We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$161
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Tanamera Lodge(Hazyview)
$291
$279
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Rissington Inn(Hazyview)(Great Value!)
$108
$102
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Sanbonani Resort(Hazyview)(Great Value!)
$58
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Sabie River Bush Lodge(Hazyview)(Great Value!)
$94
$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$230
$198
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aan de Vliet(Hazyview)(Great Value!)
$41
$38
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 27% below average rates

The price you found is 27% lower than this hotel's average rate of $52/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$392
$383
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of $458/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (1,199)
Filter reviews
1,199 results
Traveler rating
556
442
128
51
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
556
442
128
51
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewselephant whispersthe riverriviera tourkruger national parkhippos grazingcultural showdouble showerceiling fanspecial thankscape townstayed nightscouple of nightsthatched roofour honeymoontour groupsouth africapanorama route
Filter
Updating list...
811 - 816 of 1,199 reviews
Reviewed March 18, 2009

We stayed at Hippo Hollow for 7 nights and we were also married at the hotel. We were really looking forward to going and researched all we could about the place before leaving home. I can say however that the pictures and reviews on this website and others do not do the place justice. The hotel itself was wonderful, the staff were friendly and helpful and it was situated in the perfect place.

Our wedding day was perfect and it was all organised through staff at the hotel. They took care of everything and made it so we didn't have to worry about anything other than enjoying our day. The setting was perfect, the pictures were perfect and the meal afterwards was excellent. We also had a visit from a Hippo on the day of the wedding.

The hotel is a perfect base for safari's in to the Kruger and is also close enough for a visit to the Kapama game reserve (less than an hours drive). The sights on both safari's were out of this world. Elephant whispers is also well worth a visit and is less than two minutes drive from the hotel.

All in all we couldn't find a single complaint about this hotel and we wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to anyone for a wedding or a normal holiday. We would also recommend booking it through virgin as the local virgin rep was excellent and couldn't do enough to help.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jasper1234NorthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2009

The hotel has been recommended by an agency however we was disappointed. The buffet was not good, the service was slow, they brough the hot breakfast menu after we already completed our breakfast buffet. The room smells and someone stole 220 EUR from our wallet in our room. The hotel manager toke some action but did not want to refund to us the stolen money

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank mykimax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2009

We were looking forward to staying at Hippo Hollow after reading many of the reviews.

On arrival nobody seemed to know we were arriving so we were just left standing there till they found our envelope.

The rooms were nice, having being a regular traveller to Africa the bugs dont bother me but there were alot and we did get baddly bitten, we slept downstairs, upstairs the beds had brown stains all over, i think this was from the leaking roof.

We did see regular hippo right outside our chalet and saw the occasional croc.

The main downdide of this hotel was the resteraunt, its geared up for big groups - Saga holidays, when they are in its a buffett. When they leave the main courses are served up with the left overs. We had veg for a couple of nights because it was left over from the buffett then we had to pay extra. The waiter said it was just what was left in the kitchen. I ordered a well done steak and it came out bleeding 3 times. Not one person in the resteraunt said sorry thats what really got to me. We complained then all the staff ignored us for the rest of our stay.

One morning i wanted a swim but the pool was still full of worms at 2pm.

This could be so nice but nobody can be bothered.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mich31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2009

I am a South African living in the UK, and finally managed to convince my partner to visit South Africa, as I have been to Hippo Hollow before (about 8 years ago) I was sure that 3 nights at Hippo Hollow would be the highlight of our holiday. Unfortunately I don’t think that the river chalets have had any attention in the last 8 years, when closed windows have large gaps for the wind and abundant creepy crawlies to sneak in, the roof leaked on top of one of the beds, kitchen drawers did not close and the chalet was very dark and ant infested (though it was overcast and rainy most of the time we were there). The meals were excellent, but if you decide to eat in the restaurant on one of the evenings that Hippo Hollow hosts the “Shangaan Evening” note that most of the staff will be attending to this, leaving one or two harassed waitresses to try and serve those that that opted to eat there. Power cuts are frequent, though this was down to the electricity supply not the hotel, so be warned a flashlight is essential. Hippo Hollow has become an overpriced and basic accommodation establishment that is not for those with any fear of creepy crawlies.

  • Stayed: February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank BonnieNorthumberland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2009

We stayed at Hippo Hollow for a couple of nights during our three week stay to South Africa and Zambia. The location is good for anyone wishing to visit Kruger but the holiday brochures really over-rate the place.
We found it to be a busy, unfriendly place geared up to accommodate coach parties.
We asked for a hot drink in the evening and were told it wasn't possible and indeed the bar staff were very unhelpful.
The accommodation is very basic but comfortable. We stayed in much better, comfortable and friendlier hotels along the way.
After all the hotels we had stayed in we found this one to be very disappointing and one we couldn't wait to leave.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank SussexCheekyMonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews