We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seafood lovers paradise.”
Review of Tides Portuguese Taverne - CLOSED

Tides Portuguese Taverne
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Situated in the Rendezvous Tourist Centre next to the Numbi Hotel in Hazyview The menu offers guests a variety of meals to choose from. These include, Grilled Mozambican style chicken, Seafood Combos and very popular Seafood Platters. With fresh fish delivered weekly, you can be sure to find variety of specials prepared by our chefs. A menu for the young ones is also available during trading hours. The diner style bar serves for that quick business luncheon and our outside deck a casual sit down meal with friends and family. Our bar is equipped with a large flat screen TV for sport and ice cold beer on tap for those hot summer Lowveld days.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Seafood lovers paradise.”
Reviewed April 28, 2014

We returned to Tides after a year away and were not disappointed. The food is as excellent as ever. Again as I have found in all the restaurants and bars recommened by our host, nothing was too much trouble. The seafood is cooked to perfection and the service is friendly and relaxed. We also had the sushi, and believe me better sushi I have never tasted - fresh and delectable.
Well worth a visit

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank skip123_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    37
    11
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Fish in a world of meat”
Reviewed April 4, 2014

The value for money here is great with fresh fish in a world of fantastic meat making a most agreeable change. We visited twice and found the staff very friendly.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank SimonRHalifax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hazyview, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Seafood Platter”
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Seafood Platter is recommended by me. Menu's choice is good.
If your partner wants meat dishes. No Problem from the steakhouse next door.
nby family member.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Casper1941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hazyview, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Terrible Food”
Reviewed February 1, 2014

Went to tides for dinner yesterday - what a mistake.
Had simple Fish and Chips with "supposedly" lemon butter sauce. Asked for Crispy chips.

Food Arrived - Chips were doused in some sort of spice - we were not told that they put spice on the chips - the chips were also nowhere near crispy - just big chips.

The lemon butter was more like dishwater with NO repeat NO resemblance to lemon butter at all.

In fairness the fish was cooked.

Also people smoking outside - smoke coming into the restaurant - supposed to ne non smoking

In short the local take away is a better deal.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jos883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good service with a smile”
Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

I enjoyed the haloumi starter followed by the calamari and sole which was enjoyable, the portions are pretty large so I shared my main course which was the right decision, there is a good wine selection. I think the menus let Tides down, plastic coated with photos reminds me of a cafe but when you visit you will know that is not what it is!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Georgina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tides Portuguese Taverne also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing