We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Family Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sabi River Sun Resort
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Hazyview
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 5, 2012

We stayed here for a week in a lovely two bedroom, two bath, loft chalet. The chalet was extremely comfortable with a kitchen and lounge area. The patio was glorious, overlooking the hippo pond. The resort is impeccably maintained. It has five swimming pools, tennis courts, golf course and much more. There was entertainment for the youngsters. One could choose to escape to beautiful quiet areas and observe the exquisite bird life, or partake in the sociable hub near the hotel. The food offered by the resort restaurant was of a good standard. The staff are extremely professional and will go the extra mile to make ones stay enjoyable. An amazing holiday break for the young and old alike. So proud that SA could offer this calibre get away....and at such good value!

Room Tip: Chalets are located in different areas around the resort, but all have beautiful expansive views of...
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank brianpatterson273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (861)
There are newer reviews for Sabi River Sun Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

756 - 762 of 861 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2012

Beautiful, modern big chalets. Our family of 6 stayed for a week over Xmas. The chalets are very spacious, clean and comfortable. Everything you might need is at your fingertips and the units are serviced daily. Manicured lawns as far as the eye can see greets you. The men enjoyed their daily golf fix and us girls parked at the pool which is but a few meters away from once's chalet. There are a numbers of pools to choose from so every day was different. We enjoyed our afternoon walk to go and see the hippo's cross the golf course to the other side of the river. They all line up and can't wait for the quard to lift the boom. It 's incredible and very special to see. The Restaurant's food is also recommendable.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BubblySouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2011

Stayed in chalet #63 (#63 and #64 are the last building, closest to hippo pond) Dec 3-9. Wonderful to sit on our patio having breakfast, watching the hippos. We even got up at 4am a few mornings to watch them come back from the river to the pond. Once in a lifetime experience, for sure. Can't think of another golf course that has "hazards" like hippos.

We ate once at the restaurant (buffet dinner) and it was good. We cooked our other meals in our full kitchen. Ours was two bedrooms (each with King beds) and a loft with two twin beds. Two bathrooms, one with tub/shower and one with shower only. We've traveled a lot and our chalet wins the prize for hottest water and best water pressure in shower. Beds were comfy and furnishings were in good shape. Both bedrooms had AC units that worked quickly and all rooms had ceiling fans.

The resort felt safe, as there is a front gate manned 24 hrs/day, along with security staff that patrolled with a German shepherd and a Rottie. They seemed to spend most of their time around our chalet, since we were closest to the hippos- which was good for us.

Good location to get to Kruger, Panorama Route, etc. Lots to do within an hour or two from there. We had a lot of exciting day trips during our stay.

We stayed here because it was a choice through our timeshare (Interval International). We are happy that we did and would definitely recommend it even if you're "paying cash".

Room Tip: If you want to see/hear the hippos as much as possible, request #64-61. The pool is in front of #55...
Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
1  Thank jeff h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2011

We stayed here for a week in a 2 Bedroom/2 Bath with loft Chalet. The chalet was wonderful, full kitchen, 2 sofas in living room w/ fireplace & patio w/ table, lounge chairs & grill. Granite & tile in kitchen & bathrooms. Grounds are immaculate! Maid service every day. Ours was located on the pond with the hippos & nesting birds! Watch the hippos walk across the golf course every evening at sunset. About 10 minutes from the Phebeni - Kruger Park Gate. 5 minutes to several grocery stores and restaurants. The restaurant onsite did a pretty good job on pizzas. On another night we had the buffet. It was like any other buffet - some things you like, some things you don't. Staff was very helpful arranging safari trips into the K. Park, Elephant rides & ultra-light flight.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mstahura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2011

What a wonderful place in paradise. The lodges are excellent with modern furnishings. The golf course is very good indeed. Food was excellent especially breakfast. The security is very good and all units have a free safe. We stayed in a 6 persons semi detached lodge on the 11th tee. Getting up in the morning and drinking coffee watching golfers tee off on the challenging 11th was fun. The grounds are immaculate and the staff were very friendly and helpfull. We exchanged via RCI timeshare and it was the best week we have had anywhere. Don's miss the hippo's and croc's on the 16th and 17th holes. Every night at sunset the hippo's leave the pool on the golf course to graze on the Sabie river till sunrise . Watching the hippo's leave is a event not to be missed.

Room Tip: Try to book one of the lodges
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

Stayed one night. Perfectly OK if somewhat corporate. Great to see hippos and crocodiles in their lake. Not so great was the food – dinner from the carte was fine if a little basic. Certainly better looking than the dinner buffet. Breakfast buffet was also unappealing.

Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank harters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2011

Stayed for a week again this year (2011). Always getting better service and the environment is just top notch. Housekeeping is on the ball. Plenty to see and do including daily visits to the Kruger Park.

The golf course is being up-graded and should be perfect in 2012.

Room Tip: Avoid a chalet near the hippo dam....the birds from October to February can be noisy and smelly.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Konsoomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hazyview hotels
0.8 mi away
Hippo Hollow Country Estate
0.5 mi away
Perry's Bridge Hollow
Perry's Bridge Hollow
#1 of 13 in Hazyview
368 reviews
3.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Summerfields Rose Retreat & Spa
2.3 mi away
aha Casa do Sol
aha Casa do Sol
#7 of 13 in Hazyview
298 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Numbi & Garden Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sabi River Sun Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sabi River Sun Resort

Address: Main Sabie Road, Hazyview 1242, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Hazyview
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Hazyview
#2 Family Hotel in Hazyview
#2 Luxury Hotel in Hazyview
Price Range: $185 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sabi River Sun Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the banks of the magnificent Sabie River, this gorgeous resort affords travellers easy access to some of the greatest attractions South Africa has to offer. From the Sabie River Sun you will be able to visit the Kruger National Park, God's Window and Pilgrim's Rest to mention but a few. After a day of sightseeing returning to this luxurious resort will be the highlight of your day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sabi River Sun Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sabi River Sun Lifestyle Hotel Hazyview
Sabi River Sun Hotel
Sabi River Sun Resort Hazyview, South Africa - Mpumalanga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing