We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful weekend!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cuckoo Ridge Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cuckoo Ridge Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 19 Hazyview B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful weekend!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

We spent a very romantic, wonderful 3 nights with Joan and Alan at Cuckoo Ridge.
Breakfast was delicious every morning. Recommendations of local activities such as restaurants and horse-riding were really appreciated. The views from the patio, both from the room and from breakfast balcony were wonderful and easy to get lost in, listening to the wildlife around. We shall definitely return for a visit!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    19
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
70
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

definitely the best BnB I have ever stayed at. the hosts have thought of everything, we werent left wishing for anything. the rooms are absolutely stunning and immaculate, the views are absolutely gorgeous. We stayed in the Kingfisher chalet and it was stunning, massive bath, huge shower, king size bed and comfy outside furniture to enjoy the views while you sip on a glass of wine. each chalet is very private and even though cuckoo ridge was full we hardly even knew other people were staying there. the only downfall I would say wuold be the road to the main town which is littered with pot holes, but unfortunately that is out of the owners hands. other than that we have no complaints only compliments about our stay at cuckoo ridge.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rustenburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

Cuckoo Ridge is a superb B and B and Joan and Alan are fantastic hosts. Joan also cooks a mean breakfast! It is situated in a gorgeous valley with prolific bird life and even a duiker or 2 to be spotted and is very central. The log cabin we stayed in is spotlessly clean and very comfortable. I highly recommend Cuckoo Ridge and will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank ShellC18142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, Ca
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

Well-appointed accommodations and convenient, especially if you want to drive the Panoramic Route and visit Kruger. Joan is a wonderful host who provides an excellent breakfast and a generous box meal if you want to get an early start in the park.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Edie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

Excellent location and excellent and charming hosts, who live tere and make you feel you are at home.
Location is very good, 14 km away from hazyview(not that far!) and very close to other exciting activities.
on the other hand very calm, perfect for relaxing stay with fantastic views ..

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ines P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

We've had a good time staying at Cuckoo Ridge. The owner was very friendly and helpful. Upon arrival she immediately helped us to book a game drive. Close to Hazyview and to the entrance of Kruger Park.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank bas v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maputo
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

We had a lovely stay at cuckoo ridge. The self-catering unit was extremely comfortable, spotlessly clean and had everything you'd need plus all the little extras that make you feel at home.

Peaceful and tranquil setting, Joan made us feel very welcome and we look forward to returning soon!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank twinem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hazyview hotels
0.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview
0.0 mi away
Perry's Bridge Hollow
Perry's Bridge Hollow
#3 of 12 in Hazyview
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hippo Hollow Country Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ashbourne Country Escape
Ashbourne Country Escape
#3 of 19 in Hazyview
5.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kruger Park Lodge
Kruger Park Lodge
#2 of 43 in Hazyview
4.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dreamfields Guesthouse
Dreamfields Guesthouse
#6 of 19 in Hazyview
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cuckoo Ridge Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cuckoo Ridge Bed & Breakfast

Property: Cuckoo Ridge Bed & Breakfast
Address: R536 Sabie, Hazyview Road, Hazyview 1242, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Hazyview
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Hazyview
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Mpumalanga in the picturesque Sabie River Valley lies Cuckoo Ridge Country Bed and Breakfast where four star luxury accommodation in private tranquil settings awaits you. Large individual chalets offer privacy, luxurious appointments, King or Queen Beds, en-suite bathrooms for pampering, private lounge and a private covered deck overlooking breathtaking views of the Sabie River Valley. Only twenty kilometers from the Kruger National Park, entering through Phabeni gate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Cuckoo Ridge Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cuckoo Ridge Bed & Breakfast Hazyview, South Africa - Mpumalanga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing