We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“true wildlife feel, friendly staff, good veg food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hippo Hollow Country Estate
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Hazyview
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 13, 2014

we stayed in hippo hollow for 2 nights and we must say it was one of the best experiences of our 15 day long honeymoon trip.... it was a pleasant weather in Dec 2013 and the excitement of being close to Kruger was nice... the hotel is situated on the banks of a small river which has a dam just upstream from the hotel... this water body is home to 3-4 hippos who come outside in the grassland to graze... u are very close to them while sitting in the open restaurant (just a few metres away)... so u kinda eat with the hippos... we enjoyed the swimming pool a lot as well which is there in the center of the courtyard... the rooms also have a normal, forest touch so don't expect a modern, luxurious feel.. !!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fear1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melani K, Manager at Hippo Hollow Country Estate, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2014

Knowing we were part in making your trip such a memorable one is what motivates us. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.
We are glad that you thoroughly enjoyed all our restaurant has to offer as well as our pool facilities. Thank you for your kind words.
We hope you took a lot of photos to take these memories back home and to cherish for a long time.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Hippo Hollow for your first and many more to come anniversaries.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,083)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

489 - 495 of 1,083 reviews

Reviewed May 8, 2014

We stayed at Hippo Hollow for 1 night; 30 April 2014; having booked there because we had eaten at the restaurant previously and were happy with the overall experience.
I was quoted R1200 bb by Senna but when I called back I was told by the gentleman who helped me that it was R1,600 bb. He offered no explanation or apology for the change in price whatsoever.

We were booked in by a very friendly lady but were very disappointed when we got to our room to see that there was no airconditioner or television. There was also no key for the patio door. The impression of the room was that it had not been maintained properly for some time. The shower did not drain and the kitchen counter had ants all over it. Three of the lights were not working.

For R1,600 per night we expected better and will most certainly not recommend this hotel to anybody.

Thank you.
Ken Cant 083 250 3260 "kencant@gmail.com"
Charmaine Dettmer 082455 9467"charmaine.dettmer@gmail.com"

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kencant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melani K, Manager at Hippo Hollow Country Estate, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2014

We strive to improve on our products and services through guest feedback and would like to take this opportunity to thank your for providing us with yours.

We are very glad that you enjoyed all the restaurant has to offer.

Your booking was made over the Easter period and our rates do vary over busy periods and tends to fluctuate with demand.

We approach all issues through direct guest contact and had these matters been brought under the attention of management I assure you it would have been rectified immediately. Our patio doors all secured with 3 door latches that is operated from the inside.

We are disappointed that you left us with such discontent but hope that you will return in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2014 via mobile

Stayed 4 nights at hippo hollow in a standard room in the main courtyard, it was a good size, very clean and air conditioned, the only complaint we could make is that there are only twin size beds that they push together to make it a king size.
Saw hippos everyday, they come quite close but there are guides there to keep you safe.
Inexpensive drinks and meals, very friendly and helpful staff, close to kruger park, it was a great experience, we would recommend hippo hollow to anyone

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jlow79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melani K, Manager at Hippo Hollow Country Estate, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2014

We appreciate you taking the time to write to us. Thank you for providing us with your feedback.
It brings us great joy knowing that you had such a memorable stay with us and that you enjoyed all we have to offer. Thank you for your kind words.

We wish to welcome you back to Hippo Hollow in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014

I spent one night at the Hippo Hollow Country Estate and I recommend this place. It's located among the bush. At night, you can have diner in front of the Hippopotamus and during the day you see Elephants around. The staff is very kind and the Chalets are comfortable.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carolina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melani K, Manager at Hippo Hollow Country Estate, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2014

Having had the opportunity to being part of making your trip such a memorable one, brings us great joy. Thank you for taking the time to share it with us.

We are happy to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and that you were able to experience some wild on our doorstep. We truly are privileged to be surrounded with such extraordinary animals.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Hippo Hollow Country Estate.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

We were booked to stay here on a South African tour with Thompson's Africa. We were in Unit 50 which had a thatched roof. When we entered the room had a dreadful smell of damp. I notified reception who came over and agreed, said the smell was from the thatch as it had been wet and put some solution on the floor to get rid of the smell. The room was old and dingy with old dark furniture. There are more modern units at Hippo Hollow without thatched roofs so I would recommend you book one of these as friends in these said they were good. The location of the hotel is beautiful, the food is really good, especially the a la carte menu, and the service was excellent. So book yourself one of the modern rooms here and I am sure you will not be disappointed. However avoid the old thatched roof accommodation, it is not nice.

Room Tip: Avoid the old thatched roof accommodation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CumbriaChevalier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melani K, Manager at Hippo Hollow Country Estate, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2014

We strive to improve through guest feedback and would like to take this opportunity to thank you for providing us with yours.

It’s great knowing that you enjoyed all the restaurant has to offer and that you were taken care of by the staff. They would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your kind words.

Please be assured that we have already addressed your concern mentioned and that action is being taken with great urgency to avoid the re-occurrence of this matter in the future.
The Hippo Hollow Family wishes to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

We only got to stay here one night between leaving Kruger and heading back to Jo-Burg but it was a lovely night. Upon arrival we were greeted at the car and brought tea to enjoy during check in. The grounds are beautiful and we loved that you can see Hippos and Crocs on the property. The bar was very nice as was the restaurant on site. The have breakfast in the morning which was also good. The only complaint I would have is the grounds and room are very nice- but the bathroom was a little gross- I don't know if it was mold or just not being cleaned well enough but otherwise really enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nsaavedra555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melani K, Manager at Hippo Hollow Country Estate, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

We regard guest feedback as very valuable to us and consider each review as an opportunity to upkeep and improve on our products and services that we offer at our establishment. Thank you for providing us with yours.

Please be assured that your concern will be attended to with great urgency.
We do wish that you would return to Hippo Hollow Country Estate and that you’ll consider staying a little while longer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Pure bliss! For a peaceful and relaxing getaway, Hippo Hollow is definitely the answer.
Professional friendly staff, and such a cozy atmosphere. What more could you ask for?
A MUST DO when you're in the Hazyview area!

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Coreen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melani K, Manager at Hippo Hollow Country Estate, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Having had the opportunity to be part of making your trip such a memorable one brings us great joy. Thank you for taking the time to write to us.

Knowing that your stay with us has met all your expectations is what keeps us motivated. The staff at Hippo Hollow would like to thank you for your kind words.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Hippo Hollow.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hazyview
0.4 mi away
Perry's Bridge Hollow
Perry's Bridge Hollow
#1 of 12 in Hazyview
410 reviews
2.5 mi away
Summerfields Rose Retreat & Spa
3.9 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sabi River Sun Resort
Sabi River Sun Resort
#3 of 12 in Hazyview
920 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Numbi & Garden Suites
22.8 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hippo Hollow Country Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hippo Hollow Country Estate

Address: R40, Hazyview 1242, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Hazyview
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hazyview
#3 Family Hotel in Hazyview
Price Range: $90 - $474 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hippo Hollow Country Estate 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hippo Hollow Country Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hippo Hollow Country Estate Hotel Hazyview
Hippo Hollow Country Estate Hazyview, South Africa - Mpumalanga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing