We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (698)
Filter reviews
698 results
Traveler rating
461
186
39
8
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
461
186
39
8
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hillside suite outdoor shower panorama route curry garden room kruger park wine list blyde river canyon picnic breakfast complimentary sherry fillet steak south africa each evening car wash stayed longer dirt road a great place to stay
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
42 - 47 of 698 reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2018

It is hard to rate a place when you have not stayed at others in the area. This Inn had everything we need for an overnight stop when transiting through Kruger. The Inn is set back from the road and has a beautiful outlook. We enjoyed a family suite on the hillside which enabled us to take in the view from the hammock. Pool was extremely cold in July but enough for a quick refreshing dip. Outdoor shower off the main bedroom was bracing but had to be tried. Dogs wandering the grounds is not something we were used to. Room was clean. Meals were nice and they prepared a breakfast pack for our early departure.

Room tip: Two bedroom family unit has a great outlook
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank MOB68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerRissington, Owner at Rissington Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2018

Hi there unidentified person from Brisbane,
Thanks for the review. The word is 'QUIRKY', I think. QWERKY is a keyboard (albeit with a typo). On the basis of your review and even taking into account your confessed-to confusion on the topic, I think I would probably have given us 4 blobs - but we will settle for a 3 if you insist. I think we are always good, and very often even excellent, but not average. There didn't seem to be anything at all that you didn't like about us. In fact, quite the opposite, unless you were genuinely baffled that the private swimming pool by your room should have turned out to have been cold, right slap-bang in the middle of winter? And the shower, unlike the pool, is heated. I think we should make that clear. As for the 'wandering' dogs ... I have no idea what the issue is here. We had 2 dogs (we have 1 now, as the other one is sadly no longer with us) and yes they are allowed outside. They walk. It is not really a wander. It is a form of freedom generally permitted to dogs that they are not kept inside or tied up. But they are entirely tame. Is that a problem? I am confused. Thanks, anyway, for a few minutes of amused bewilderment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2018

Small scale (a few bungalows and hotel rooms) in a nice little park area (totally fenced off course). Room was basic but comfortable, nice restaurant, had dinner twice on the porch, good selection of food. Great breakfast (with home made English muffins!). The owner of the place has a particular sense of humor, worthwhile reading the directory.
Obviously, in July, the pool was ice cold.
Good location to visit the panorama route and the Kruger Park (about 25 minutes drive away)

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank gvodbos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2018

We have stayed in the Rissington Inn for 2 days and haven't any regret about it! The staff was super friendly, the accommodation was very clean and really spacious and we enjoyed the food a lot! It was a 30 minute drive to enjoy the panorama-route which was more than ideal. Would certainly recommend a stay there.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank yariiid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2018

A great little hotel for exploring Kruger National Park on an independent basis - right next to one of the park gates. A well run hotel, with nice rooms and comfortable beds. The restaurant was particularly good, with a decent array of options. Generous breakfast in the morning. A good, affordable option, located in the nice little town of Hazyview. The bar is a cute little half Welsh, half South African pub, packed with lots of board games.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LondonTravelbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2018

We stayed here for 4 nights while we visited the Panorama route and did self drives of Kruger. The food was good, the rooms were nice and spacious, our lunchbox orders were always ready to go (and wow, great lunch boxes). The location was great, in Hazyview, but down a dirt road so it was nice and secluded. The last day, one of the staff members even washed the car for us.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank david c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews