga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing