We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So much potential”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kruger Adventure Lodge
Reviewed December 29, 2013

A mere 40 minutes from Nelspruit, about 4 hours from Johannesburg and about half an hour from the Paul Kruger Gate, this resort has potential, but we left disappointed. We visited over the 16 December long weekend which was boiling hot (about 36 degrees on one of the days!). A perfect weekend to lounge by the poolside, but the main pool was green and algae ridden. No effort was made to fix it. Over such a busy weekend - traditionally the start of the summer holiday in SA - I thought that was unacceptable. Breakfast was standard and repeated over the 3 days that we stayed. No lunch is offered. The town of Hazyview is a 2 minute drive away, but if you don't wish to leave the resort, the lack of lunch is a problem. For dinner, no choice is available. A set meal is prepared each night and each night is different. The wine selection is incredibly limited. You would do well to take along your own. The staff are well intentioned, but we found it difficult to communicate during our stay. The rooms are clean, but very basic. I would not rush back; not with so much choice in the area.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Brent B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (115)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 115 reviews

Reviewed October 26, 2013

The appearance from the road is deceiving And its a bit dark. the rooms we stayed in was a rondavel, four sleeper. The shower wasn't very nice but the bed was very comfortable. The room was decorated african style, very clean. Amazing breakfast to get your day started. The dinning room is lovely.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lolaJohannesburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We used the voucher for R999.00 for 2 nights, breakfast and dinner.
The staff was friendly. The place was well maintained. They had a
set 3 course menu which might be a problem if you have special
diet requirements. The food that they did serve was good. A breakfast
pack was given to us the following morning to take with us into Kruger
National Park.

Room Tip: They have a selection of bungalows and tented rooms. The tented rooms looks out over the river. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We have just spent the weekend at this place and I must say its pretty good value for money. The weekend voucher was for R999.00 and includes breakfast as well as dinner.

The accommodation was clean and comfortable and the food, whilst being fairly simple, was tasty and the portions were quite generous.

Its a quite, secure hotel, about 40km from the closest gate to Kruger Park, so its ideally situated for a day trip into the park.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

I stayed there after flight in from nelspruit got in too late to get to rest camp in kruger. stay was good staff was freindly and price was good. was kind of hard to find in the dark went by it without seeing the sign. the place is gated and secure has its own security 24hr would stay there again

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 1025mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

The voucher for R999 for 2 nights, breakfast and dinner included. We stayed for 4 nights.

We were allocated room 9. Unfortunately this room has no windows, which is later depressing, but it was manageable as we only slept there at night. The other draw back of the rooms (I suppose a rondawel wouldn’t have this problem – not sure) is that it is very close to other people. We could follow the conversations in other rooms, what tv programme they were watching etc. Also, many people leave early (4 am) to go on game drives, thus you are often woken up by the neighbours washing, using the hairdryer, speaking loudly etc. The room had aircon, tv and coffee making facilities. No fridge in the room.

Our experience with the hot breakfast was great. Plenty of food, coffee, tea, cereal available. Also on the mornings we requested breakfast packs for the road, they were very helpful with this. The one morning we got grated cheese sandwich, hard-boiled egg, fruit and jungle oats bar and a juice. The other day it was a chicken mayo sandwich and all the rest.

The dinner meal was a different story. Usually our waitress forgot about us and we had to constantly ask for service. One night they didn’t have change for the bar account. They use a set menu, meaning there are only one meal option for dinner and no alternatives. Each dinner was a starter (salad, soup or garlic bread) , main meal ( chicken schnitzel, braaivlei, fish, steak) and dessert (being ice cream and chocolate sauce). So on a specific day the dinner would be: soup, fish and chips and ice cream. No substitutes. So you have a problem if you’re allergic to fish.

In all fairness, for what I paid on the discounted voucher and what I got, it was ok. I would definitely not pay full price for the experience I had. I do have more vouchers to use, so I will have to go back there soon.

In all honesty, this is Africa, it’s not a 5 star lodge, but they are doing the best they can. I haven’t seen any management at the lodge during my stay. I will give them the benefit of the doubt. Just go there with an open mind and be flexible.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank TravelingDutches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

The Adventure Lodge staff are among the friendliest I have encountered . From the lady who checked us in (Glanda, I think) to the waitress serving us dinner, all were very friendly and showed a genuine interest in our day. We advised the reception that we would be heading out early each day so we wouldn't require breakfast. No problem at all, they packed us a "take away" breakfast. Dinner at the Lodge is a set menu which, although a normal "home cooked" style was very tasty. Beds were very comfortable and the room was clean and a lovely high pressure shower after a long day was very welcome. Overall, a good experience.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gary U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hazyview hotels
3.5 mi away
aha Casa do Sol
aha Casa do Sol
#8 of 12 in Hazyview
312 reviews
2.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview
1.5 mi away
Hotel Numbi & Garden Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Nabana Lodge
Nabana Lodge
#9 of 42 in Hazyview
137 reviews
5.7 mi away
Aan de Vliet
Aan de Vliet
#5 of 12 in Hazyview
487 reviews
2.9 mi away
Kruger Park Lodge
Kruger Park Lodge
#2 of 42 in Hazyview
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kruger Adventure Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kruger Adventure Lodge

Address: Portion 110 | De Rust, Hazyview 1242, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Hazyview
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 42 Specialty Lodging in Hazyview
Price Range: $70 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kruger Adventure Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Otel, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Kruger Adventure Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kruger Adventure Lodge Hazyview, South Africa - Mpumalanga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing