We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely mood and food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pioneer's Grill

Pioneer's Grill
Ranked #1 of 21 Restaurants in Hazyview
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $17 - $21
Cuisines: Grill, Steakhouse, African
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Pioneer's Grill, a restaurant situated in Hazyview, Mpumalanga serving the best aged steak in town. We also have a wine cellar with over a 100 wines to choose from. Our butchery, Meat & Coffee Co at the new Hazyview Junction Mall where you can buy aged meat for your braai in the Kruger.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Lovely mood and food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

A modern prawn cocktail with the most delicious avocado and entree soup was yummy & huge! We enjoyed our meal and had steaks for our mains. They were delicious!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank marshmallowfeathers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

694 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    436
    191
    45
    10
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Ate there a couple of times, best in Hazyview town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

Big menu, big portions, great service, really like it! We normally stay at the Numbi Hotel which borders the restaurant and one of the nights I make it priority to try and eat at the Pioneers restaurant. They also serve ice cold beer from the tap which ends off a great day in the Lowveld!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank SaTravelerblog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent steaks”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

The steaks were excellent and very well priced. They were perfectly cooked and fillets came in two sizes which were just right for us!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sharon and John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A very good meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We ate at Pioneers twice whilst staying in Hazyview. I thought that it was closed on Sundays but it wasn't when we were there. Note however that the neighbouring restaurant Tides is closed on Sunday evenings.

Pioneers has a very pleasant ambiance spoiled somewhat by the presence of wide screen TVs. Despite myself I feel drawn to watch them !

The food was very good. I had the fillet steak with pepper sauce. The steak was very tender and the sauce very peppery. I had fillet and calamari on the second visit. Again the steak was cooked to perfection and the calamari was deep-fried in a salt and pepper batter. Very nice !

Nice cold Hansa beer on draught washed it all down. The chocolate brownie dessert was not quite moist enough but still very tasty.

Parking outside is monitored by a night guard (don't forget to tip him as you leave !)

Two main courses, beer and coffee cost about £30 for two. Good value and good food. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Terrierboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely dinner venue! Delicious food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

Great choice of dishes on the menu! We had sirloin and fillet steak with their traditional basting, sauces and side dishes and everything was delicious!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ruaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pioneer's Grill also viewed

 
Hazyview, Mpumalanga
 
Hazyview, Mpumalanga
 

Been to Pioneer's Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing