We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice,but without the feeling of the bush.”
Review of Kruger Park Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kruger Park Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Pretoria .South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice,but without the feeling of the bush.”
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We stayed at one of the chalets from the resort during a week end .The location is quite convenient if you are willing to be close to one of the Kruger Park Gates and not to be into the Park at the same time. However, this position has, for us, a draw back. You do not feel close to the bush .You can see a big shopping mall from some areas of the resort, what, for me, spoils the magic of being at the doorstep of the Kruger National Park. Even if you do not look to that mall, you see gardens and a golf course but not bush.

The units (chalets) are well maintained but they really need a serious upgrade. They have the same style and furniture dating from when the resort was open, around 18 years ago.
The chalets are very close one to the other and the feeling is like being in a neighborhood with lots, but lots of houses that look quite alike.
Everything was clean and the staff was friendly. We went to the restaurant just for breakfast .It was a buffet with variety but not high quality; very average.

The resort is graded 4 stars, but in my opinion, knowing many resorts in South Africa, this is a 3 stars and a plus .Not more than that. Kind of expensive for what it is .

Room Tip: The chalets facing the river are more private and with a nicer atmosphere but they don't have an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lilian64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    173
    45
    15
    9
See reviews for
278
88
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shell Beach, California
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Three of us stayed for a week while we did day trips to Kruger Park and the surrounding area. Great central location and wonderful accomodations. We did an RCI exchange and were not dissappointed. Got some amazing hippo photos from their hippo hide! Hoping to win the photo contest and get a free stay here!!! Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Erinsam42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
235 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2012

Its expensive to stay here but boy is it worth it. Luxury rooms looking out over a private golf course and a hippo pool within 5 minutes walk. Easy access to the park for those early morning game drives. The lodges are the best value and whole families can stay. BBQ or "brai" facilities are provided but watch out for the monkeys because they'll steal your food!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alan1Bangor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, India
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2012

we saw all big five in kruger national park. leopard was the best hanging on the tree. also lion with the kill.This resort located in haze view near kruger national park. it has golf course. we stayed there from 14th may 2012 to 18th may 2012.we got lovely cottage in that there was living room, kitchen, two bedroom one had attach bathroom one was common n back yard was very nice they had barbecue . we are vegetarian so we cooked all four days of our stay . we rent a car from Johannesburg with gprs system so in 5 n half hour the road were so good.we reached to the resort. they was grossery store just walking distance of 10 minutes from the resort but advisable to take car beacause from your room to main gate is too far. resort people are very friendly we took night safari we saw many animals in the night also lioness n three cubs crossing road it was really very exiting tour. there are hippos in the river you can go and see from the golf deck.but they make lots of noise.

Room Tip: we had no 23 which were front side was road and back it was river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Falgun18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2012

Was very nice and very close to the kruger park. The resort itself was very nice. But the units need a major style upgrade/revamp. I was there around 10 years ago, and the unit was exactly the same... very old, lots of insects (which was expected). we were booked in for a week, but only stayed 4 days... The kruger park itself was very nice, we saw lots of animals.
There are plenty of shops and places to eat all around, so was well positioned. It was a very average resort...

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PrasheenJohannesburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We stayed at the Kruger Park Lodge for 5 nights and wished we had been able to stay longer as it really was very good. The checking in process was quick and easy with friendly staff and our accomodation was superb - a large house with all mod-cons (satelite TV, washing machine, dishwasher etc) and, best of all, a large deck overlooking the river at the back of the house. The premises were very secure and beautifully landscaped with a superb golf-course (only manged four holes) and tennis courts (beaten by my 13 yo son) several swimming pools and lots of kids activities. There were 15 hippos in residence to be viewed from the Hippo hide and lots of boks around the grounds, we did not test the resteraunt onsite.The KPL was only 30 minutes drive from the Kruger Park itself and also close to other attractions such as Pilgrim's Rest, God's Window etc. Just outside the gates were a shopping center and many good resteraunts (recommend Pioneers) I have no hesitation on recommending the Kruger Park Lodge for a good family holiday

Room Tip: Any backing onto the river seem to offer the best views and privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ric399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abu dhabi
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2012

We arrived at the resort after a 6 hour drive from Joburg. It was an easy check in and the staff were willing to assist as they could. No wifi in the units here you have to pay 50 Z Rand for each hour of wifi in the lobby. Going to the unit we had high hopes as there were luxurious villas in the resort and we could only hope for something in this category. Unfortunately no RCI units were in this range and we were put to a villa divided into 4 units in the back corner of the resort. Two tiny bedrooms with just the basics, mould in the older washrooms, a 20 inch old-fashioned tv made for a downmarket feel to the place with stuccoed walls on the inside. Further arborite countertops, garbage can in the kitchen that did not work. This was not a desirable resort per my 17 year old resort and we would not stay here again. The hippo pool and the swimming pools on the property were great although the swimming pool was not that clean and a little cool for us to use. WE ate at the restaurant one morning and the food was fine. No kingsize beds and the beds are just very basic.

Room Tip: Make sure you get one of the villas
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank janetinabudhabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hazyview
0.7 mi away
Hippo Hollow Country Estate
4.3 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview
1.4 mi away
Sabi River Sun Resort
Sabi River Sun Resort
#3 of 13 in Hazyview
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Perry's Bridge Hollow
Perry's Bridge Hollow
#1 of 13 in Hazyview
353 reviews
22.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate
3.2 mi away
Summerfields Rose Retreat & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kruger Park Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kruger Park Lodge

Property: Kruger Park Lodge
Address: PO Box 989 | Hazyview, Hazyview 1242, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Hazyview
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 39 Specialty Lodging in Hazyview
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kruger Park Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kruger Park Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kruger Park Hotel Hazyview
Kruger Park Lodge Hazyview, South Africa - Mpumalanga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing