We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”
Review of Bush Baby Glen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bush Baby Glen
Certificate of Excellence
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
“Home away from home”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Nwanakalile is a home away from your home. I really liked that they provide you with everything to make your stay as comfortable and homely as possible. I liked the feeling of being one with nature and Auriol and Andrew are just a wonderful and friendly couple who made sure that our stay is comfortable. If I can put one request to them is to put full length mirrors in the rooms ( yes you are right its a lady writing this review, lol)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Philile N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nwanakalile, Owner at Bush Baby Glen, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Hi Philile

Thanks for the great review. OK OK we get it! Although why anyone visiting the bush wants to see themselves in a full length mirror beats me - I try and hide all the mirrors in my house as I get older. LOL. Will see what we can do.

Auriol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    41
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
63
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

The amount of accommodation in the Hazyview area is quite bewildering, but we certainly did not regret staying here! We booked the premier suite which gave us a spacious bedroom, large bathroom, a well equipped kitchen and a lounge area. In addition, we had access to our own stoep with gorgeous views over the valley and our own mini plunge pool and braai area (less useful in the winter months)!

The great thing about the location of the lodge is that you feel like you are out in the wild, but yet are only 10 km from Hazyview where you can access all the shops you need and the Phabeni gate to the Kruger is not much further. The adventure centres and a few restaurants and coffee shops are located even closer on the same road leading into Hazyview. Although the lodge is located on the main road, it is set back and the traffic noise does not disturb. There are other accommodation lodges that are much closer to the road so bear that in mind if you are shopping around!

The lodge is spacious and very tastefully furnished. For a premier suite there are a few finishing touches that I felt could have been included; a full length mirror, luggage racks so suitcases don't have to live on the floor, a bigger DSTV bouquet (the hotel bouquet offers nothing for kids and we have stayed in lower ranked guesthouses that offer more) and a permanent set of bar stools so you can eat inside during the winter months (we had some provided after we asked).

In terms of sleep quality, I found the bed very hard for a sensitive back and I could have done with darker curtains in the bedroom. All the outside lights can be turned off (bonus!) but ambient light does still come in and the curtains were a very light, white cotton material. It is great to have the view through all the windows and sliding doors, but there should be provision for making a room dark if you want it using blinds or dark curtains.

We felt welcomed by Auriol and Andrew and they responded readily when we needed something. Staying here was a good experience!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rollingstone2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nwanakalile, Owner at Bush Baby Glen, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Many thanks for your review and for the useful feedback. We have attended to some of the "little things" that needed to be done and I am sure that future guests will benefit from the extra comforts.

Kind regards

Auriol & Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Andrew and Auriol are two of the most amazing people that I'd met in South Africa. I got in late in the night and Auriol was constantly keeping in touch with me via the phone, just to make sure I'm safe. The place is luxurious and offer a tranquil surrounding. Sit by the patio, enjoy a glass of wine while listening to their stories and let the magnificent view of the stars take your breath away! Trust me when i say you're gonna love this place.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elevenxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nwanakalile, Owner at Bush Baby Glen, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
It was an absolute pleasure having you stay with us, Walter.

Many thanks for the great review.

Andrew and Auriol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olds, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Had the pleasure of staying at the beginning of Feb 2013. We were signed up for some adventures with Induna which is within walking distance to there facility. We only staying one night but it was worth the visit. Andrew and Auriol greated us warmly and the suite was very comfortable. We woke up to vervant monkey's and a mongoose in the yard. Andrew and Auriol directed us to a nice restaurant in Hazyview for dinner and it was not that far away. We also went to the elephant santuary down the road which was also worth the time. They are centrally located and a short distance to Sabie or Hazyview. They trully have a gem in the middle of the bush. Well worth the stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 11, 2013

My best friend and I drove from Joburg to Nwanakalile in March 2012. All we had was the directions given to us by Auriol. The directions were spot-on and we had no difficulties finding the place-Keeping in mind that this was our first time in Mpumalanga. We got a very warm welcome, secure premises, friendly staff, comfy beds and clean rooms. Guess what? We're going again this year in April and we intend taking this trip once every year :) because there is just so much to see and do and a long weekend is just NOT enough. See you soon!!!

Sarah D.

Room Tip: Room 3 is perfect for two friends or a couple. So cool after a long day of sight-seeing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nwanakalile, Owner at Bush Baby Glen, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Hi Sarah

Thanks so much for the great feedback and we look forward to having you stay again in April.

Kind Regards

Andrew and Auriol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jhb
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

Thanks for accommodating us on our quick visit. We arrived in the dark, left in the dark (and wet wet raining) morning, but your hospitality was great and the rooms were comfortable. New would love to come back when we ave more time! Karen & kevin

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank kadJhb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 14, 2012

We enjoyed a pleasant stay at your lodge which was a home from home experience. Andrew and Auriol were the perfect hosts from the initial welcome to the final departure, The apartments were neat and very comfortable and thanks for the natural spring water we enjoyed every day. The peaceful surroundings and relative closeness to the park and other places of interest has convinced us to want to return as soon as possible.
Regards
Norman, Helen Frank and Doris from KZN

Room Tip: All rooms /suites are equal in choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norman M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hazyview hotels
1.4 mi away
Hippo Hollow Country Estate
4.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview
5.8 mi away
Aan de Vliet
Aan de Vliet
#5 of 13 in Hazyview
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Kruger Park Lodge
Kruger Park Lodge
#4 of 40 in Hazyview
478 reviews
1.8 mi away
Rissington Inn
Rissington Inn
#1 of 40 in Hazyview
540 reviews
6.3 mi away
Nabana Lodge
Nabana Lodge
#11 of 40 in Hazyview
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bush Baby Glen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bush Baby Glen

Property: Bush Baby Glen
Address: R536 Hazyview-Sabie Rd, Hazyview 1242, South Africa (Formerly Nwanakalile Lodge)
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Hazyview
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 40 Specialty Lodging in Hazyview
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bush Baby Glen 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bush Baby Glen: luxurious, spacious, self-catering 22 kms from the Kruger National Park near Hazyview. The units are comfortable with king-size extra length beds, percale cotton linen, flat screen TVs and DSTV, well-equipped kitchens and stunning living spaces with views over the Sabana valley. Nwanakalile is in the heart of the Sabie Valley Adventure playground and the Panorama. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Bush Baby Glen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bush Baby Glen Hazyview, South Africa - Mpumalanga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing