We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wau! we loved it...”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Rissington Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rissington Inn
Certificate of Excellence
switzerland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“wau! we loved it...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

This was a very nice lodge to start our Kruger experience; fabulous food and very friendly people. Rooms are very special - we loved this place and would consider returning whenever we are back in the area - we will be for sure soon!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank marimariSwitzerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    346
    137
    31
    3
    2
See reviews for
132
292
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

Our 2-night stay at the Rissington Inn was wonderful: a great (family) room with a beautiful view on a quiet location, wonderful food and a superb (S African) winelist. The staff was superfriendly and helpful. The location of the Inn is great for visiting the Blyde River Canyon, but this is also a great starting point for daytrips to the Kruger park. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank estelle v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

We spend a night on the way back from the parks. The location is perfect , quiet after a nosy r40 road.
The rooms giving on the garden with strange sign in the lawn like " beware hippos" even if you are unlikely to see them. The rooms are lovely with bath, sofa, outside chairs and sofa.
We choose to have dinner there after a long day. Choice is good and food more than ok.
On breakfast, do no hesitate to ask for buffet refill. Although it was 9 only, no fruit was available .
Staff is friendly and we had a good surprise to get our car cleaned ( externally) during the night. So do not wash your car before

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laurent c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerRissington, Owner at Rissington Inn, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
There's plenty of fruit, even after 9am, so I am glad you asked! Thanks for writing a review. I am glad you had such a good time - and you are right, we are a wonderful peaceful oasis ...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
120 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

Wow! So we were a little harried - we flew into Joburg the night before, had to pay off a corrupt cop at a highway closure in Joburg, and we got lost driving to Hazyview... so we were a bit exhausted as the sun started to set and we were just showing up at the Rissington. Luckily, we were staying at the Rissington!

What a great place! From the start, we knew we were lucky to have found this place. We got a warm-hearted welcome, along with a tour of the property and an escort to our room. We had a great room near the lodge with a small sitting area, high ceilings and breezes through the windows. We overlooked the property and the open field in the distance. Our bathroom was huge!

After unpacking a bit, we headed to the cute little bar and had a drink or two, served by one of the fun gappies working there. How awesome to have a job like that. In some sense, we felt like we were at a refined camp for adults - with stellar accommodations, good & cheap drinks, and as we'd find out - great food. As the sun set, the wonderful lighting lit up the dining room and we headed over there for a truly tasty, elegant dinner. The setting is calm, romantic, not hurried - exactly what we needed to turn our hectic New York / in-transit travel minds off and put us in a calm mode. What a great way to start our trip. We completely forgot about home.

We had to change rooms mid-trip because we booked late (we knew this when we booked). Wonderfully, the Rissington was able to actually upgrade us to one of the humongous rooms with a small front porch and nothing but great views. Wow! Talk about an awesome surprise after a few days when we were given keys to the new room. Many thanks!

Each morning, the Rissington had a superb breakfast for us, though the dinners were really special. Each evening, we loved having a drink at the bar or in the outdoor lounge seating prior to dinner and then sometimes returning there for an after-dinner drink. It was so fun to play board games and such. Oh, and they had a great cooler of food for us on that one super early morning we did a self drive at the Kruger.

The owner - Chris - is a truly welcoming and funny guy. Be sure to read the book in your room that explains the features/etc of the hotel. Hilarious. We enjoyed chatting with Chris over drinks a few of the nights we were there, and we enjoyed chatting with the other guests. It seems like the Rissington attracts nice people who are fun to chat with, but who don't get all up in your business.

I forgot to mention that the location is good - close to town if you want to buy some snacks, close to the Kruger so getting up early for the safari isn't quite as painful, close to the Blyde River Canyon for when you want to do that drive or go rafting. All in all, a perfect location.

We miss the Rissington, and we sooo wish we could come back.... maybe in a few years. What a great place!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank seawall77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dakar, Senegal
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

Excellent food and service. Helpful staff. It was big more expensive than I wanted pay, but well worth the extra money.

Our one and only complaint was how they took our booking. We confirmed our dates after receiving their availability. However, within an hour they were already booked for the second date and could not honor our "confirmation". Beware Easter is busy season and book early!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bjcameron11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerRissington, Owner at Rissington Inn, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Hi there and thanks for the review. I am so glad that you enjoyed your time with us at Rissington so much and I am sorry if there was any confusion over the booking process. We are very busy for much of the year and, as with all similar establishments, we generally require a written undertaking and, more often than not, a deposit in order to confirm a direct booking. I hope you can manage another stay sooner or later. And, as you say, book early to avoid disappointment! All the best. Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

Why did we not make a stop @ Rissington Inn before, well we are the only one to blame... we will certainly be back for another visit when our tours brings us near Hazeyview again.
Can only recommend the Garden rooms, large, well appointed, lovely patio.
The food is excellent and plentifull.
Thank you to the host and team for making this a memorable stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HaChSo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

After reading a few rteviews about Rissington Inn , I was concernedf it might be rather mediocre - not at all- it is a beautiful place and more like a 5 star hotel- evrything is thoughtfully provided and the service is wonderful. We had a Garden suiye overlooking a beautiful lawned area - the room was large and the outside shower was a great treat . They had thought of everything in the room including home-made cookies and even sent us on our jorney with complimentary shot glasses and a bottle of port. I can'r recommend Rissington highly enough.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jvan186298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hazyview hotels
1.9 mi away
Hippo Hollow Country Estate
2.4 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview
1.4 mi away
Perry's Bridge Hollow
Perry's Bridge Hollow
#2 of 12 in Hazyview
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Summerfields Rose Retreat & Spa
0.7 mi away
Hotel Numbi & Garden Suites
13.6 mi away
Sabie River Bush Lodge
Sabie River Bush Lodge
#3 of 40 in Hazyview
4.5 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rissington Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rissington Inn

Property: Rissington Inn
Address: Route R40 | 2 km South of Hazyview, Hazyview 1242, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Hazyview
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 40 Specialty Lodging in Hazyview
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rissington Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable, award-winning country lodge. Stylish, relaxed and informal. A la carte restaurant, open 7 days. Superb food. Fully licensed bar. Colourful gardens. All rooms have own bathrooms, fridges, ceiling fans, air-conditioning, private entrances, verandahs and breathtaking views. Garden Suites and Hillside Suites have hammocks or daybeds. Cheerful, attentive hospitality. Swimming pool and walks down the valley. Spectacular birds and game sightings.On the Panorama Route and 10 minutes from the Kruger National Park. Golf, riding and a host of activities nearby. Rissington Inn - Exceeding expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Evoline ltd and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Rissington Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rissington Hotel Hazyview
Rissington Inn Hazyview, South Africa - Mpumalanga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing