We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hippo Hollow Country Estate
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Hazyview
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 1, 2014

I took my 3 mates here on a 4 day tour that was prearranged. We ended up at the Hippo Hollow for the 3 nights and had a lovely stay. Its a tranquil setting on the river with enough facilities and entertainment to keep you comfortable. The staff was the highlight. They took great care of us and were quite personable. Alifie our hostess made sure we had all the comforts of home and was always around to see if she could help. I'd refer anyone to this location for their Kruger safari.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sam03h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melani K, Manager at Hippo Hollow Country Estate, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2014

Having had the opportunity to being part of making your trip such a memorable one, brings us grat joy. Thank you for sharing your experience with us.

We take great pride in our staff and are very lucky, in particular to have Alifie on our team. Thank you for your kind words.

We wish to welcome you back to Hippo Hollow in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,051)
There are newer reviews for Hippo Hollow Country Estate
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

491 - 497 of 1,051 reviews

Reviewed January 22, 2014

My wife daughter and I spent 2 magical weeks at Hippo Hollow. The river chalet we stayed in overlooked the River Sabie, which had wildlife all around. We'd sit on the balcony with a glass of wine, watching hippos swim in the river and elephants coming down for a drink - utterly spectacular! The restaurant is also excellent, with some of the most amazing dishes. I strongly recommend the crocodile skewers! Even though the setting, the wildlife and the food was incredible, it was the staff that really made this the best holiday of our lives. My wife celebrated her 40th birthday whilst we were there and the staff made it really special. Gustav and his team walked round to our chalet and escorted us to the best table in the restaurant.We were served special cocktails and the staff sang the most amazing African song, whilst they brought out a wonderful cake. Everyone takes a huge pride in the service they deliver, from the gardener, to security, to the cleaning staff (who would decorate our beds with petals). You must go to this place!!

Room Tip: Make sure you get a River Chalet (numbers 1-17). We were in number 9, which was perfection.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheWards28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melani K, Manager at Hippo Hollow Country Estate, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Dear David, Sue & Poppy,
It was an incredible honor welcoming your lovely family to what you can now call home away from home. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.
We are very lucky to have Gustav on our team and would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your kind words. It certainly is what motivates the staff of Hippo Hollow. Knowing we were part of making your trip such a memorable one brings us great joy.
We look forward to welcoming you back next year, where you arrived as our guests and left as our friends.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

What a lovely venue, my friend got married at Hippo Hollow in December.

A big thanks to Gustav and his team who made sure everything was perfect. The Rump was absolutely the best rump I have ever tasted. The food was really amazing!!!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janaontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melani K, Manager at Hippo Hollow Country Estate, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write to us. We are glad that you had such an enjoyable evening here at Hippo Hollow. The staff at Hippo Hollow and in particular Gustav would like to thank you for your warm-hearted words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

I had high hopes for this restaurant, the setting was great (if you can get a seat on the terrace, otherwise inside is a little too bright) and the hippos did arrive, which was a wow factor. I think this restaurant has strong links with the hotel, therefore does not survive on outside bookings, which I was one of.
The menu looked interesting and we had the best greeting ever, the manageress was very polite and really pleasant. However, the food didn't live up to standards. My dining partners steak arrived well done, not rare, even though they made it clear how they wanted it. I took the Ostrich steak, which was a little too complex with lots of flavours on the plate, trying too hard, whereas the raw ingredients should speak for themselves, this made me think that the quality wasn't there.
After returning the steak there was little in the way of regret and this split the dining experience as I had finished my main before a new steak had been brought.
However, the reason for my low score isn't due to the above, anyone can make an error, however, the manager never arrived to apologies and when the bill arrived they had added a 2 extra drinks. There wasn't an issue removing the drinks, but we did expect the manager to arrive to apologies, but instead we were allowed to drift off out of the restaurant without a word begin said.
Considering the other restaurants in the area and the service we were given the 2 stars in justified. I am sure that many people have had great times and food here, but on my visit I was left a little frustrated.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank jonjon1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melani K, Manager at Hippo Hollow Country Estate, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

We strive to upkeep and improve on our service standards through guest feedback and would like to thank you for providing us with yours.

Your experience with us brings us great disappointment as it is very rare that guests leave our restaurant with discontentment.

We do wish that you will return to Hippo Hollow in the near future, for the experience that Hippo Hollow is renowned for.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

After a long drive it was lovely to be greeted by such obliging staff who quickly showed us to our room. The room itself was looking over the river which was perfect. We were not fortunate enough to see any hippos or crocs but that is the chance you take. All amenities in the room were satisfactory if I had wanted luxury I would have booked a 5 star accommodation. All staff were pleasant and helpful and willing to stand and chat and ask about your day. The food was satisfactory and all in all I can recommend this hotel as it is convenient to Kruger and a pleasant place to spend some time.

Room Tip: Air- con with a river view
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Salsa58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melani K, Manager at Hippo Hollow Country Estate, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Having had the opportunity to being part of making your trip such a memorable one, brings us great joy. Thank you for taking the time to write to us. We are so glad that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and that you received such a warm welcome.
We wish to welcome you back to Hippo Hollow in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

Staying there, in the middle of the nature, on South Africa is a unique experience!
On the night, there was some animal, like a bat, making a strange sound, that made me a little bit afraid.
Over the bed there was a powder (droopy by the ceiling), like termite.
But the service staff, the beauty of the place, made ​​a very positive result.
The food of the restaurant is very good, with differents types of meat, typical of Africa.
Mr. Inocent is perfect, He solved all our problems and made everything that was necessary for our tours was being ok. He must been promoted to manager of Hotel!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cristiane_Fernando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melani K, Manager at Hippo Hollow Country Estate, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. It brings us great joy knowing you enjoyed the surroundings that nature has to offer as well as our African cuisines. The staff would like to thank you for your kind words.

We hope to welcome you back to Hippo Hollow.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We paid what we felt was a little too much, although last minute for a Christmas stay, for a cabin overlooking the river. Fortunately we were lucky enough to see a big hippo wondering around below us one night, making it worth while. The cabins were fine, basic, but my biggest problem was there was no a/c and it was quiet humid during our stay. We couldn't open the windows at night as there were no fly screens so all kinds of bugs and mosquitoes would fly in. There was a flimsy ceiling fan that didn't do much at all. We had a loft with 2 single beds for the kids, but it was not very functional as it was very hot up there, the stairs were too steep for young children (very dangerous) and as we lay with them on the first night to put them to sleep, we could hear mice squeeking from the thatching above us and noticed a very unpleasant smell. So we all slept on the king bed downstairs. We noticed the cheaper hotel rooms, had a/c and a TV which was strange as we were paying much more for less. The pool and grounds were beautiful and good for relaxing. The food in the restaurant was great and was overlooking the river, in the evening it is common for hippos to come close and eat the grass, which is a sight. I wouldn't stay in the cabins again, which is a pity as the idea is great, just not that comfortable, especially knowing mice are living in the roof ! We have stayed in many thatched accommodations and never had this problem before - it obviously needs attention.

Room Tip: If you don't mind bugs and mice during the night, the riverside cabins are a good choice, otherw...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kimbaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melani K, Manager at Hippo Hollow Country Estate, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2014

We strive to upkeep and improve through guest feedback and would like to thank you for providing us with yours.

We truly are privileged being surrounded by Africa’s stunning nature and it brings us great joy knowing you were able to experience that with us.

Bats have the tendency to make the thatched roofs their home and being an endangered species, we need professional help in order to remove them safely and it’s with great joy that I inform you we have managed to re-locate their home safely.

We wish to welcome you back to Hippo Hollow in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hazyview
0.4 mi away
Perry's Bridge Hollow
Perry's Bridge Hollow
#1 of 13 in Hazyview
372 reviews
2.5 mi away
Summerfields Rose Retreat & Spa
3.9 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sabi River Sun Resort
Sabi River Sun Resort
#3 of 13 in Hazyview
861 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Numbi & Garden Suites
22.8 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hippo Hollow Country Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hippo Hollow Country Estate

Address: Po Box 2304, Hazyview, | Mpumalanga Kruger Area, Hazyview 1242, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Hazyview
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hazyview
#3 Family Hotel in Hazyview
Price Range: $110 - $473 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hippo Hollow Country Estate 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hippo Hollow Country Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hippo Hollow Country Estate Hotel Hazyview
Hippo Hollow Country Estate Hazyview, South Africa - Mpumalanga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing