We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday bliss”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sabi River Sun Resort
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Hazyview
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Sabie River Timeshare units are extremely comfortable & are kitted out with everything you need for a relaxing weeks holiday. A lovely golf course with reasonable green fees - especially for ladies! Having holidayed at the Resort for the past 25 plus years we have experienced wonderful upgrades - thank you!


  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
1  Thank Elizabeth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (861)
There are newer reviews for Sabi River Sun Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

635 - 641 of 861 reviews

Reviewed April 24, 2014

We stayed at Sabi River Sun for a week and strongly recommend it. Chalet was newly renovated, very comfortable, clean and quiet. Resort is relaxing and there are many things to do in the area. During our stay resort provided a great entertainment programme. Our son injured himself playing and we received excellent help from the staff and manager as well as the paramedic which the resort has on call.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank Glen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Our chalet was well-appointed and comfortable with a great view over the adjoining golf course and a short walk to the hippo pool and tennis courts, but far enough away from the hotel so as not to be disturbed by the crowds at the main pool or the bar. Close to Hazyview shops for groceries, sightseeing and the Kruger Park. Ideal for a relaxing family getaway. Only negatives were the noisy microlights overhead and a poorly marked running/cycling track.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

We recently stayed in the hotel for 4 nights, the rooms were clean and spacious as we were only two, the staff was very friendly and welcoming and the resort is exceptionally well kept.

The menu at the restaurant does not have a big selection however the food was very good, the breakfast buffet had a very nice selection.

There are plenty of activities inside and outside the resort to keep you busy. For those with kids they provide daily entertainment during peak times. Loved the bingo.

Definitely a must..

Room Tip: I would recommend asking for a ground Hotel unit it has easy access to the front lawn
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Celeste_dippenaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014

A well run time share resort with beautiful grounds and very good staff.
We did not use the hotel facilities on this occasion but in the past have had good meals in the restaurant.

The golf course is in excellent condition.

We were sad to see so few hippo this year and hope they will be back soon.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank Margaret P N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2014

The resort is beautiful. The grounds are very well maintained. The place is big, so you can go for a walk in a different part of the resort every day and see new things. You can go for walk, run or cycle. We don't play golf, but enjoyed looking at the golf course and the players. As the chalet is on the course, the views are amazing. We also managed to see a bit of the hippos in the river.

We booked the self catering option. The unit is very spacious. 2 bedrooms with 2 bathrooms and 2 extra beds in the loft. Kitchen had the necessary equipment (apart from coffee making) but we we prepared for that. No hair dryers, but apparently you can get one from housekeeping. Outdoor area is big and we spend most of our time there.
On the negative - no coffee making, no amenities in the bathrooms and the place is not the cleanest. It needs good clean and they must do something about the thatch roof as it messes on the beds and one gets the impression that the linens were not changed. Also in the kitchen - mittens have seen better days and there was no dish washing liquid or soap. Another negative is that the resort did not provide any information about what's available in the resort. There was no menu for the restaurant or any contact number or price list for the spa. Internet was non existent.

The restaurant was not the greatest. We chose the buffet option. It was a bit pricey for what they have to offer. Service is slow, considering most people choose the buffet and they had to bring drinks only.

All in all we had very good time. The area has so much to offer. If management pays attention to the few small things that need to be fixed and make sure that the place is properly cleaned, it will be worth visiting.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ivabella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2014

Very filthy place no cleanliness dirty sheets dirty pillow slips with full of birds dropping will you sleep on it?place is full is dust every where bad showers no water coming basins are cracked is this you call 5 star they don't provide you any shampoo I made a mistake to change from Kruger park lodge to sabie sun

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
3  Thank Imranaslam25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hazyview hotels
0.8 mi away
Hippo Hollow Country Estate
0.5 mi away
Perry's Bridge Hollow
Perry's Bridge Hollow
#1 of 13 in Hazyview
368 reviews
3.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Summerfields Rose Retreat & Spa
2.3 mi away
aha Casa do Sol
aha Casa do Sol
#7 of 13 in Hazyview
298 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Numbi & Garden Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sabi River Sun Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sabi River Sun Resort

Address: Main Sabie Road, Hazyview 1242, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Hazyview
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Hazyview
#2 Family Hotel in Hazyview
#2 Luxury Hotel in Hazyview
Price Range: $185 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sabi River Sun Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the banks of the magnificent Sabie River, this gorgeous resort affords travellers easy access to some of the greatest attractions South Africa has to offer. From the Sabie River Sun you will be able to visit the Kruger National Park, God's Window and Pilgrim's Rest to mention but a few. After a day of sightseeing returning to this luxurious resort will be the highlight of your day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sabi River Sun Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sabi River Sun Lifestyle Hotel Hazyview
Sabi River Sun Hotel
Sabi River Sun Resort Hazyview, South Africa - Mpumalanga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing