We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Many Options in a beautiful setting” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kruger Park Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kruger Park Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Knysna, South Africa
Level Contributor
150 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Many Options in a beautiful setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

Large,3 and 2 bedroom chalets are well worth staying at. One can self cater ( the chalets have well equipped kitchens and a barbecue ) or eat in the restaurant. The grounds are attractive and there are a number of sports amenities including tennis and golf on a 9 hole Gary Player designed course. Unfortunately this year the greens were in poor shape. There is a great hippo and bird hide and some excellent walks on the property. Very secure and close to shops and many restaurants as well as being only 12km from the Kruger Park Phabeni Gate makes it ideal for a weeks holiday.

Room Tip: Ask for a chalet on the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Francis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    157
    39
    14
    8
See reviews for
241
81
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Teaneck, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

Met our expectations. Comfortable and cozy. The place advertises for six but it was a tight squeeze for the five of us. Everything was extremely comfortable and clean but there were only four chairs in the dining room and same with outside. We stayed in 601 and it is far away from almost everything. I found the lay out of the whole place a little confusing, lots of turn offs and little side roads, and the pool was bit of a hike. We loved our first sighting of hippos here at the lodge. Unforgettable experience of driving back to our apartment one evening and a crocodile hanging out in the middle of the road! The manager in reception was extremely accommodating and helpful with car rental mishap. Sunsets gorgeous and location of being outside Krugar unbeatable. We had a broken hot water kettle and they responded and fixed the problem immediately, same with learning how to turn on the TV. We used the self service laundry facilities and they were fine, however a little far from where we were staying and altho on site required driving there. We were on the ground floor but could certainly hear or neighbors activities.

Room Tip: Try to avoid apartments in 600 building. They are way out of the way and look smaller than others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 68Gila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartbeespoort, South Africa
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

Good quality time share right next to Kruger Park which is great for young families and older couples alike. Not really ideal for teenage kids however, as there was no entertainment organised despite it being private school holidays in August. We loved the venue, but it was just a bit quiet for our teenage kids. Would recommend for older people and families with young kids as there are many amenities to keep them entertained.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janbg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed 3 nights here and loved the chalet. It was clean and spacious 3 bedroom lodge and furnitures were nice n great condition. The location is close to Kruger park, and we did full day game drive. The package came w bf and dinner, and we had braai on the last day which was wonderful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank totohead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, England
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

Not that we got to spend much time in the lodge - too busy out on safari! But it was excellent. Large, individual cottages, well equipped with cooking and BBQ (braai) facilities. Our kitchen could have done with a little refurbishment (cracked drawers in fridge - poorly hung cupboard doors, and cracked work surface) - but nothing that really mattered too much! Cleaning was great - they even wash up anything you leave in the sink, and tidy it away! No wifi in the lodges - which was a bit of a nuisance! And it was pricey to use the wifi in the reception area so we didn't bother.
Hippo hide excellent, and lovely to see the impalas round the grounds. Swimming pool a little icy - but we were there late July / early August so it was winter! Would be better if it was heated!
We went as a timeshare exchange through RCI.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UK-janet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorking, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

We loved our 3 night stay here and wished we could have had longer. The landscaping of the grounds and lodges is stunning, the lodges are spacious and we enjoyed watching the wildlife - impala, hippos, huge variety of birds plus the odd croc. We are not expert golfers but course is lovely (and challenging) - we also enjoyed playing tennis and using the nearby driving range. Staff were friendly and helpful We only had breakfast at the restaurant which was OK and ate out locally in the evenings (Pioneer's Butcher and Grlll does great steaks). There is a lot to explore in the area from the Blyde River Canyon to the Kruger Park . A few very minor issues - wifi in reception was not free, no shower in the second bathroom. But all in all, if it wasn't so far from the UK, we'd be back at this beautiful place regularly!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
66 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

The chalet that we stayed in had ample accommodation for the two families that made up our group.

Downstairs we had two bedrooms, one with a queen bed and the other with two singles. Upstairs consisted of a large loft room that had two single beds, a double bunk bed and a cot, plus a day bed/couch.

The estate is beautiful and child-friendly. There are impala and monkeys that move around freely and are a huge hit with the kids.

There are also a restaurant, swimming pools and and equipment available for the guests to utilise.

It really is a superb place to stay, so close to the Kruger National Park (12km to the nearest park entrance).

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hazyview hotels
1.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview
0.7 mi away
Hippo Hollow Country Estate
3.4 mi away
Summerfields Rose Retreat & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Perry's Bridge Hollow
Perry's Bridge Hollow
#3 of 12 in Hazyview
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Numbi & Garden Suites
12.5 mi away
Sabie River Bush Lodge
Sabie River Bush Lodge
#4 of 43 in Hazyview
4.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kruger Park Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kruger Park Lodge

Property: Kruger Park Lodge
Address: PO Box 989 | Hazyview, Hazyview 1242, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Hazyview
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 43 Specialty Lodging in Hazyview
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kruger Park Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Kruger Park Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kruger Park Hotel Hazyview
Kruger Park Lodge Hazyview, South Africa - Mpumalanga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing