We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GHD Hairdryer left behind - Resort Manager don't seem to care”
Review of Waterberry Hill

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Waterberry Hill
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay. Also had the same problems with the spa treatments that you can't seem to book for. Unfortunately I left my GHD Hairdryer behind, and contacted the resort. Johan, the manager, contacted me, and all I got from him was empty promises of steps being taken, polygraph tests to be done etc. 2 months later, nothing happened, and when I sent a complain to head office he got nasty and told me to come to Hazyview and lay charge of theft at the Police Station!! What a pity!! I do have all the mails and conversations as proof.

Room Tip: A units - they have a jacuzzi
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tricia1302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (102)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 102 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed at Waterberry Hill from the 3rd - 6th of May. We had a very warm welcome and were served drinks on arrival. Our unit was very clean and spacious. The facilities are perfect for families and there was plenty to entertain our 6 year old. The ONLY let down was the spa - we were given complimentary treatments with our reservation - I went for a facial which was supposed to be an hour long. I was finished in 40 minutes and the facial did not include extractions or a massage.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarolREastLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We exchanged our timeshare to a week at Waterberry Hill, Mpumalanga. Very nice, spacious self-catering units, we stayed in an A unit with a Jacuzzi. It was fully equipped with a large fridge/freezer, microwave oven, stove, all cutlery and essential crockery. There were 2 bedrooms, 1 on suite with a spa bath and shower and the 2nd bedroom had 2 single beds. The lounge had a leather couch and a nice big TV. The dining room was spacious, for 6 people with a hot tray. The treat was the Jacuzzi. But be a aware .. you pay R 60 for 6 hours for the use of the Jacuzzi , but it takes 4 Hours to get warm. Our Jacuzzi was broken and because we booked in on a weekend they could only fix it the Monday. It is a dirt road of 3 km from the tar road to the gate and also back to town. For us it was not a problem but if you do not want to travel every time 3 km backwards and forwards this is not the place for you. The parking was very difficult to get in and out. We can recommend this timeshare and will most probably go back one day.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vorsters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

The setting is beautiful and the accomodation is very well appointed and exceptionally clean. The Main irritation for me was that the unit faced westerly and hence receives the full heat of the sun from about 14h00, turning the verandah and living room into an oven. The barbeque area is also without any shade and can only be used after sunset. The pool is stained and the water was far from clear and sparkling. The billiards table was rickety and do not work well. The reception was closed on the Saturday when we arrived and only opened at 16h00. Thus, we could only get access to the putt putt or most other amenities at that time. The staff is excellent but the feeling I was left with is indifference from management. This place could be so much better!

Room Tip: Ask for an apartment that do not have the full midday sun shining into the apartment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NickvDm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2012

Nice weekend breakaway. But can be better maintained and management is never around and always full of excuses when you need assistance. Prepaid jacuzzi in A units is a joke.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ginorl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2012

We were very impressed with Waterberry Hill and had a lovely mid-week break to celebrate our honeymoon. The accommodation was clean, spacious, and comfortable. The staff were friendly, helpful, and considerate of our privacy. We were a bit disappointed that we were told upon our arrival that we had to pay for the electricity for the jacuzzi in our unit; however it was not too expensive. Overall a wonderful stay and a good location to explore the Kruger National Park and other stunning activities and natural beauties in the Hazyview area. The website does this resort no justice, and makes it look very unappealing. I would strongly encourage the web designers for Waterberry Hill to improve the website as your resort is so much better than the website shows.

Room Tip: Choose the A-frame apartments, as they might have a jacuzzi and other facilities that others don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Natasha P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2011

This was the second time that we stayed at Waterberry Hill and again it was really an experience. The staff were Excellent. If you go to the Kruger National Park...... do not use the Orpen gate, the road are used by maniac drivers. Rather use the gate at Hazywiev. Thanks again to the staff, we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank james1580
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hazyview hotels
2.6 mi away
Hippo Hollow Country Estate
0.5 mi away
aha Casa do Sol
aha Casa do Sol
#8 of 13 in Hazyview
306 reviews
2.4 mi away
Perry's Bridge Hollow
Perry's Bridge Hollow
#1 of 13 in Hazyview
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview
1.4 mi away
Summerfields Rose Retreat & Spa
1.9 mi away
Sabi River Sun Resort
Sabi River Sun Resort
#3 of 13 in Hazyview
886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterberry Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterberry Hill

Address: Kiepersol Road | Kiepersol Road, Perry's Farm (Dirt Road), Hazyview, Mpumalanga, Hazyview 1242, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Hazyview
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Hazyview
Price Range: $81 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Waterberry Hill 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Waterberry Hill, colonial-style chalets are surrounded by indigenous bush, offering shelter to a variety of birds and small animals. Here, guests can enjoy beautiful nature walks or simply relax bushveld-style. Hazyview is only a 6km drive from the resort and is an interesting outing to explore unique shops, crafts, restaurants and pubs for some fine fare. Enjoy tennis, mini golf, and table tennis, or cool off in the large swimming pool or take a drive to nearby attractions including the Kruger National Park, Gods Window, Bourkes Luck Potholes and the Blyde River Canyon with its spectacular waterfalls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Waterberry Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterberry Hill Hotel Hazyview
Waterberry Hill Hazyview, South Africa - Mpumalanga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing