We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, hospitable and outstanding value for money.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sabie River Bush Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful, hospitable and outstanding value for money.”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We had the pleasure of staying 3 nights in a river facing bungalow. Saw Eland and Hippo from the resort deck. Staff are very friendly and polite.
We loved the food as it was good home- style cooking with a choice for each of the 3 courses. I would return in a heartbeat. I can add that it was actually a pleasure not to have a TV in our room. The 2 TVs in the main areas were available but not intrusive.
A magic 3 nights. The tents looked awesome as well.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lieselle56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sabieriverbushlodge, Owner at Sabie River Bush Lodge, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Hi Lieselle Thank you for your business, thank you for the time taken to write a review about your stay at Sabie River Bush Lodge. We would love to have you and your travel partner back at the Lodge soon. I will forward your review to ALL the staff, once again thanks.
Regards
Dale
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    176
    49
    10
    13
See reviews for
114
272
16
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We stayed here 3 nights to be close to the Kruger National Park and to have easy access to the main roads when we travel back home.

It was a lovely break. The staff is very friendly and make you feel welcome right from the start. The view is stunning as it is right on the border of the Kruger (we saw an elephant, some buck and off course the hippos), the beds are comfortable and everything is so well equipped. We were really impressed by how clean and neat everything was. They provide a personal service while at the same time, respecting your privacy. We will definitely recommend this to anyone who wants to be close to the Kruger Park - when travelling alone, a couple getaway, or with a group of friends.

Room Tip: The Luxury River Frontage Bush Tent is the most private, with the best view and an outside shower wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne549
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sabieriverbushlodge, Owner at Sabie River Bush Lodge, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Hi Anne Thank you for your business we ALL at Sabie River Bush Lodge really appreciate your business. Great to hear that you and your travel partner enjoyed your stay at the Lodge. We will really appreciate it that you would recommend Sabie River Bush Lodge to other travellers.I will pass this review on to all the staff at the Lodge.
Regards
Dale
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We booked out the whole of Sabie River Bush Lodge for a weekend of birthday celebrations in April '13 with guests travelling from around South Africa and around the world to attend. It ended up being a wonderful few days with our friends and family being blown away by the beauty of the setting - on the banks of the majestic Sabie River - the quality of the accommodation and the level of service provided by the staff. Stuart, the Lodge Manager, could not have been more helpful in the months preceding the function and the team at SRBL continued that level of service when we arrived, ensuring that nothing was left to chance and that all of our guests staying at the lodge had the perfect stay. My thanks go to Stuart and the staff for contributing to such a memorable experience. Whether you're looking for a family getaway to the Kruger area, a couple's weekend or a big party with a few dozen of your nearest and dearest, SRBL is a great choice.

Room Tip: The luxury tents under the shady Jackalberry trees on the river bank have exceptional views and priv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisboden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sabieriverbushlodge, Owner at Sabie River Bush Lodge, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Hi Chris It was really a pleasure to have all your guests from all over the world staying at the Lodge. The staff and management really enjoyed your stay as much as your guests seemed to have enjoyed their stay at the Lodge.

Thank you for your business and the time taken to review our Lodge, we all at Sabie River Bush Lodge really appreciate the business.

Hope to see you and your guests upon your next visit to the Kruger National Park

Regards
Dale - Owner Sabie River Bush Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Booked on the Internet for easy access to the Kruger Park and were pleasantly surprised by high quality of facilities, friendly staff and chef who accommodated our vegetarian requirements, and especially the great river view. The only disappointment was the close proximity of the road and associated noise.

Room Tip: All rooms appeared to be great
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellingzimbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hüllhorst
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We started our stay in Africa with 3 nights at the Sabie River Bush Lodge in a river view luxury safari tent. We had a great stay and could watch the hippos in the river from our terrace every evening. We did a full day game drive organised by the lodge and we really enjoyed our first encounter with African wildife. Our driver Patrick really did a great job and we saw lots of animals.
The accommodation is really good and the tents are very spacy; they have a well-furnished bathroom with an outside shower. The meals were excellent and the prices for drinks very reasonable. We can only recommend this logde with its friendly and helpful staff.

Room Tip: Spend a little more money and go for a river view tent it is worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trautebollmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Axminster, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We stayed for just one night to relax and be spoiled while were 'doing' Kruger.The riverside accommodation.. with views to Kruger Park, the helpful staff, peaceful atmosphere, relaxed wildlife viewing and the inclusive meals gave us exactly what we had hoped for! We would have liked to stay longer.....but too much to do.. too little time to do it. .... The dinner was 'different'....but the breakfast was superb...We would recommend a stay here,

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank devonvisitor0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed here last year for my birthday. It was great! All meals included except lunch and we had an amazing morning game drive with breakfast. The pool setting is great, where you can sit and have cocktails while the elephants and hippos come up to the river.

Overall great family weekend and great location to main gate of park as well.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tash_Momto2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hazyview
10.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate
12.8 mi away
Hippo Hollow Country Estate
13.5 mi away
Sabi River Sun Resort
Sabi River Sun Resort
#2 of 12 in Hazyview
816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.9 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview
13.0 mi away
Perry's Bridge Hollow
Perry's Bridge Hollow
#1 of 12 in Hazyview
341 reviews
12.1 mi away
Kruger Park Lodge
Kruger Park Lodge
#4 of 40 in Hazyview
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sabie River Bush Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sabie River Bush Lodge

Property: Sabie River Bush Lodge
Address: R536 Portia Shabangu Drive | Kruger Gate road, Hazyview 1242, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Hazyview
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 40 Specialty Lodging in Hazyview
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sabie River Bush Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the banks of the Sabie River overlooking the majestic Kruger National Park lies Sabie River Bush Lodge, a bush lodge where you can "recharge your soul" and experience the African Bush. Situated a mere 19kms from the world famous Paul Kruger Gate and 13kms from Phabeni Gate, this is the place you want to be! Sitting on our raised pool deck enjoying great, friendly service and a cocktail with an African twist, one can view the BIG 5 and some of our smaller, yet beautiful, wildlife. With an extensive bird watching opportunity, there is no better place to sit back, relax and take in the natural beauty of the African Bushveld while all your needs are taken care of by our staff! Join us on a guided safari in our open vehicle into the Kruger National Park for a chance to get closer to the amazing animals the Kruger National Park boasts home to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sabie River Bush Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sabie River Bush Lodge Hazyview, South Africa - Mpumalanga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing