We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“After touring SA for a week thoroughly enjoyed our downtime here”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Hazyview
Reviewed May 18, 2014

We are travelling SA with Gate 1. We spent the am at Kruger (up at 4am!), We opted out of the afternoon option. We tried to visit Jane Goodall's Chimps or the Elephant Whisperer but it didn't work out. So we put on bathing gear, coolers, books and headed for the loungers on the lawn near the pool.
It was so peaceful and lacking of harassment we felt privileged!
As the late afternoon set in we took advantage of the playground too. Loved the trampoline built level with the grass. Also walked with 2 guinea fowl.

Room Tip: Those on the tour who got thatched roofs complained of flying insect guests!
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EasternCanadaKoda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (263)
There are newer reviews for Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

149 - 155 of 263 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the Protea Hazyview Hotel over the Easter holiday. The rooms are comfortable and spacious. Other services are somewhat lacking. F&B is generally average and the lack of entertainment is a missed opportunity. Overall a place to stay. Full stop.

Stayed: April 2014
1  Thank Hans H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2014

Good: location relative to Kruger park, restaurant,beautiful property and views, our room was spacious and clean

Bad: I would have loved to have wifi in the room instead of having to venture to the hotel lobby. The walkways to the lobby area were dim and felt unsafe. The property overall doesn't have good lighting. If you are a single woman traveling alone request a room that is close to the lobby. A single woman that we met was assigned a room that was pretty far from the main building. We escorted her back to her room one evening and it was so dark and confusing navigating the property at night. My room was quite far from the lobby as well. There was also what appeared to be a stray cat wandering looking for food late at night. Not a big deal but bit of an annoyance. The other issue we noticed was that housekeeping had the bad habit of leaving the windows open. This can be a real problem if you are out all day and your windows are open when you return to your room in the evening. Bugs and other unwanted guests can access your room. It was unsettling. Request that housekeeping not open your windows.

Overall the hotel was fine for a two night stay. I would not have wanted to stay longer.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the lobby. Wifi is only available in the lobby and if you are traveling alone y...
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suggstravelllc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

We stayed at the hotel for two nights. The food was good, the view is lovely, the beds were comfortable and the laundry service excellent. The plug for the converter was up on the desk by the mirror. I was thrilled. I'd had to adjust to other plugs at previous hotels much lower. The AC worked well, almost too well. I slept in a night gown and blouse for extra warmth.

On the hallway wall near the food area, they have a framed picture of the Fauna and Flora of the Area. You can ask for the brochure from the front desk. We marked all the animals we saw on our tour of Kruger National Park and Hluhluwe Game Reserve. It's a wonderful memento to have of our visit to the parks.

The restaurant is closed for lunch, so you can order light meals from the bar area. It was a beautiful, but coolish day while I was there. I ate outside and enjoyed the view.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank L H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014

We stayed at the Protea Hotel in Hazy View as a stop over for 2 nights on our way to the Kruger National Park. From there we visited Pilgrims Rest , Gods Window and Bourks Luck Potholes. It was a real treat to come back to this hotel.
The rooms were spacious with good facilities the bed was really comfortable. The view from the terrace was spectacular such a vista!
The lounge band bar area was a colonial style and very comfortable.
The staff were pleasant and welcoming nothing too much trouble.
We ate in the restaurant opting for the buffet in the evenings the food was delicious and so much choice. The breakfasts were equally as good with lots of choice.
I would thoroughly recommend a stay here.

Room Tip: The rooms through reception on the ground floor had lovely views and close to the restaurant and bar...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ei22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

We had a one night stay at the Protea near Hazyview. Our room was very large and clean, but there was no wifi, to find that you had to be in or around the bar, even the restaurant didn't have it, which is pretty poor for a place of this size. When we stayed the place was fairly empty so there was no atmosphere in the restaurant. The food was fine but the service was fairly surly and slow (although they cheered up post tipping). Breakfast was lovely though, we sat outside looking at the gorgeous view and there was plenty of choice of food, so at least the stay ended on a better note.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbelle25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Situated a short drive from Kruger National Park, in extensive kept grounds, first impressions were good. My room was clean and comfortable, but accessed by a long winding and poorly lit corridoor. Breakfast and diner were buffet style. The food was barely edible, dining room service so slw it was almost non existent. A glass of wine ordered when I sat down, arrved in time to accompany desert! Orders for lunch time bar snacks took nearly an hour to arrive. Bar staff took nearly as long to serve drinks.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GOINGTOURING
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Management2010, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2014

Dear "goingtouring",

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with your fellow Tripadvisor community members!

Although we are happy to hear you enjoyed our recently upgraded hotel facilities and the beautiful scenery of the gardens surrounding the hotel, we clearly were not able to impress you with our food offering and service in the restaurant. Together with the executive chef and food and beverage manager I will evaluate your service experience and determine why we have dropped the ball during your stay. Clearly not of the standard we try to provide to each and every guests staying at our hotel.

Thank you for allowing us to further improve our product and services, we do sincerely hope you will allow us to host you again in future.

Yours sincerely,

Rob Turner - Acting general manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hazyview hotels
3.9 mi away
Hippo Hollow Country Estate
3.5 mi away
Perry's Bridge Hollow
Perry's Bridge Hollow
#1 of 13 in Hazyview
371 reviews
3.1 mi away
Sabi River Sun Resort
Sabi River Sun Resort
#3 of 13 in Hazyview
861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
aha Casa do Sol
aha Casa do Sol
#7 of 13 in Hazyview
298 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Numbi & Garden Suites
3.6 mi away
Summerfields Rose Retreat & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview

Address: 1 R40 Road | 38 km from White River, Hazyview 1242, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Hazyview
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Hazyview
Price Range: $98 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the adventure capital of the Mpumalanga Lowveld, a mere 15 minute drive from the Kruger National Park, Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview is nestled on a hill overlooking the beautiful Sand River Valley. The rooms are alluring and spacious offering all the conveniences that one expects to make this a home away from home. All our rooms overlook lush gardens that have an abundance of birdlife, adding to the feeling of being away from the hustle and bustle of city life. Not to mention several spacious family rooms that provide a comfortable area for the family to relax and unwind. Lying by the pool with a sundowner, whilst admiring the stunning views of the valley and watching the kids play on the nearby trampoline and jungle gym is perfection at its best. The chefs have prepared a wide variety of dining options to ensure that we cater optimally to healthy appetites and provide special meals for our young visitors. Additional facilities include conference venues, guest internet, Boma and a children's play park - so bring your game. Nearby attractions include the Blyde River Canyon, God's Window and Pilgrims Rest to name a few. For the adrenalin seekers, exciting adventures such as hot air balloon rides, river rafting, quad biking and many more can be arranged. Guests may also experience open vehicle day and night safaris in search of Africa's "Big Five" and lesser known "Little Five." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Hazyview
Protea Hotel By Marriott Hazyview South Africa - Mpumalanga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing