We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return Visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hippo Hollow Country Estate
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Hazyview
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 3, 2013

My wife visited here in September last year & promised to return with me in November
We requested a river view room ( as she had stayed previously ) & although e-mail was received these rooms were taken by a large coach party guests
Our garden room was very adequate but we had to report a toilet door that did not shut & a very dangerous hairdryer where the flex had been taped together !!
Our visit coincided with 3 coach parties so timing of evening dinner & breakfast was advisable
Evening dinner was excellent, my wife had Ostrich which was very good & my steak was perfect
All this whilst sitting by open glass doors overlooking illuminated river bank with 3 hippo's parading for about an hour during dinner, what a bonus

Room Tip: Try to choose the river view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doug L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melani K, Manager at Hippo Hollow Country Estate, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Thank you for providing us with your valuable feedback.

We are glad to know you had such a wonderful experience in the dining room and that the company provided next to the river, planted some good memories.

We wish to welcome you back to Hippo Hollow in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,064)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

513 - 519 of 1,064 reviews

Reviewed November 27, 2013

Been there twice already, which says a lot since I never revisit hotels or lodges. We stayed for a total of 6 nights and it was simply great. Especially the river chalets!! A true gem! The name of the estate sponsors what you will receive! The staff, facilities etc were all to our uttmost satisfaction. It's also a great location if you are traveling around and just need a place to stay. It is somewhat pricey, but it is worth every single bit of it! The second time we stayed at the garden chalet which was not quite as impressive as the river chalet. Believe me - spend the extra money! Food is great too, rooms great, furniture very inviting and excellently fitting! I will return for sure!

Room Tip: River Chalet is well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WildChild808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melani K, Manager at Hippo Hollow Country Estate, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Your kind words are what motivate us. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We truly are privileged with the nature and wild surrounding us.

The Hippo Hollow family looks forward to welcoming you back for your third trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

we stayed a couple of nights in august and loved it!
we had a lodge so used the BBQ, we watched the geckos and chameleons run around and had gin and tonics while watching the hippos on the hotel lawn a few feet away.
did a great safari at Kruger and staff couldn't be friendlier.

highly recommended.

Room Tip: book a cottage overlooking the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank kris f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melani K, Manager at Hippo Hollow Country Estate, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Knowing you thoroughly enjoyed your stay here with us brings us great joy. Thank you for your kind words. We look forward to welcoming you back to Hippo Hollow.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Lovely hotel set on small river that hippos visit at night. Easy access to the Kruger National Park and 2 elephant sanctuaries. Hotel rooms are very nice and the restaurant provides a very good buffet of al a carte menu

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dee9798
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melani K, Manager at Hippo Hollow Country Estate, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Thank you for providing us with your valuable feedback. It brings us great joy knowing you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and the surrounding areas.

We wish to welcome you back to Hippo Hollow.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

We had a three night stay as part of a tour group in November. Our thatched chalet overlooked the Sabie river in a very attractive location, close to Kruger National Park. The room was spacious, a little on the dark side with a very good bathroom with high powered shower. Rooms had effective ceiling fan. The restaurant in the hotel was ok, nice meals but nothing special (there are also restaurants within 5-10 minutes walk which may be worth trying; we only tried the Belgium coffee shop which was very good. Service at the hotel was mixed some good but some staff seemed indifferent, and we had to shout on one occasion to get someone to serve us as we were been ignored. Some of our fellow guests had similar experiences; so overall average. The views on the terrace were lovely and we saw hippos in the evening, a small crocodile and elephants on the hillside during the day. Overall a good stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a chalet facing the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melani K, Manager at Hippo Hollow Country Estate, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

We strive to upkeep and improve on our services & products through guest feedback and would like to thank you for providing us with yours.

Management regards any guest inconvenience as a very serious matter and assures you that it would have been dealt with great urgency were it brought under their attention.

We truly are privileged with the nature and wild life surrounding us and are happy that you were able to experience it with us. We wish to welcome you back to Hippo Hollow Country Estate.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

My wife and myself stayed at your hotel for two nights (21 - 23 October 2013). we found the hotel and its facilities very satisfactory and the staff all pleasant and helpful. However, having given our postcards (22 in total) to the reception for posting, and being assured that they would do so, we have now been home for over two weeks and not one of the postcards have been delivered. We find this very disappointing.

We would appreciate hearing your views on this matter, and in the meantime remain,

Best regards

Joan and Erwin Mueller

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ErwinMuellerMacroom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melani K, Manager at Hippo Hollow Country Estate, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Dear Mr. & Mrs. Mueller

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We are glad that you received such warm and friendly service.

Regarding your post cards, we make a point of it to take all our guests post cards through to the post office, though posting post cards through the Hazyview postal office has been known to take a bit longer than from more established CBD areas.

We hope to welcome you back to Hippo Hollow in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Our four nights which we spent at Hippo Hollow will be remembered for a long time. The staff are really friendly. We felt treated as if we where part of their family. Very good and genuine food. Apart from all of this, the location is a perfect one. Our chalet overlooked the Sabie River. Thanks for making our honeymoon a perfect one :)

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Darren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melani K, Manager at Hippo Hollow Country Estate, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Having had the opportunity to be a part of making your honeymoon such a memorable one brings us great joy. Thank you for providing us with your feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Hippo Hollow where you arrived as our guests but left as our friends.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hazyview
0.4 mi away
Perry's Bridge Hollow
Perry's Bridge Hollow
#1 of 13 in Hazyview
385 reviews
2.5 mi away
Summerfields Rose Retreat & Spa
3.9 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sabi River Sun Resort
Sabi River Sun Resort
#3 of 13 in Hazyview
883 reviews
22.8 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate
1.4 mi away
Hotel Numbi & Garden Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hippo Hollow Country Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hippo Hollow Country Estate

Address: Po Box 2304, Hazyview, | Mpumalanga Kruger Area, Hazyview 1242, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Hazyview
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hazyview
#3 Family Hotel in Hazyview
Price Range: $106 - $453 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hippo Hollow Country Estate 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hippo Hollow Country Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hippo Hollow Country Estate Hotel Hazyview
Hippo Hollow Country Estate Hazyview, South Africa - Mpumalanga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing