We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK is OK”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sabi River Sun Resort
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Hazyview
Certificate of Excellence
vero beach, fl
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“OK is OK”
Reviewed March 15, 2012

Our family of 3 escaped Joburg for a weekend stay late November 2011. We found that the staff and the grounds were nice, while the hotel and the food were average. Upon arrival we settled our belongings into a clean, but standard hotel room with 2 double beds, basic amenities and a small balcony. Drawn to the sweeping golf course and mountain views from the hotel patio, we settled into some comfy chairs for afternoon cocktails and appletisers. Within moments a friendly staffer approached our son (age 10) to invite him for a reptile show-and he was off-joined a gang of kids on the lawn nearby and we all enjoyed the afternoon. Having made new friends, all the kids chose to rent the mountain bikes from the pro shop and spent the entire weekend exploring the resort's golf course, what we call crocodile island and turtle bridge-despite the perpetual grey clouds and mist. It was a safe, open resort and we could see the kids from our room or patio at all times. There were many other activities and the staff even made sure we were well supplied with table tennis balls for our late night family matches. The food was a buffet and was simple and again the staff friendly. There is also an a la carte menu. It seemed there was a mix of families, a wedding and a corporate golf retreat and all seemed to get along amicably. We enjoyed our weekend and would attribute it to the staff, activities for our son and the grounds.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jofriday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

831 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    387
    305
    88
    27
    24
See reviews for
439
206
8
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed February 21, 2012

We have timeshare at Sabi River Sun, and every year that we have been there, we have never been disappointed. It is so peaceful and relaxing, a fantastic getaway. It feels like a second home to me! Thanks to everyone of the staff that makes it an awesome experience all the time:)

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 0Nadia0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2012

When we drove in through the entrance to this hotel we thought this is going to be great! Lovely sweeping drive, very pleasant exterior and grounds (set within a lush golf course) which were really wonderful. This all eased when we got to the room, which was very average. Clean but very plain. Limird sir conditioning.

The food was simply… average. The buffet on offer quite poor, but what passed for an a la care, of pizza and burgers and the like ok. The staff, however, were terrific, friendly, jolly and helpful. Drink reasonably priced. A mixed bag therefore. We were only there for one night which together with the birds in the grounds and the opportunity to see the hotels own hippos was really very nice. Lovely stroll in the gardens in the morning. Breakfast more than adequate. There is a nice, but smallish, pool and a bar set alongside – very pleasant.

This hotel isn’t earth shattering, but neither is it awful. For a few nights it would be great – especially if you had access to one of the lodges in the grounds rather than the hotel rooms we had. Very limited on site shop – if you were self catering in one of the lodges not good enough, but you do have the hotel restaurant to fall back on. Perfect for our needs, but not for a prolonged stay.

Room Tip: Seemed all the same!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank severus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2012

It was for me, a once in a lifetime experience. My wife and I travelled from Jo'burg to stay at this complex, we are both golfers. The stay was wonderful in every respect. It is so close to the Kruger Game Reserve too; I can't fault it other than to say that it needs a revamp.

The golf course is OK too; not fantastic, but a good test.

I would love to go there again.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BobbyDuce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 12, 2012

Our first visit to the area was filled with excitement and a whole lot of curiosity. As we drove in into the resort, the sun was setting giving beautiful views by the fountain at the entrance. Being away from the concrete jungle of Jozi, we were surrounded by a beautiful green golf course and hearing the sounds of the Hippo's as we sat on the balcony through the night. We loved it all. I am not going to mention the drive to the panoramic route because I do not have words to describe the beauty of the place.
I already have a colleague who saw my pictures and booked her holiday right away. She was lucky to get the room in the hotel for this coming Easter! I am sure to return.

Room Tip: The rooms that are facing teh pool gives you a nice view during the day & @ night
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Molly327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JHB
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2012

We recently spent a weekend at this resort staying in one of the chalets. Accomodation was a superb self catering unit sleeping 6. Patio and braai area overlooking the hippo dam. Could hear and see the hippos playing and 100's of birds especially early morning and early evening. Also played a round of golf. The course is very forgiving and have lovely views of the river and dams. Would definitely recommend Sabi River Sun Lifestyle resort. We stayed in chalets so I cannot comment on the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lulu_Twakkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

We stayed here for a week in a lovely two bedroom, two bath, loft chalet. The chalet was extremely comfortable with a kitchen and lounge area. The patio was glorious, overlooking the hippo pond. The resort is impeccably maintained. It has five swimming pools, tennis courts, golf course and much more. There was entertainment for the youngsters. One could choose to escape to beautiful quiet areas and observe the exquisite bird life, or partake in the sociable hub near the hotel. The food offered by the resort restaurant was of a good standard. The staff are extremely professional and will go the extra mile to make ones stay enjoyable. An amazing holiday break for the young and old alike. So proud that SA could offer this calibre get away....and at such good value!

Room Tip: Chalets are located in different areas around the resort, but all have beautiful expansive views of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brianpatterson273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hazyview hotels
0.8 mi away
Hippo Hollow Country Estate
3.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview
0.5 mi away
Perry's Bridge Hollow
Perry's Bridge Hollow
#1 of 13 in Hazyview
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Summerfields Rose Retreat & Spa
1.1 mi away
Hotel Numbi & Garden Suites
2.3 mi away
aha Casa do Sol
aha Casa do Sol
#7 of 13 in Hazyview
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sabi River Sun Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sabi River Sun Resort

Property: Sabi River Sun Resort
Address: Main Sabie Road, Hazyview 1242, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Hazyview
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Hazyview
#2 Luxury Hotel in Hazyview
#2 Family Hotel in Hazyview
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sabi River Sun Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the banks of the magnificent Sabie River, this gorgeous resort affords travellers easy access to some of the greatest attractions South Africa has to offer. From the Sabie River Sun you will be able to visit the Kruger National Park, God's Window and Pilgrim's Rest to mention but a few. After a day of sightseeing returning to this luxurious resort will be the highlight of your day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cancelon, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sabi River Sun Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sabi River Sun Lifestyle Hotel Hazyview
Sabi River Sun Hotel
Sabi River Sun Resort Hazyview, South Africa - Mpumalanga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing