We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$227
$161
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Tanamera Lodge(Hazyview)
$323
$312
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Rissington Inn(Hazyview)(Great Value!)
$108
$102
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$121
$114
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Sanbonani Resort(Hazyview)(Great Value!)
$58
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of $67/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Sabie River Bush Lodge(Hazyview)(Great Value!)
$30
$29
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$157
$137
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of $176/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Aan de Vliet(Hazyview)(Great Value!)
$41
$40
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$395
$382
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of $450/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (1,191)
Filter reviews
1,191 results
Traveler rating
551
439
128
51
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
551
439
128
51
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewselephant whispersthe riverriviera tourhippos grazingkruger national parkcultural showdouble showerceiling fanspecial thankscape townstayed nightscouple of nightsthatched roofour honeymoonsouth africatour grouppanorama route
Filter
Updating list...
812 - 817 of 1,191 reviews
Reviewed February 10, 2009

We stayed at Hippo Hollow for a couple of nights during our three week stay to South Africa and Zambia. The location is good for anyone wishing to visit Kruger but the holiday brochures really over-rate the place.
We found it to be a busy, unfriendly place geared up to accommodate coach parties.
We asked for a hot drink in the evening and were told it wasn't possible and indeed the bar staff were very unhelpful.
The accommodation is very basic but comfortable. We stayed in much better, comfortable and friendlier hotels along the way.
After all the hotels we had stayed in we found this one to be very disappointing and one we couldn't wait to leave.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank SussexCheekyMonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2008

Rooms are nice and clean, breakfast is OK, restaurant is very bad.
This hotel is made for touring buses for "german" pensionaries.
There are much better and cheaper B&B around this area.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank marbru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2008

would suggest that you only do a morning safari as the afternoon was not nearly as productive as the morning - we saw 4 of the big 5 before 9.00am in the morning and were lucky enough to see the elusive leopard by lunchtime. You need to heed advise and dress warmly in lots of layers as it is FREEZING until mid morning!

The hotel was very warm and friendly and the staff are brilliant.

The accommodation, although simple, is authentic and adequate.

There is a GREAT coffee farm - Sabie Valley Coffee Farm (look it up on the internet) - around 10 minutes drive from the hotel that we discovered by accident. Great food and scenery, for virtually NO cost. ON a Wednesday they give a coffee tour, which is very informative (not least of all, because Tim - the owner - is truly passionate about his beans!) included in the very cheap price - around £1.50 per head) is a bottomless pot of coffee and excellent chocolate cake.

You really do see Hippos - and it is amazing!!! It is spontaneous and completely non-commercial. We saw them at breakfast one morning and nobody seemed to get excited about it (apart from us) it was the norm, and felt like a private viewing!

Go to the local shopping precinct - great shoes, great prices!! leather shoes under £10.00!

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vallarta1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2008

Stayed in one of the thatched rondevals overlooking the river, wife impressed with fact it was two storied with an extra bedroom on the second storey. C;ear;y designed for families, also cooking facilities on balcony .Limited facilities with no phone or TV but you dont come to Africa to watch TV otherwise OK. Nice and clean well maintained.
Buffet dinner and breakfast good selection nicely prepared. In evening you can as you dine wait for hippo (s) to appear on lawn whereupon the food is left to get cold.
There is supposed to be crocodile in lake in grounds but did not see. large grounds to walk round
Staff as everywhere polite ,pleasant and helpful.
Only criticism they do need to sort out their wake up call service. We stayed 3 nights and on only one morning did they get it right. The worst was on the morning when we had elected to have a lie in and no call , to no avail woken at 4 a.m and then again at 5 a.m!! Would have been 4 star but for wake up problems

  • Stayed: September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mark666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2008

We stayed here for two nights during the first week of September, 2008. We'd flown in to Jo'burg from Livingstone, Zambia, and were looking for a place to stay from which we could reach the middle of Kruger easily. I'd read good things about the Blyde River Canyon and wanted to do the Panorama Drive (largely disappointing due to all the haze from the multiple brush and grass fires burning all around).

This property sounded like a good choice based on other reviews and was reasonably priced. I requested a river-side chalet and we did get that. Ours faced southwest and was pretty warm until the sun went down. The bathroom didn't have a tub but did have a two-person shower. There was only one small bar of soap to share between the sink and shower. The chalet had a loft with two beds and a nice veranda facing the river. On our second night there we found three 1 inch long cockroaches in our bed.

The food was so-so. The dining room closes around nine in the evening. The first breakfast was reasonably good with omlettes made to order. The second morning it was pretty sparse and we were told it was because there was no tour group present. We didn't see any hippos or crocodiles but it was obvious by the droppings that hippos were present.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank dskid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews