We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING FOOD!”
Review of Pioneer's Grill

Pioneer's Grill
Ranked #1 of 22 Restaurants in Hazyview
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $17 - $21
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Pioneer's Grill, a restaurant situated in Hazyview, Mpumalanga serving the best aged steak in town. We also have a wine cellar with over a 100 wines to choose from. Our butchery, Meat & Coffee Co at the new Hazyview Junction Mall where you can buy aged meat for your braai in the Kruger.
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“AMAZING FOOD!”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We loved the food and wine selection at Pioneers. It was definitely one of the best plates of food I had in a restaurant. If I find myself in Hazyview again I will definitely go back to Pioneers every evening.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank irmaSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

751 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    475
    203
    46
    11
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Great Steaks”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Great food and service, best in Hazyview. Steaks are amazing. Try the ostrich carpaccio. They serve big portions and the wine list is great but not expensive. All staff are well trained and very polite.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank scoosi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
united kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“simply delicious !”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We ate here on a few occasions, the quality of the food is superb, the wines delightful and the surroundings gorgeous. Well worth a visit, and the butchers shop also is fantastic for the braai

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ann s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoedspruit, Limpopo
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

What a pleasant surprise when we were finally able to visit the Pioneer Grill at the Rendezvous Centre in Hazyview.

The restaurant has had quite a good number of reviews in local papers and word of mouth reviews and comments have been so good that we wanted to experience this for ourselves.

The ambiance and the comfort was tops as was the food and the good wine list. Service was good and the overall dining experience was well worth the visit. If you are on a tight budget, perhaps this is not the place to dine as starters are around R45 - R50 each and main course is around R95 - R130 on average. However we were happy to dine here as the decor is rich and tasteful and the tables and comfort are of a high standard. If you want to enjoy high standards and comforts one should be prepared to pay that little extra - its all about choice and what your needs are.

Although the menu is diverse, I would imagine that their meat dishes are rated top of the list. On this occasion, we both had steak meals and this was well presented with our side orders and ‘melt in the mouth’ satisfaction.

There is plenty of off street parking with a security car guard present, which always puts me at ease, especially at night.

We will definitely give this place a tick on our list of favourite places to eat out and we look forward to trying out some of their other dishes in the near future.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HappyChappie2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Igel, Rheinland-Pfalz, Germany
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Delicious food, beautifully prepared.”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We were a party if eight and we all loved our meals. The meat was absolutely delicious. This is a great place to eat and we loved sitting outside in the evening listening to the chirping of frogs.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sandra v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pioneer's Grill also viewed

 
Hazyview, Mpumalanga
 
Hazyview, Mpumalanga
 

Been to Pioneer's Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing