We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hippo Hollow Country Estate
Nearby Hotels
$87
$74
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
aha Casa do Sol(Hazyview)(Great Value!)
$89
$77
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$360
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Aan de Vliet(Hazyview)(Great Value!)
$54
$45
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$119
$101
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$103
$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Highgrove House(Hazyview)
$224
$211
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Sanbonani Resort(Hazyview)(Great Value!)
$67
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
bedfinder
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (1,152)
Filter reviews
1,152 results
Traveler rating
527
425
127
51
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
527
425
127
51
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewselephant whispersthe riverriviera tourhippos grazingkruger national parkcultural showdouble showerceiling fanstayed here for nightscouple of nightsspecial thanksthatched roofour honeymoontour groupsouth africapanorama routebuffet dinner
Filter
Updating list...
583 - 588 of 1,152 reviews
Reviewed November 21, 2013

My wife and myself stayed at your hotel for two nights (21 - 23 October 2013). we found the hotel and its facilities very satisfactory and the staff all pleasant and helpful. However, having given our postcards (22 in total) to the reception for posting, and being assured that they would do so, we have now been home for over two weeks and not one of the postcards have been delivered. We find this very disappointing.

We would appreciate hearing your views on this matter, and in the meantime remain,

Best regards

Joan and Erwin Mueller

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ErwinMuellerMacroom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melani K, Manager at Hippo Hollow Country Estate, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Dear Mr. & Mrs. Mueller

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We are glad that you received such warm and friendly service.

Regarding your post cards, we make a point of it to take all our guests post cards through to the post office, though posting post cards through the Hazyview postal office has been known to take a bit longer than from more established CBD areas.

We hope to welcome you back to Hippo Hollow in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Our four nights which we spent at Hippo Hollow will be remembered for a long time. The staff are really friendly. We felt treated as if we where part of their family. Very good and genuine food. Apart from all of this, the location is a perfect one. Our chalet overlooked the Sabie River. Thanks for making our honeymoon a perfect one :)

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Darren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melani K, Manager at Hippo Hollow Country Estate, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Having had the opportunity to be a part of making your honeymoon such a memorable one brings us great joy. Thank you for providing us with your feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Hippo Hollow where you arrived as our guests but left as our friends.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

A 4 Night stay at this beautiful peaceful hotel lived up to all our expectations!!!
chalet looked over river . wher we saw the local elephants every day ..and even saw hippos
Staff were so genuinly friendly and helpful. Treated us to complimentry drinks for anniversary
and the food was some of the best meals we had while in South Africa ...Had couple of really bad thunder storms at night but was nice and hot most of the time through the day ...But to be expected this time of year ..so go prepared!!..would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone
Robert and Sheila.. Thanks to all

Room Tip: chalets overlooking river.. no telivison unlike main building but made it more peaceful ..and much more chance of seeing elephants and hippo ...no 14 was perfect
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sheila p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melani K, Manager at Hippo Hollow Country Estate, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Dear Robert & Sheila,

Receiving such heart warming feedback is what puts a genuine smile on each staff members face here at Hippo Hollow. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with such valuable feedback. We hope to see you next year again for another celebration.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

We stayed overnight as part of a group travelling through Southern Africa. Although one night is hardly enough exposure to a property to give a thorough evaluation, we were pleased with the accommodation and food. It was disappointing that we had to purchase bottled water as this was provided free in all the other accommodation we stayed in. A cultural show and dance group gave us a good introduction to the local background.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melani K, Manager at Hippo Hollow Country Estate, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Thank you for providing us with your feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed the cultural performance. We wish that you would return to Hippo Hollow Country Estate.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

The rooms were large, spotless and very comfortable. The grounds were lovely and our room overlooked the river. We had a buffet the first evening and then tried a la carte the following day. The meal was wonderful ..... I had ostrich and I can't remember enjoying a piece of meat so much! The staff were friendly and welcoming. We stayed at a number of hotels on our South African tour and this one certainly came out amongst the top.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melani K, Manager at Hippo Hollow Country Estate, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Having had the opportunity to be part of making your trip such a memorable one brings us great joy. Thank you for taking the time to share it with us.

Our menu does consist out of various African cuisines and we’re thrilled to know you enjoyed the ostrich so much. The Hippo Hollow staff would like to thank you for your kind words.

We look forward to your next visit, should you decide to have another trip to South Africa in the not too distant future. We wish u a safe trip home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews