We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel and Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hippo Hollow Country Estate
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Hazyview
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

My Dad and I stayed in one of the Hotels cabins on the river front. We have been to the hotel before and loved every part of it, this time was no different. The cabin is everything you could want, a bit basic yes but you don't spend a lot of time in it after all. There is a small kitchen with fridge, toaster and kettle, as well as this there is a gas BBQ on the deck with free gas. We BBQ'ed a couple of times and it was great, even had the monkeys help us eat it!

On arrival at the hotel all the staff were very friendly and helpful. Like last time the manager came and personal greater us at dinner and always has time for a chat. As we were at the hotel for 10 night he personally drove us into Hazyview to one of there sister restaurant so that we could have a change.

The menu in the restaurant is limited but is very good and is very African. My favourite is carvory night.

I would like to thank all the staff and to say carry on doing a great job.

Thanks for making a great holiday for us.

Stayed: August 2013
Thank bouetdun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melani K, Manager at Hippo Hollow Country Estate, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Your feedback is what motivates us and we would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your kind words.

We are privileged to have been able to share a part of your trip to South Africa, for the second time.

We most certainly look forward upon your third return to your home away from home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,081)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

522 - 528 of 1,081 reviews

Reviewed December 15, 2013

The room was a bit smelly, due to the humid area rather than cleanliness issues. The pool was cool but refreshing, the grubby sunbeds were a bit disappointing & getting pool towels from reception a faff but in the scheme of things a minor inconvenience.

We had a garden view room, ground floor with a double shower (?!) but in contrast a large bathroom that was in need of a refurb, and bizarrely a toilet roll holder that inspector gadget couldn't have hoped to have reached from the toilet.

The tv was past it's best with all of 2 channels that could be watched, it seems satellite tv hadn't reached here, but it just didn't matter - we still had a great time.

Why ? Because the staff were fantastic. The bar service was poor, they couldn't cope if more than one person wanting to be served, but the wine list was good & the prices even better.

The food was basic & limited choice but again nice.

Despite seeming to list plenty of negatives we really liked this place. It just had well maintained grounds, the hippos came up onto the lawns each night and everyone wanted to help you. All in all a good base to spend a few days in Kruger.

Finally the Shangaan evening held in the grounds was great. The dancers but most of all the singing of the national anthem moved us to tears. It was followed by a basic but tasty, high quality buffet, all for £10 a head. Unbelievable.

We would return, just don't forget the deet for the evenings, I was bitten to bits !

Room Tip: River view with balcony or poolside
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynsey13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melani K, Manager at Hippo Hollow Country Estate, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Having had the opportunity of being part of making your trip such a memorable one, brings us great joy. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.

We strive to upkeep and improve through guest feedback and will most certainly dig into each matter that you mentioned. It is due to a lightning strike that we had lost some of our decoders, leaving us with limited channels.

We wish to welcome you back to Hippo Hollow in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Located 15 minutes from the Gruger National park, I have experience sleeping in a rustic style challet by the river, populated by hippos and crocodiles even a piton paid a visit 10 meter from my terrace, all in a secure and safe stay, you can have dinner watching the hippos grazing by hotels gardens.The elephant sanctuary is just next door in a walking distance you can even book a elephant ride piking you up from the hotels premises. There is small village about 500 meter where you can find anything you need from restaurants, deli, handcraft, stilish Africa gifts. A great and friendly service by Alifia the waiter and the duty manager Melani. I definitely will come back and bring my friends.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Renato M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melani K, Manager at Hippo Hollow Country Estate, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Alifi and myself, would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your kind words. It is through guest feedback that the staff at Hippo Hollow stay motivated in order to upkeep and improve on our service standards & products that we offer.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Hippo Hollow, where you arrived as our guest, but left as our friend.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

My wife visited here in September last year & promised to return with me in November
We requested a river view room ( as she had stayed previously ) & although e-mail was received these rooms were taken by a large coach party guests
Our garden room was very adequate but we had to report a toilet door that did not shut & a very dangerous hairdryer where the flex had been taped together !!
Our visit coincided with 3 coach parties so timing of evening dinner & breakfast was advisable
Evening dinner was excellent, my wife had Ostrich which was very good & my steak was perfect
All this whilst sitting by open glass doors overlooking illuminated river bank with 3 hippo's parading for about an hour during dinner, what a bonus

Room Tip: Try to choose the river view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doug L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melani K, Manager at Hippo Hollow Country Estate, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Thank you for providing us with your valuable feedback.

We are glad to know you had such a wonderful experience in the dining room and that the company provided next to the river, planted some good memories.

We wish to welcome you back to Hippo Hollow in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Been there twice already, which says a lot since I never revisit hotels or lodges. We stayed for a total of 6 nights and it was simply great. Especially the river chalets!! A true gem! The name of the estate sponsors what you will receive! The staff, facilities etc were all to our uttmost satisfaction. It's also a great location if you are traveling around and just need a place to stay. It is somewhat pricey, but it is worth every single bit of it! The second time we stayed at the garden chalet which was not quite as impressive as the river chalet. Believe me - spend the extra money! Food is great too, rooms great, furniture very inviting and excellently fitting! I will return for sure!

Room Tip: River Chalet is well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WildChild808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melani K, Manager at Hippo Hollow Country Estate, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Your kind words are what motivate us. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We truly are privileged with the nature and wild surrounding us.

The Hippo Hollow family looks forward to welcoming you back for your third trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

we stayed a couple of nights in august and loved it!
we had a lodge so used the BBQ, we watched the geckos and chameleons run around and had gin and tonics while watching the hippos on the hotel lawn a few feet away.
did a great safari at Kruger and staff couldn't be friendlier.

highly recommended.

Room Tip: book a cottage overlooking the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank kris f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melani K, Manager at Hippo Hollow Country Estate, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Knowing you thoroughly enjoyed your stay here with us brings us great joy. Thank you for your kind words. We look forward to welcoming you back to Hippo Hollow.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Lovely hotel set on small river that hippos visit at night. Easy access to the Kruger National Park and 2 elephant sanctuaries. Hotel rooms are very nice and the restaurant provides a very good buffet of al a carte menu

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dee9798
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melani K, Manager at Hippo Hollow Country Estate, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Thank you for providing us with your valuable feedback. It brings us great joy knowing you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and the surrounding areas.

We wish to welcome you back to Hippo Hollow.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hazyview
0.4 mi away
Perry's Bridge Hollow
Perry's Bridge Hollow
#1 of 13 in Hazyview
406 reviews
2.5 mi away
Summerfields Rose Retreat & Spa
3.9 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sabi River Sun Resort
Sabi River Sun Resort
#3 of 13 in Hazyview
919 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Numbi & Garden Suites
22.8 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hippo Hollow Country Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hippo Hollow Country Estate

Address: R40, Hazyview 1242, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Hazyview
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hazyview
#3 Family Hotel in Hazyview
Price Range: $88 - $459 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hippo Hollow Country Estate 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hippo Hollow Country Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hippo Hollow Country Estate Hotel Hazyview
Hippo Hollow Country Estate Hazyview, South Africa - Mpumalanga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing