We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dont wait; Just do it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sabie River Bush Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Apex, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Dont wait; Just do it”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Sabie River Bush Lodge is simply fantastic. It is barely 15 mins from the PaulKruger gate, and you can take your own car, or go for a drive on the game vehicle at the lodge. you wont be sorry - we have done both with good luck. leopard and cheetah on the first right after the kruger gate; and we saw all of the big five on a loop from kruger to skukuza to lowersabie.

The lodge itself is to use a south african word we learned "lekker". very nice, or sweet. finish a game drive and then relax on the deck waiting for even more animals to visit. the wait staff are super friendly, and your drinks will be there before you know it.

We spent several nights here. We had planned for two, and our stay grew and grew! Dinner was different everynight, and really lived up to the billing - good wholesome south african fare - steak, babotie and chicken to name a few. dont miss the soups to start; someone should write a book about these.

Room Tip: try the luxury tents on the river. we moved into one of these and absolutely loved them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulK_usa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sabieriverbushlodge, Owner at Sabie River Bush Lodge, responded to this review, September 22, 2012
Hi Paul Thank you for your review of Sabie River Bush Lodge. Alos thank you for visiting the Lodge again we notice that you are a repeat guest and we would all like to thank you for your business.
Thank you for the positive feedback and would really like to welcome you and your daughter Kelsey back to Sabie River Bush Lodge in the near future.
Regards
Dale
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    167
    44
    11
    13
See reviews for
106
255
15
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

If you're looking for a place to stay near Kruger Park, I highly recommend you just book a room at Sabie River Bush Lodge and don't even bother looking anywhere else. I can't comment about the rooms but I stayed in one of the luxury tents and it was absolutely amazing. If you need convincing, here are some reasons to consider staying here:

1. You believe in supporting local communities, and in job and skills development. This is a facility that invests in its workers. Many staff members began as gardeners, and were then trained and promoted into new roles such as waiters. If you spend your money here you'll be directly helping in the empowerment of previously disadvantaged individuals. I didn't know this beforehand, but after chatting with the owner and learning more about the business, I felt great that my money was going to such a worthwhile and inspiring organization.

2. The thought of reliving a Hemingway-type vacation is exciting. If yes, stay in one of the luxury tents. I won't say more because I don't want to spoil the surprise of how awesome these are.

3. You like a good cocktail. In a weekend-long trip, I think my boyfriend and I consumed about 7 "Night on Sabie River" cocktails. They were that good. And it was magical to lay on lounge chairs and to gaze out at the Sabie River and Kruger Park while sipping a delicious beverage.

4. You like good food. Go with the half-board option, because breakfast and dinner are delightful.

5. You'd like to actually see animals in Kruger Park, at a reasonable price. Sabie organizes it's own guided wilderness drives with the remarkable Sydney, who grew up around the park and has guided tours for the past 9 years. While everyone else is driving around wondering where the animals are, Sydney will go off the beaten path and point out everything from birds to eagles to lions sneaking through the bush. By the end of our sunrise tour we had no fewer than 5 cars following us around.

6. You'd like to see 16 elephants walk by 300 meters in front of your tent. Ok, this isn't guaranteed, but the lodge sits right on the edge of the Sabie River, with a huge watering hole right in front. Animals come by. We saw 16 elephants, which was amazing, but our friend who stayed the week before us saw frolicking hippos and a herd of 20-30 bison. Chances are you'll see something amazing too.

7. You like good service. The service at this place is 5 star. There's no more to say about it.

So stop looking already, and just book a room here. Preferably a tent. :)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jessica A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sabieriverbushlodge, Owner at Sabie River Bush Lodge, responded to this review, September 22, 2012
Hi Jessica Thank you for your business and for the time to write a review. It was really good to chat to you and JP on the deck during your stay. We really appreciate the time that you have taken to review Sabie River Bush Lodge and look forward to welcoming you and JP to our Lodge in the near future.
Regards
Dale
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2012

We spent a few days at the Sabie River Bush Lodge (outside of Kruger Park) and really enjoyed ourselves. The accomodations were very nice, and reasonably priced. The staff were great, particularly Stewart, Welcome and Ted, and we had a couple of great game drives with Patrick. We managed to see all of the Big 5 in that area of Kruger Park - - I would recommend that you do both a morning and an afternoon drive in order to make sure that you see all of them. Or you can sit by the pool overlooking the Sabie River and watch for wildlife on the other side of the river. The lodge is reasonably priced and the service is excellent. Enjoy!

Room Tip: For a more rustic experience, try the "tent" rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AvidTravellerToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2012

Had my dad come out from the UK and we stayed at the Sabie River Bish Lodge. It was pretty cool watching the hippos while swimming on the deck. Very good service and well prepared catering. Also took a game drive into the kruger on their game vehicle and saw cheetah, white and black rhino and loads of elephant. Will defiantly recommend this lodge to all friends and family.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KeaganP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 5, 2012

The setting of this lodge is like nothing I have experienced before. We woke up in the morning to the hippo's playing in the river. Afternoons were spent sitting in the pool on the deck overlooking the river. Staff are so friendly and helpful. Great value for money. Will definitely be returning. A job well done Sabie river bush lodge.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KA V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2012

The location is extraordinary, just by the Kruger fance, overlooking hippos and other animals on the Sabie River. Be aware the tents are very simple but clean. There's no great space for hanging clothes or even wet towels. The toilet is outside, so this could be a bit of a problem for those who appreciate highest comfort when travelling. Food is OK. Staff is very friendly. There's a kitchen for every tent, which helps a lot cool down your wine! Good quality for money, considering the prices in the area.

Room Tip: There are small tents without toilet, but there're big new tents with toilet. I'd recommend...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jacquie2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goes, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
260 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2011

excellent atmosphere. A large deck. We had breakfast on the deck, whilst watching the hippo's. Enjoying their impressive sound. when we came back from a game drive in Kruger (15 min drive) a elephant was drinking riverwater. Sometimes some traffic noise.
We stayed in a room no-1, with riverview.
we had a wonderful time. Food was good. Especially when you compare it with the the food that is served in the Tree-restaurants in Krugerpark.
regards
schliek

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank schliek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sabieriverbushlodge, Owner at Sabie River Bush Lodge, responded to this review, September 23, 2011
Thank you for your business and the time taken to write a review about our Lodge. We as members of the Sabie River Bush Lodge team appreciate the positive feedback about your stay. Have passed on your review to our staff as a means of motivating them to keep up the standards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hazyview
10.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate
15.9 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview
12.8 mi away
Hippo Hollow Country Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Perry's Bridge Hollow
Perry's Bridge Hollow
#1 of 12 in Hazyview
4.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
15.2 mi away
Summerfields Rose Retreat & Spa
12.1 mi away
Kruger Park Lodge
Kruger Park Lodge
#3 of 40 in Hazyview
4.5 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sabie River Bush Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sabie River Bush Lodge

Property: Sabie River Bush Lodge
Address: R536 Portia Shabangu Drive | Kruger Gate road, Hazyview 1242, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Hazyview
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 40 Specialty Lodging in Hazyview
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sabie River Bush Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the banks of the Sabie River overlooking the majestic Kruger National Park lies Sabie River Bush Lodge, a bush lodge where you can "recharge your soul" and experience the African Bush. Situated a mere 19kms from the world famous Paul Kruger Gate and 13kms from Phabeni Gate, this is the place you want to be! Sitting on our raised pool deck enjoying great, friendly service and a cocktail with an African twist, one can view the BIG 5 and some of our smaller, yet beautiful, wildlife. With an extensive bird watching opportunity, there is no better place to sit back, relax and take in the natural beauty of the African Bushveld while all your needs are taken care of by our staff! Join us on a guided safari in our open vehicle into the Kruger National Park for a chance to get closer to the amazing animals the Kruger National Park boasts home to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Sabie River Bush Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sabie River Bush Lodge Hazyview, South Africa - Mpumalanga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing