We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely spacious chalets”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sabi River Sun Resort
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Hazyview
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely spacious chalets”
Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

My husband I spent one week at Sabi River sun in November as part of our South African vacation. Truthfully, the check in process was somewhat in was underwhelming. We were so excited to arrive and learn about what was available in the area. Instead we were handed her keys given a map and sent on our way. This, definitely needs work! That being said, we found our chalet o be spacious, clean and adequately outfitted for a self
catering unit. The dinners at the restaurant were again best describes adequate. Nothing outstanding, nothing spectacular, just okay. We played three rounds of golf at the golf course and found the value to be quite reasonable. Course was quite lovely and Challenging enough for serious golfers. Nice to sit and have a cold drink apres golf and meet other guests at the resort.
There are a couple of good restaurants in Hazyview (Pioneers) and of course the chalets are located close to the gates of Kruger national Park. The resort is well geared toward families and a nice place to spend a relaxing holiday in driving distance to KNP.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank denisemacd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

749 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    348
    273
    81
    25
    22
See reviews for
387
192
7
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
79 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Located about 40km from Nelspruit..it's an ideal setting with facilities convenient for those traveling with kids. The grounds and facilities are well kept in addition to the quiet surroundings. We stayed in the hotel rooms which are clean but i agree need revamp. The breakfast was good..my only concern is on the Sesonke restaurant whose menu is limited and full of the regular "fast food chain" items. However, one could make use of better eating options at Perry's Bridge corner which is about 2-3km away.

The hotel tries to keep guests occupied especially during weekends with games and activities throughout the day. Beware of "golf caddies" who usually offer you a trip around the hotel grounds at a fee using golf cart---i am not if there are allowed to use hotel equipment for personal benefit :) To get to areas outside the hotel, one would need a vehicle--these include God's Window, Mac Mac falls etc. But in short, Sabi Sun is a great family getway!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Admiral N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SA
Level Contributor
94 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013

What an amazing find and perfect setting. I had a really enjoyable stay here and will be back soon. The self catering chalets are spacious, well kept and over look the golf course or hippo dam. There are so many swimming pools which is a treat from the busy overcrowded usual pool scenario you have. We went for a walk on the golf course and saw Hippos, crocodile and a blue crane. Who needs to go on a safari. It is well situated from the Kruger National park to take a day trip. There is golf, spa, bikes for hire, convenience store, bar and tennis so everyone can do something. The restaurant is a bit disappointing and overpriced I would rather suggest going to eat in town which is only 1 km away.

Room Tip: A self catering option is the best and ask to have one that overlooks the Hippo dam.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaLouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White River, South Africa
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

We were welcomed warmly on our arrival and check in was efficient and fast. The room was lovely and comfortable. The food was excellent as was the service. The staff are all very friendly. The hotel building needs some cosmetic maintenance, but this does not negatively impact on a lovely stay. The gardens are so well maintained.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ockert4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mission viejo
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Hotel needs an update but beds were comfy. Food was just ok.
Overall nothing special except hippo pond which was very entertaining. Stayed two nights and did an early morning guided safari arranged by hotel. That was great! Elephant sanctuary down the road was also very interesting but kind of pricey.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank livinthegdlif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

3 Star at a push but great location for family with small children and golfers. Friendly / helpful staff but rooms small and need refurbishing. Great if you want to spend days lazing in sun around magnificent pool. l

Room Tip: recommend a self catering cottage instead of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JeffW777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

The time spent at Sabi River Sun in Hazyview was a time of relaxing and recharging. The service we received was excellent and the location is amazing. We enjoyed spending time watching the Hippo both in and out of the pool. Bird life is abundant as well. Will recommend the resort any time

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Graham G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hazyview hotels
0.8 mi away
Hippo Hollow Country Estate
0.7 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview
0.0 mi away
Summerfields Rose Retreat & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Perry's Bridge Hollow
Perry's Bridge Hollow
#1 of 12 in Hazyview
306 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Numbi & Garden Suites
2.3 mi away
aha Casa do Sol
aha Casa do Sol
#7 of 12 in Hazyview
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sabi River Sun Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sabi River Sun Resort

Property: Sabi River Sun Resort
Address: Main Sabie Road, Hazyview 1242, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Hazyview
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Hazyview
#2 Family Hotel in Hazyview
#2 Luxury Hotel in Hazyview
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sabi River Sun Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the banks of the magnificent Sabie River, this gorgeous resort affords travellers easy access to some of the greatest attractions South Africa has to offer. From the Sabie River Sun you will be able to visit the Kruger National Park, God's Window and Pilgrim's Rest to mention but a few. After a day of sightseeing returning to this luxurious resort will be the highlight of your day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Travelocity so you can book your Sabi River Sun Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sabi River Sun Lifestyle Hotel Hazyview
Sabi River Sun Hotel
Sabi River Sun Resort Hazyview, South Africa - Mpumalanga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing