We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great to visit kruger park”
Review of Kruger Park Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kruger Park Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Stayed at self cater 'block' set on outer edges of the chalets. 2 beds which were clean, organised and laid out. 2 bathrooms, 2 beds, kitchen/sitting room arrangements. Good fixtures and fittings with nice beds. Saw impala, hippos and many insects while dining or BBQ outside on the balcony. Very close to kruger which was great for an early start to do a safari tour (starting at 5.30 am). Close to Perry's Bridge trading post and also supermarkets. Handy and yet quiet and relaxing.
Pain in the neck literally was the sleeping policemen for the speed bumps which are all set at an angle across the roads which are difficult to go over except 1 wheel at a time. After a week these do become annoying. Grounds very well maintained and lovely.
Good standard. Reception/restaurant ok.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 115Tes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (565)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

412 - 418 of 565 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2013

Large,3 and 2 bedroom chalets are well worth staying at. One can self cater ( the chalets have well equipped kitchens and a barbecue ) or eat in the restaurant. The grounds are attractive and there are a number of sports amenities including tennis and golf on a 9 hole Gary Player designed course. Unfortunately this year the greens were in poor shape. There is a great hippo and bird hide and some excellent walks on the property. Very secure and close to shops and many restaurants as well as being only 12km from the Kruger Park Phabeni Gate makes it ideal for a weeks holiday.

Room Tip: Ask for a chalet on the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Francis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Met our expectations. Comfortable and cozy. The place advertises for six but it was a tight squeeze for the five of us. Everything was extremely comfortable and clean but there were only four chairs in the dining room and same with outside. We stayed in 601 and it is far away from almost everything. I found the lay out of the whole place a little confusing, lots of turn offs and little side roads, and the pool was bit of a hike. We loved our first sighting of hippos here at the lodge. Unforgettable experience of driving back to our apartment one evening and a crocodile hanging out in the middle of the road! The manager in reception was extremely accommodating and helpful with car rental mishap. Sunsets gorgeous and location of being outside Krugar unbeatable. We had a broken hot water kettle and they responded and fixed the problem immediately, same with learning how to turn on the TV. We used the self service laundry facilities and they were fine, however a little far from where we were staying and altho on site required driving there. We were on the ground floor but could certainly hear or neighbors activities.

Room Tip: Try to avoid apartments in 600 building. They are way out of the way and look smaller than others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 68Gila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Good quality time share right next to Kruger Park which is great for young families and older couples alike. Not really ideal for teenage kids however, as there was no entertainment organised despite it being private school holidays in August. We loved the venue, but it was just a bit quiet for our teenage kids. Would recommend for older people and families with young kids as there are many amenities to keep them entertained.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janbg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed 3 nights here and loved the chalet. It was clean and spacious 3 bedroom lodge and furnitures were nice n great condition. The location is close to Kruger park, and we did full day game drive. The package came w bf and dinner, and we had braai on the last day which was wonderful.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank totohead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Not that we got to spend much time in the lodge - too busy out on safari! But it was excellent. Large, individual cottages, well equipped with cooking and BBQ (braai) facilities. Our kitchen could have done with a little refurbishment (cracked drawers in fridge - poorly hung cupboard doors, and cracked work surface) - but nothing that really mattered too much! Cleaning was great - they even wash up anything you leave in the sink, and tidy it away! No wifi in the lodges - which was a bit of a nuisance! And it was pricey to use the wifi in the reception area so we didn't bother.
Hippo hide excellent, and lovely to see the impalas round the grounds. Swimming pool a little icy - but we were there late July / early August so it was winter! Would be better if it was heated!
We went as a timeshare exchange through RCI.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UK-janet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We loved our 3 night stay here and wished we could have had longer. The landscaping of the grounds and lodges is stunning, the lodges are spacious and we enjoyed watching the wildlife - impala, hippos, huge variety of birds plus the odd croc. We are not expert golfers but course is lovely (and challenging) - we also enjoyed playing tennis and using the nearby driving range. Staff were friendly and helpful We only had breakfast at the restaurant which was OK and ate out locally in the evenings (Pioneer's Butcher and Grlll does great steaks). There is a lot to explore in the area from the Blyde River Canyon to the Kruger Park . A few very minor issues - wifi in reception was not free, no shower in the second bathroom. But all in all, if it wasn't so far from the UK, we'd be back at this beautiful place regularly!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hazyview hotels
0.7 mi away
Hippo Hollow Country Estate
4.3 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview
0.9 mi away
Perry's Bridge Hollow
Perry's Bridge Hollow
#1 of 12 in Hazyview
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Summerfields Rose Retreat & Spa
3.6 mi away
aha Casa do Sol
aha Casa do Sol
#8 of 12 in Hazyview
312 reviews
5.2 mi away
Aan de Vliet
Aan de Vliet
#5 of 12 in Hazyview
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kruger Park Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kruger Park Lodge

Address: PO Box 989 | Hazyview, Hazyview 1242, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Hazyview
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Hazyview
Price Range: $139 - $337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kruger Park Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kruger Park Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kruger Park Hotel Hazyview
Kruger Park Lodge Hazyview, South Africa - Mpumalanga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing