We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We keep going back, year after year” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kruger Park Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kruger Park Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“We keep going back, year after year”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

We love this place and just keep going back year after year. Never disappointed. Definately take the time to visit the Hippo's and play a round of golf. Lot's for the children to do. Great walks along the river. Wonderful relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andree2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davidlieb, General Manager at Kruger Park Lodge, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear Andree2011

Thank you for the comments and we look forward to seeing you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    157
    39
    14
    8
See reviews for
241
81
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bern
Level Contributor
113 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

The individual villa concept of the Lodge is a relly good idea. On the first sight everything looked nice, but on the second we saw that our villa was not very well maitained. Restaurant: medium to low level. Unfortunately somehow chaotic and untrained staff. Overpriced

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CH_FreqTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davidlieb, General Manager at Kruger Park Lodge, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear CH_FreqTraveller

The chalets on the resort are of different categories and some are also privately owned. The chalets managed and maintained by the resort are certified as four star and I do apologise that your experience did not seem to be of this standard. I will certainly ensure that this is checked and the necessary improvements done immediately.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pompano Beach, Florida
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

Nice place and grounds. Old appliances. Bug problem could be because its in the woods. The worst is they charge $6.00 USD per hour to use the internet in their lobby and fight mosquitoes to use the internet. If you are an international traveler that depends on the internet to accomplish things....stay away.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterR1040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davidlieb, General Manager at Kruger Park Lodge, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear PeterR1040

We are currently improving our internet connectivity and this should be completed soon. You are also correct with regard to the higher than average occurence of insects. This is due to our bush location and the sub-tropical climate. The vast majority of these are however quite benign.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
88 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

Friend booked a long weekend and invited us to join them. The amenities and surroundings are superb with the unit we stayed in very pleasant except for an odor in the second bedroom which was perhaps caused by a child and bed wetting. Despite reporting it and been visited only on Sunday after 2 nights there, nothing was done about it. Hence I would visit the resort again this did spoil an otherwise perfect weekend. This is not the normal service I expect from Legacy hotels so this was my only complaint. Other than this the resort is superb but unfortunately let itself down by not addressing our complaints timeously. The amenities are excellent as is the pool area and proximity to the Kruger park. The golf shop well stocked and the impala buck walking around is most pleasant.

Room Tip: Golf is available and it is excellent for family holidays. Very safe and secure, with mozzi netting...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DennisRogers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davidlieb, General Manager at Kruger Park Lodge, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear DennisRogers

I do apologise for the inconvenience you experienced. I have investigated this issue and have taken steps to ensure that complaints of this nature is dealt with timeously and effectively. I am very glad that this did not completely overshadow your enjoyment of the resort and hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

Situated close to the Kruger National Park, relaxing and peacful. If you are into a round of Golf, take on the Gary Player designed course. Rooibok wildlife can be spotted in and around the Golf course. The Hippo's can be spotted from the Hippo Hide. Friendly and helpful staff and good food at the Rapids Restaurant. A visit to Perry's Bridge close by is a must. You can also easlily hop in and out of the National Park to spot the various wildlife on display. Chalets are pretty spacious and kept neat and clean.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johanmun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davidlieb, General Manager at Kruger Park Lodge, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear Johanmun

Thank you for the great comments. We are very fortunate that nature plays such a big part of the attractions of the resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

My family came from Holland and we all stayed at the Kruger Park Lodge (timeshare). It was my second visit. They loved it, enjoyed playing golf and of course so close to the Phabeni Gate. Beautiful well kept grounds and a very comfortable lodge. On Tuesday we were invited for tea and scones with the staff which was lovely. We had quite a bit of rain and wanted to leave early on the Friday morning after breakfast which was supposed to be from 7 am. Unfortunately nothing was ready so we had to leave at 7.30 am. A great stay was had by all and I will definitely return again. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davidlieb, General Manager at Kruger Park Lodge, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Susan G

I will definitely check into why breakfast was delayed and apologise for any inconvenience you experienced. We have had some good rains so far and everything seems to be growing out of its skin (including our Impala. We are now in the lambing season and have had eight new births), hence the really good condition of the golf course and grounds. Thank you for sharing your positive comments with us and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london, UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

We first stayed at this resort in 1996 and have returned every year from UK since then. The big draw for us is the location only a few km from the Phabeni Gate into Kruger National Park. There are beautifully maintained gardens and of course the golf course, and the units are extremely well maintained, with lovely views over the golf course or the river.
After a couple of dry and dusty weeks staying in the huts in Kruger Park itself, it is a lovely end to our holiday to spend a week at Kruger Park Lodge, with a choice of 3 swimming pools, 4 tennis courts, and a nice bar and restaurant for a bit of relaxation. The staff are very friendly and welcoming, especially Elizabeth on the Place of Rock desk who arranges exciting day trips to nearby game reserves and local attractions. She always greets us like long lost friends on our return trips.
Another attraction is the tuesday night 'Bring and Braai' evening where you can have a delicious dinner beside the roaring rapids of the Sabie River, accompanied by some beautiful African singing from the school children in the local village . You can cook your own food over the coals, or one of the resort staff will be only too happy to step in and rescue your steaks from a premature cremation!
There are plenty of shops in Hazyview for food and souvenirs, and several nice restaurants if you fancy a bit of a change from the resort. All in all, I'd say that the fact we have visited every year for the past 17 years indicates how much we love Kruger Park Lodge!

Room Tip: Try and book a river view unit
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wonnielondon_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davidlieb, General Manager at Kruger Park Lodge, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Wonnielondon_UK

Seventeen years of visits does indeed say it all. I am very pleased that we have been able to maintain or improve on our standards over this time, and look forward to welcoming you back again next year. I will pass on your comments to Elizabeth and the rest of the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hazyview hotels
1.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview
0.7 mi away
Hippo Hollow Country Estate
3.4 mi away
Summerfields Rose Retreat & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Perry's Bridge Hollow
Perry's Bridge Hollow
#3 of 12 in Hazyview
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Numbi & Garden Suites
12.5 mi away
Sabie River Bush Lodge
Sabie River Bush Lodge
#4 of 43 in Hazyview
4.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kruger Park Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kruger Park Lodge

Property: Kruger Park Lodge
Address: PO Box 989 | Hazyview, Hazyview 1242, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Hazyview
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 43 Specialty Lodging in Hazyview
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kruger Park Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Kruger Park Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kruger Park Hotel Hazyview
Kruger Park Lodge Hazyview, South Africa - Mpumalanga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing