We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Generally slick” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sabi River Sun Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sabi River Sun Resort
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Hazyview
Certificate of Excellence
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Generally slick”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

Sabi River is an upmarket destination (you know by the type of cars parked there), located such that you feel like there's no city nearby, just bush. The golf course is obviously the attraction, but being as well manicured as it is, if you want something more rustic, this is not necessarily your raw African experience.

There is a comprehensive plan of activities for the whole family, although we found some of the items a bit under-attended. The big miss activity wise is a putt-putt, so it sometimes felt like we were a bit short of things to do. Keep in mind that the many of the facilities like bowls, tennis, squash, etc, require a payment for use of the equipment, so bring your own if you can.

We had a major TV outage for the whole resort, but I would assume this is not ongoing. Also annoying was the security guards trying to sell golf balls at your flats.

Room Tip: Pretty much all the chalets are identical. Remember to bring your own sports equipment to save the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erichero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

724 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    338
    264
    76
    24
    22
See reviews for
372
186
6
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2014

Sabie River Sun Resort located in Hazy View offered excellent accommodation. Excellent location - close to Kruger Park. Rooms were neat and tidy. There were plenty of activities in and outside the resort.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Shamendra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

Sabie River Timeshare units are extremely comfortable & are kitted out with everything you need for a relaxing weeks holiday. A lovely golf course with reasonable green fees - especially for ladies! Having holidayed at the Resort for the past 25 plus years we have experienced wonderful upgrades - thank you!


  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

We stayed at Sabi River Sun for a week and strongly recommend it. Chalet was newly renovated, very comfortable, clean and quiet. Resort is relaxing and there are many things to do in the area. During our stay resort provided a great entertainment programme. Our son injured himself playing and we received excellent help from the staff and manager as well as the paramedic which the resort has on call.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Glen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
78 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

Our chalet was well-appointed and comfortable with a great view over the adjoining golf course and a short walk to the hippo pool and tennis courts, but far enough away from the hotel so as not to be disturbed by the crowds at the main pool or the bar. Close to Hazyview shops for groceries, sightseeing and the Kruger Park. Ideal for a relaxing family getaway. Only negatives were the noisy microlights overhead and a poorly marked running/cycling track.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014

We recently stayed in the hotel for 4 nights, the rooms were clean and spacious as we were only two, the staff was very friendly and welcoming and the resort is exceptionally well kept.

The menu at the restaurant does not have a big selection however the food was very good, the breakfast buffet had a very nice selection.

There are plenty of activities inside and outside the resort to keep you busy. For those with kids they provide daily entertainment during peak times. Loved the bingo.

Definitely a must..

Room Tip: I would recommend asking for a ground Hotel unit it has easy access to the front lawn
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Celeste_dippenaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

A well run time share resort with beautiful grounds and very good staff.
We did not use the hotel facilities on this occasion but in the past have had good meals in the restaurant.

The golf course is in excellent condition.

We were sad to see so few hippo this year and hope they will be back soon.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Margaret P N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hazyview hotels
0.6 mi away
Hippo Hollow Country Estate
1.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview
2.1 mi away
Summerfields Rose Retreat & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Perry's Bridge Hollow
Perry's Bridge Hollow
#3 of 12 in Hazyview
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Numbi & Garden Suites
2.3 mi away
Casa do Sol
Casa do Sol
#7 of 12 in Hazyview
4.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sabi River Sun Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sabi River Sun Resort

Property: Sabi River Sun Resort
Address: Main Sabie Road, Hazyview 1242, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Hazyview
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Hazyview
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hazyview
#2 Family Hotel in Hazyview
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sabi River Sun Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the banks of the magnificent Sabie River, this gorgeous resort affords travellers easy access to some of the greatest attractions South Africa has to offer. From the Sabie River Sun you will be able to visit the Kruger National Park, God's Window and Pilgrim's Rest to mention but a few. After a day of sightseeing returning to this luxurious resort will be the highlight of your day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Sabi River Sun Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sabi River Sun Lifestyle Hotel Hazyview
Sabi River Sun Hotel
Sabi River Sun Resort Hazyview, South Africa - Mpumalanga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing