We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another fantastic holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sabi River Sun Resort
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Hazyview
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 10, 2011

We keep returning to this property in order to regain our sanity. What a perfect break, with Staff that are attentive, caring and efficient, without intruding.

Room Tip: We always request Chalets in phase 5
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony_Rubin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (920)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

825 - 831 of 920 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2011

Please do not stay in Chalet 1 - 6 if you want peace and quiet
No consideration at all for the residents
Reception staff either deceptive or know nothing about what
goes on at night when asked about noise

Room Tip: Not Chalet 1 -6
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trevor M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Great for families, close to Kruger Park, golf course, pools and beautiful birds, crocidiles and hippo's

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Candice21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2011

It was a short visit but we loved the place. Its so serene and beautiful. The reception was very welcoming.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zuluan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2011

we stayed at the Sabi River sun lifestyle resort from the 29 to 31 july 2011, our stay was an absolute pleasure. The warmth and hospitality was outstanding, the food at breakfast was really delicious. The staff was very friendly, everyone greets and take time to say hello, even the kitchen manager Johanathan stops by to say hello. We cant wait to return, the views are outstanding. Thank you for going beyond the call of duty.

Room Tip: the rooms could do with a upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lutchmana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

We rented a timeshare unit for a week in the April holidays, and had a wonderful time. The setting is beautiful, we met lovely people, and we will definitely be back! There is lots to do in the area, the kids activities in the holidays were well organised and entertaining, and golf enjoyable. We had breakfast at the restaurant, which was scrumptious, and generally ordered lunch at the pool, which was really convenient. The pool area at the hotel is lovely, and the big kids' section was ideal for our 2 year old. There were plenty of clean pool towels laid out during the day. The unit itself was spacious, comfortable, and thoroughly cleaned every day. Our chalet was a bit dark inside, but cool in the very hot weather we had. Was great to be able to stroll to the hippo pool, and enjoy the antics before the sun went down. So often in established SA resorts, our adopted daughter stands out as non-white, while with the variety of local and overseas tourists at Sabi River Bungalows, this wasn't the case at all.
Some tips: There are small crocodiles in some of the dams, so keep small children away. The same obviously applies to the hippo pool. Also, children need to have some awareness of golf etiquette, such as keeping off fairways and greens when in play.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RivaAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

I had no expectations for this trip, as I knew nothing about Sabi River Sun but absolutely loved it, and can now understand why people return every year without fail. I would most definitely like ti to become a regular yearly trip. The chalets are set on the golf course with beautiful views of the greens and the hippo pool. There is plenty to do: You can spend endless time sitting at the hippo pool watching the hippos, crocodiles and birds, walking around the course is scenic, even for those who aren't there for golfing and the Kruger is about 20 minutes away for those who want to see the bigger game. I would recommend the units that are closer to the hippo pool but that's just me, the whole property is beautiful and very well looked after. Enjoy! Perfect for a family trip, especially where the kids are old enough to roam safely on their own!

Room Tip: The closer to the hippo pools, the better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank SATraveller22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hazyview hotels
0.5 mi away
Hippo Hollow Country Estate
3.4 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview
0.4 mi away
Perry's Bridge Hollow
Perry's Bridge Hollow
#1 of 12 in Hazyview
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Summerfields Rose Retreat & Spa
1.3 mi away
Hotel Numbi & Garden Suites
2.4 mi away
aha Casa do Sol
aha Casa do Sol
#8 of 12 in Hazyview
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sabi River Sun Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sabi River Sun Resort

Address: Main Sabie Road, Hazyview 1242, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Hazyview
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Hazyview
#2 Luxury Hotel in Hazyview
#2 Family Hotel in Hazyview
Price Range: $155 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sabi River Sun Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the banks of the magnificent Sabie River, this gorgeous resort affords travellers easy access to some of the greatest attractions South Africa has to offer. From the Sabie River Sun you will be able to visit the Kruger National Park, God's Window and Pilgrim's Rest to mention but a few. After a day of sightseeing returning to this luxurious resort will be the highlight of your day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sabi River Sun Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sabi River Sun Lifestyle Hotel Hazyview
Sabi River Sun Hotel
Sabi River Sun Resort Hazyview, South Africa - Mpumalanga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing