We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good base for visiting Kruger Park - but basic and not spectacular” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jackalberry Farm & Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Jackalberry Farm & Lodge
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A good base for visiting Kruger Park - but basic and not spectacular”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

The rooms were clean and the owner/manager helpful and attentive. But overall a very basic offering - converted an old farm cottage. But close to Phabeni gate, making it easy to get into the Kruger Park each day and you don't have to arrive for the weekend before the Kruger gate closing times.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    4
    2
    0
    3
See reviews for
6
9
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

Hi,
We were fortunate enough to stay 2 nights at Jackalberry Farm & Lodge, and would recommend it to anyone thinking of staying in or around the Kruger National Park.
We consider it good value for money, as comparable priced places we viewed online whilst making our mind up to stay there, were no way close to the high standard of the lodge, and the rondavels, in which we stayed.
Our rate include breakfast but we also ate our evening meal there too. The food was excellent, and Hans has to commended for this. The extra effort he goes to for his guests, is amazing. Hans and his wife, were both charming and great host.
The Rondavel was immaculate, large and in a beautiful setting. It overlooked the river where hippos are regularly sighted. We certainly heard them the fist night, and then on the second day, we viewed one, climbing up on the bank to eat some grass.
The only down side to Jackalberry, is the terrible dirt road to the Farm. We found it very rough, and quite a distance to travel. Our little hire car and its driver (me) were both pleased when we were back on the bitumen road.
Hans did recommend a Game drive in the afternoon which included dinner and sundowner drinks etc. A wonderful Game Drive experience,as as it included dinner, we considered it good value.
We thank Hans, his lovely wife and staff for making our stay at Jackalberry Farm , so enjoyable
RSA

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

We were looking for a nice place to stay between Kruger Park and the Blyde River Canyon. This certainly was it. yes - the road down is a bit bumpy but well worth it! It gives the feeling of being in the middle of nowhere 10 minutes from Hazyview!
Han's Breakfast was a real treat too..yum yum! Nothing like drifting off to sleep listening to the hippos cavorting in the river.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank crisco10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2012

It was dark while driving on the gravel road to Jackalberry. While on the way it's wondering what we'd meet. But after reached the Lodge and saw our bangalow, we told ourselves that it's more than worth having a rest here. The room is a cozy African style with the bacolny overlook at the river. Instead, we regret not to stay here longer. It's our first time visit to South Africa with 15 lodges althrough the trip and among those, Jackalberry is the best. We felt more like staying at home. It's very relaxing time looking at the early morning birds, a colorful balloon which incidently reached the farm nearby and the big voice of Hippo by night. Hans, the owner of warm hospitality recieved us like family. I love to go back to Jackalberry again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnchaleeKolatat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2012

Had a wonderful time, german manager was very helpful and has been really friendly. The place and the road is bit difficult especially at night but overall its a very nice place to stay in. We had a decent breakfast and unfortunately couldnt see the hippos which everyone talked about at the lake. This is very close to Kruger National Park gate.

Room Tip: If you want to go Kruger Park this is the place to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abdulnafees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South AFrica
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2012

Stayed for 3 nights and used it simply as close-to-Kruger Park- accommodation. Unfortunately, we arrived in the dark and had 2km of the most awful road to negotiate before reaching the Lodge (made worse because we were driving a small car). Next disappointment - we were under the impression that we could have dinner in the restaurant, only to find that one had to book for any meals, even breakfast, well in advance - the previous day in fact. We could not even get a sandwich. This is not made clear on their website, which mentions the cost of the meals but doesnt say anything about pre-ordering. So we had to negotiate the awful road out and in again on the first night to have supper in the town. Only the large bungalow has a kitchen, and I believe that a microwave in the smaller rooms would be helpful. Another small gripe - the website states that a bowl of fruit is provided in the rooms, but this was not so. On the other hand, we didnt mention it either. On the positive side, the rooms are really good and absolutely spotless. And because we left and returned in the dark so we could spend as much time as possible in the Kruger Park, we didnt actually see how lovely the setting was until the morning of our departure. That was our loss. Generally, its quiet and tranquil and one could easlily spend time there just 'chilling' or using it as a base to visit the surroundings. The owner is extremeIy helpful about where to eat and what to do in the area. I would most certainly recommend it to those wanting to visit Kruger and this lovely part of the country.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Gallygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights and we were very satisfied with our lodge. It's a really nice accomodation in Hazyview. It's close to the Kruger park.

It's situated next to a river were you can spot Hippo's. We saw the first morning 3 Hippo's (1 baby Hippo).

The host is very friendly and helpful. The food was great, we had dinner and breakfast included.

One of the best lodges we have been to.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Js04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hazyview hotels
2.3 mi away
Thulamela
Thulamela
#6 of 43 in Hazyview
4.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
3.6 mi away
Chestnut Country Lodge
Chestnut Country Lodge
#7 of 43 in Hazyview
4.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
1.6 mi away
Idle & Wild
Idle & Wild
#3 of 43 in Hazyview
4.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Abangane Guest Lodge
Abangane Guest Lodge
#8 of 43 in Hazyview
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
1.0 mi away
Tanamera Lodge
Tanamera Lodge
#5 of 43 in Hazyview
5.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
2.8 mi away
Blue Jay Lodge
Blue Jay Lodge
#1 of 19 in Hazyview
5.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jackalberry Farm & Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jackalberry Farm & Lodge

Property: Jackalberry Farm & Lodge
Address: A10 Sandford Farm, Hazyview 1242, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Hazyview
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 43 Specialty Lodging in Hazyview
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Jackalberry Farm & Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jackalberry Farm & Lodge is located in sub-tropical Hazyview. With its all year round holiday climate of hot summers with cooling rains and sunny, warm winter days, it is ideal base from which to tour and explore the world famous Kruger National Park and the many beautiful wonders of the Lowveld and Escarpment. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Jackalberry Farm & Lodge Hazyview, South Africa - Mpumalanga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing