We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“warning ! robbed and no one cared.”
Review of Kruger Park Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kruger Park Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
aylesbury
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“warning ! robbed and no one cared.”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

WARNING!!!! AVOID AT ALL COSTS. We were robbed badly here in March 2012 and although they admitted that their security had failed ( NOT FOR THE FIRST TIME I MIGHT ADD) and it was a former staff member they did nothing to compensate us except offer free nights which was totally unnacceptable. the manager , david, even stated in one of our many e mails that they have a major problem with armed intruders!!!!!!!!!! I AM NOT EXAGGERATING WHEN I SAY YOU WOULD BE TAKING YOUR LIFE AND PROPERTY IN YOUR OWN HANDS BY STAYING HERE!!!! AVOID IT AT ALL COSTS.

Room Tip: do not even consider it, way too risky!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank dormer51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davidlieb, General Manager at Kruger Park Lodge, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Dormer51

I do understand the concerns and inconvenience the incident in March 2012 caused you and apologise once again that you had to have this unfortunate experience. I do agree that I had mentioned to you that prior to your stay there had been some well publicised instances of armed robbery in the area. I must however reiterate that none of these incidents occurred on our resort and we have never had any instances of our guests being threatened by armed robbers. We are constantly upgrading our security and can confidently state that we have done everything possible to ensure the safety of our guests on the resort. The incident you experienced was perpetrated, as you correctly point out, by a former member of staff of one of our contractors, who had an inside knowledge of the resort and saw an opportunity to enter an unoccupied chalet. This person has been identified through the work done by our security department and the police and he is currently being sought in this regard. The police are also cognisant of the sensitivity of these issues and have concentrated resources in the area to resolve this issue.

The safety and security of our guests is, and will remain our highest priority and I do apologise that this incident has created the impression for you that no one cared. I do again extend my sincere apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    162
    42
    15
    9
See reviews for
255
84
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durban South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Stayed for 4 nights in a 6 sleeper chalet. Was impressed with the quality of the chalets and the resort. Pool was excellent. Aswell as the comfort of the place. Very close to the kruger park. Will def go again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mamotala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davidlieb, General Manager at Kruger Park Lodge, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear mamotala

Thank you for the positive comments. We have had a spectacular summer and I am very happy that you enjoyed the resort and our facilities.

Looking forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballito, South Africa
Level Contributor
62 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Just spent 2 weeks in one of the 8 sleeper chalets. This particular unit had stained, dirty sofas that were most uncomfortable - to the point of being unusable. The same could be said for the pine furniture dining table chairs. The curtains were frayed, the carpets dirty and the ancient airconditioning units were noisy and ran at one speed. No internet service is available in the rooms!
The upside is that the estate is clean and well maintained, but do not try the resident restaurant called Rapids. The food, like the accommodation is dated and mostly awful - created and designed in the 1970's and remains in a time warp. This is the 21st century - the accommodation, food and mindset of this place needs a wakeup call. Will not be back

Room Tip: I believe some rooms have been renovated - but not sure which ones. The fact that there might be upg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claudio F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davidlieb, General Manager at Kruger Park Lodge, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Claudio F

The chalet in which you stayed was scheduled for refurbishment has now been taken out of our rental pool to be upgraded. I do apologise for the inconvenience you experienced due to this and the quality at the restaurant. We are also working with the restaurant owners to improve this area. I will be in contact to try and resolve this issue and do hope that you would consider returning to the resort to truly experience what we have to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasov, Romania
Level Contributor
246 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2012

I spent only two days since I took a longer circuit in South Africa.
A very good location for week end or holliday with familly or with friends.
A lot of possibility to spend.
Friendly staff, but everyone is moving very slowly for a rush tourist.
It hasn't rooms for smokers.
No internet connection.
No forget: visit Kruger Park.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adi035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davidlieb, General Manager at Kruger Park Lodge, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear adoi035

We have made most of the rooms non-smoking as they all have patios outside and it is quite difficult to remove the smoke smell from the room fabrics. We do have internet connectivity and are currently improving this service.

I do hope to welcome you back to the resort in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2012

Think again... Had money stolen from my bag while out on safari. When i reported to the security manager he advised this was second case against the cleaner who did our house and simply put he said " you will never see that again". They promised to call in a day or two and three weeks later still nothing. Stay elsewhere

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Desy77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davidlieb, General Manager at Kruger Park Lodge, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear Desy77

We do take issues such as these very seriously as the prevelance of crime in tourism, internationally is becoming a major concern. It is due to this that we provide an electronic safe in all our chalets and notify our guests to be security conscious. We also do investigate all incidents fully to the inclusion of polygraph tests and police assistance. The security of our guests are a priority and we have improved our resort security measures to the extent that incidents such as these are almost eradicated. Unfortunately no measures are completely foolproof and I do apologise for the inconvenience you experienced. We will continue to investigate this incident and I do also apologise for the comments from the security company manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midrand, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Kruger Park Lodge has a beautiful and peaceful atmosphere. The chalets are spacious, and very well kept. We liked the fact that the neighbours were a good distance away. Accommodation is excelelnt, and deserves all the stars.

The biggest let down was the food - the breakfast was awful. This was made worse by the pricing structure. While you pay a fixed rate for a buffet breakfast, you find when you have to pay that all those cups of coffee you had cost an extra R15 a cup. The juice costs an extra R18. Honestly, if I were the Legacy group I would change the catering arrangements very quickly because they give an otherwise excellent establishment a very bad name. Frontline restaurant staff were okay though.

Apart from the food, I'd recommend Kruger Park Lodge to anyone. It's simply exquisite! Stay there, but eat out or do self-catering

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeeEf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davidlieb, General Manager at Kruger Park Lodge, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear GeeEf

Thank you for the positive comments. I will resolve the issues you experienced in the restaurant and hope to welcome you back to the resort soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We love this place and just keep going back year after year. Never disappointed. Definately take the time to visit the Hippo's and play a round of golf. Lot's for the children to do. Great walks along the river. Wonderful relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andree2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davidlieb, General Manager at Kruger Park Lodge, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear Andree2011

Thank you for the comments and we look forward to seeing you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hazyview
0.7 mi away
Hippo Hollow Country Estate
4.3 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview
0.9 mi away
Perry's Bridge Hollow
Perry's Bridge Hollow
#1 of 12 in Hazyview
4.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Summerfields Rose Retreat & Spa
22.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate
12.1 mi away
Sabie River Bush Lodge
Sabie River Bush Lodge
#3 of 40 in Hazyview
4.5 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kruger Park Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kruger Park Lodge

Property: Kruger Park Lodge
Address: PO Box 989 | Hazyview, Hazyview 1242, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Hazyview
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 40 Specialty Lodging in Hazyview
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kruger Park Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kruger Park Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kruger Park Hotel Hazyview
Kruger Park Lodge Hazyview, South Africa - Mpumalanga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing