We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable and convenient”
Review of Kruger Park Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kruger Park Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Orlando, FL
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Comfortable and convenient”
Reviewed July 16, 2010

Stayed here for 5 days in a 3-bed, 3-bath timeshare with daily maid service. The location, just outside Hazyview and 10 minutes from the new gate into Kruger Park, was very convenient and the house was very comfortable. We cooked most of our own meals, either in the kitchen or on the grill (bring your own charcoal), but there is a restaurant and bar on site and plenty of restaurants/bars in the town. Try The Brewery at Perry's Bridge: good beer and excellent food. There are two supermarkets in the shopping center in Hazyview, just 5 minutes away. On Tuesday night, the Lodge offered a bring-your-own BBQ for an amazing $8 US per person: we brought our own meat and wine, and they provided soup, salad, veggies, bread, dessert , entertainment and a roaring open fire. Yes, they do have guard dogs on patrol at night but this was for our protection and did not worry us; we felt very safe there. However, be sure to lock the doors when you leave, and lock your valuables in the safe provided in the house. Impalas roam the beautiful grounds and there are hippos in the lake. Several hiking trails along the river and around the golf course offer stimulating exercise, and there's a swimming pool next to the clubhouse. The only disappointment of our stay was the driver/guide to Kruger Park whom we booked through the Lodge for a morning drive; he was disinterested and did a poor job of spotting wildlife. It's better to book one of the guided tours at Kruger Park itself; we pre-booked one of the night tours there with a park ranger and it was superb -- we saw 4 of the Big 5 in 3 hours, including a pride of lions. If you have the time, take a drive to God's Window and the Blyde River Canyon: wonderful sights. Overall, we were very satisfied with our stay at Kruger Park Lodge.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JJ_Orlando_FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davidlieb, General Manager at Kruger Park Lodge, responded to this review, August 4, 2010
Dear JJ_Orlando_FL

Thank you very much for the very positive comments. We do understand the importance of a profesionally conducted tour to the Kruger Park as a part of a holiday itinerary, and to that end we have requested our service provider to review the competency of their guides and to provide further training if needed. We wish you happy travels for the future and hope to welcome you to Kruger Park Lodge again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    162
    42
    15
    9
See reviews for
255
84
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2010

The house is amazing and well equiped. The location is fantastic! Close to Kruger Park and all the top attractions in the area.
Book direct on the Cambalala website, very good service!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mongoose-traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nagpur
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2010

Kruger park Lodge was an amazing experience for our family. We stayed there on timeshare basis for a week where we really got to explore the area around. Kruger Park Lodge is very well located, very close(about 12 kms) from the Phabeni gate of the Kruger National park. There was a shopping mall where we ended spending quite some time. Also there is a Debonairs Pizza place where we packed some realy good pizza. Hazyview, though a small town has loads to offer in and around like Hot air ballooning, a Snake park( they had quite some varities of snakes there), also a few adventure camps close by offering kloofing, cayaking, quad biking(1 hour-amazing experience), etc,etc

We had been appointed a 3 bedroom villa with a kitchen and a living room. There would be a maid who would clean the room daily. The rooms were very cozy and warm(it was cold at night). The kruger Park lodge was a great place for us to stay at and enjoy the forest of Kruger National Park.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank punanch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davidlieb, General Manager at Kruger Park Lodge, responded to this review, June 1, 2010
Dear punanch. Thank you very much for taking the time to review our resort and for your positive comments. Hazyview and its surrounds does have a lot to offer and we are pleased that your exploration of the area was so productive. We wish you many safe journeys and hope that you will return to our resort in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2009

Kruger Park Lodge has a 9 hole golf course and excellent accommodation. I don't play golf but had a very enjoyable stay. The staff were helpful and there is a modern shopping centre nearby. There are also plenty of places to eat at very reasonable prices. Watch carefully when at ATMs - my card was skimmed and they took A$20K in two days. End of Aug/Sep is the best time for weather and no mozzies. Felt secure at all times - but this wasn't Johannesburg.

Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank EeahPoppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davidlieb, General Manager at Kruger Park Lodge, responded to this review, June 1, 2010
Dear EeahPoppy. Thank you for the positive comments and taking time to review our resort. The safety and security of our guests is our greatest priority and I am very pleased that you did feel secure at all times. Wishing you safe travels and hoping to welcome you back to resort in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2009

We stayed for 4 nights at Kruger Park Lodge, a 4 star golf resort about 10k;s away from Kruger National Park.

We stayed at one of the semi detached thatched cottages called CAMBALALA whom i found on the internet.

The accomodation is well maintained and is fully equipped for upto 7-8 guests including children. This was perfect for our group comprising of 4 adults and 3 children.

The accomodation comprised of a lounge that opens upto a terrace with a bbq area. A fully equiped kitchen with fridge, freezer, washing machine/dryer and all the pots and pans one would need for home cooking.

Every bedroom is air conditioned with hairdryers and various extras that one expects from a 4 star hotel, and the upstairs bedroom even had its own living area with sofa and tv.

The standards of this accomodation is simply first class. Its a 5STAR property in a 4STAR resort and Raymond the owner of Cambalala excelently handled the booking right from the word go.

I am already making plans to go at the end of next year and would definately book Cambalala again!

Some might say it is a little expensive but considering everything is catered for i would say this is good value for a family of 5 to 8. You can choose to cook, bbq at Cambalala or treat yourself to the Kruger Parke Lodge restaurant. We decided to make use the of the BBQ facilities and were most impressed.

Thank you Raymond!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ozayr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2009

Kruger Park Lodge was a great location for us to enjoy sight-seeing and Kruger Park. We spent two weeks in a 3 bed/3 bath unit through RCI timeshare. The unit was spacious, well-furnished and convenient to everything we wanted to see and do. The units were cleaned daily and left immaculate! When we were at the resort, our kids (ages 8 & 14) enjoyed all of the recreational activities at KPL - miniature golf, swimming pool, trampoline, table tennis, etc. Our only disappointment was with the restaurant - the selection was poor, price was expensivie, and sevice was slow. We only ate there one evening, but enjoyed many other meals at near-by restaurants (Ant and Elephant was our favorite - the kids loved "Tanks" an outdoor sports bar/restaurant with a great menu, inexpensive prices AND a pool table where they could play pool while waiting for dinner.
We enjoyed a varie vacation - Many days at Kruger Park where we saw the "Big Five" on our first full day in the Park. We also did a lot of sight-seeing and discovered that S. Africa is absolutely beautiful! We enjoyed the Panoramic Route, Bourkes' Pot Holes, Pilgrim's Rest and many beautiful waterfalls. One of our best days was spent at the Elephant Sanctuary where we actually got to ride elephants bareback and enjoy a beautiful sunset, complete with "sundowners". We also went to the Sudola Caves, Jane Goodell's chimpanzee rehabilitation center and spent two nights at the Pezula Tree House Lodge where we actually did sleep in tree houses and went on open-vehicle safari. We enjoyed going to the Shangana Cultural Village and participating in the dinner show there. It was an incredible vacation and one we will remember and cherish forever!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank FloridaReady2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davidlieb, General Manager at Kruger Park Lodge, responded to this review, June 1, 2010
Dear FloridaReady2go. Thank you for taking the time to review our resort and for all the positive comments. The whole restaurant concept is currently being revamped and a change of menu and extensive staff training is resulting in a much improved dining experience for our guests. Thank you for bringing this to our attention and may you have many more safe and incredible travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norfolk
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2009

The directions to the hotel on their websiteare unhelpful. Would be better if road number and correct name of road quoted and other landmarks. Arrived at hotel in dark. Receptionist gave us a plan of resort to help guide us to our chalet. Did'nt offer any othe help. Signage impossible to read especially in the dark. Chalet numbers not illuminated until you are inside chalet! and no numbers on door!! Had to knock on the door of an occupied chalet to get directions.
Our chalet was about one kilometre from restaurant so we had to drive each way. Had hoped chalet would overlook river and wild life but no where near river.
Very basic ,limited menu in restaurant. Meal on first night awful and I left most of mine.
Only poor quality table napkins if you eat at the outside restaurant. Staff surly.
Limited breakfast with no fresh fruit on offer. Meal on second evening when we chose steak and chips as a safe option was OK because the manager was aware our meal on first night was awful. Dessert was'nt worth eating because I expect something more sophisticated for £149 per room per night half board. No fruit or cheese on offer.
Few people at resort and mainly time share owners who seemed not to eat at restaurant .
Our chalet had 3 bedrooms and 3 bathrooms which is a waste for 2 people.
Resort charge extra for use of facilties including swimming pool.
Check out was inefficeint and noone aske if we had enjoyed our 2 night stay. Thankfully it was for no longer than that. If all had been well we would have stayed another night.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank manorfarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hazyview
0.7 mi away
Hippo Hollow Country Estate
4.3 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview
0.9 mi away
Perry's Bridge Hollow
Perry's Bridge Hollow
#1 of 12 in Hazyview
4.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Summerfields Rose Retreat & Spa
22.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate
12.1 mi away
Sabie River Bush Lodge
Sabie River Bush Lodge
#4 of 40 in Hazyview
4.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kruger Park Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kruger Park Lodge

Property: Kruger Park Lodge
Address: PO Box 989 | Hazyview, Hazyview 1242, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Hazyview
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 40 Specialty Lodging in Hazyview
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kruger Park Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kruger Park Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kruger Park Hotel Hazyview
Kruger Park Lodge Hazyview, South Africa - Mpumalanga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing