We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful”
Review of Tanamera Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tanamera Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“beautiful”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

We stayed here in march 2012 for 3 nights after seeing it advertised in a magazine. astonishing views, beautiful rooms, and excellent food. couldn't really fault anything.
The rooms all feel very private, which was lovely, and the views are ridiculous! The rooms are absolute luxury, all the little details made it extra special- and the service was brilliant!
It was a fair bit more expensive than a lot of the places we stayed in SA, so we booked it as a bit of a treat- and if you have the money to spend then it is definitely worth it. I can't really think of any negatives!
There were quite a few stairs to walk down to get to our room so maybe check which room is easiest to get to if this would be a problem; and definitely think its more of a couples destination than family.

Room Tip: honeymoon suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank lucy h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    13
    4
    5
    2
See reviews for
10
143
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

I was here many years ago and was reminded by an email from Tripadvisor of various hotels with stunning views.
You drive up from the main road ("up" being the correct word) as Tanamera is placed high on a hill. You enter a lovely reception, lounge/dining area and as you walk towards the huge picture window, you're greeted by a superb view looking down onto the indigenous forests and the sparkling Sabie river far below.
The chalet is more of the same. Well appointed rooms with good linen, towels etc and a lovely bathroom with huge walk-in shower and free-standing bath. As you lie in the bath you have a great view over the forest.
Dinner is around a large communal dining table and food is good and wholesome.
You're near most of the main tourist sites such as God's Window and Pilgrims Rest. I'd say 2 nights here is perfect.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank iankaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2012

Tanamera Lodge was the perfect little hide-away for us. Run with so much love and passion for all details that make your stay just great, everyone there made us feel so welcome. The view from the chalets is breathtaking. The chalets themselves are breathtaking as well. Wonderful place!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank h1013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

We had a fantastic overnight stay. The lodge is a perfect stopover at the start of the panorama route. It is close to an elephant sanctuary and a short drive from Hazyview. The lodge itself is rustic with large secluded rooms with stunning views across the valley. There are some good short walks - we walked down to the river (about 40 minutes returns journey). Food is superb too.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Ianofsurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2012

We stayed at Tanamera for a mini honeymoon and on the whole we were very impressed, the views are stunning, the honeymoon suite is huge and beautiful- loved the wood fire, stone bath and huge fourposter bed. We enjoyed a couple of game drives which the hotel had organised. The food was also delicious and was very happy that they would set this up in our suite so we could have privacy. The reasons I did not give rate the lodge five stars is that I wish they had warned us that you really need to hire a car for some of the activities- when we said we were coming without a car (as it looked like we wouldn't need them) they didn't say anything and with the transfer costing so much we may as well have hired a car. Also we were booked onto the wrong activity one evening which was a bit annoying- we wanted to go for a night drive in Kapama and they organised a trip to Kruger where we had already been in the morning which was disappointing as we didn't get another opportunity to visit there. But all in all the staff were very nice and we had a great time and would definitely recommend Tanamera.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank mcmanusemma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, VA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2012

We stayed 3 nights at the Tanamera Lodge and thoroughly enjoyed it. The setting was beautiful, in the woods, overlooking a stream. The chalet was beautiful and very private. We especially loved the stone shower, with a waterfall stream, and the huge bathtub overlooking the view. There was also a private plunge pool on the deck, but it wasn't quite warm enough when we were there to enjoy the rather chilly water in the pool. The food was delicious and there was a choice of options each evening. The staff was very friendly and accomodating. They made reservations for us for close by quad biking, which we enjoyed. We also enjoyed touring the Panorama Route--a beautiful part of a beautiful and fascinating country.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank VATerpfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2011

Beautiful rooms, and spectacular views are spoilt by indifferent service, and really shocking food. One expects so much more from a four star lodge and personally this was the worst value for money we'd experienced in years. The hosts / owners don't appear to have any interest in providing service, and our complaints were completely ignored. The food was really appalling, with fast food restaurant food better quality. In spite of requesting our fillet rare, it was served well done and when raised with staff they just shrugged and said they were tired! So-called Carpenter fish (whihc appeared to be frozen hake) was presented as trout and the Wimpy does a better breakfast. The website advertises hiking but when we asked for information were told really indifferently by the staff member on duty that she doesn't really know, and perhaps if we follow the road we can get down to the river! We won't be back!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sozzie_27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hazyview
0.8 mi away
Hippo Hollow Country Estate
2.1 mi away
Summerfields Rose Retreat & Spa
0.5 mi away
Perry's Bridge Hollow
Perry's Bridge Hollow
#1 of 13 in Hazyview
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sabi River Sun Resort
Sabi River Sun Resort
#3 of 13 in Hazyview
835 reviews
10.3 mi away
Timamoon
Timamoon
#1 of 16 in Sabie
255 reviews
1.4 mi away
Kruger Park Lodge
Kruger Park Lodge
#3 of 39 in Hazyview
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tanamera Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tanamera Lodge

Property: Tanamera Lodge
Address: R536 Sabie Road | Farm Vergenoeg Sabie Road, Hazyview 1260, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Hazyview
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 39 Specialty Lodging in Hazyview
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tanamera Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tanamera Lodge is nestled on the malaria-free slopes of the Sabie River Valley, offering luxurious accommodation and breathtaking Lowveld scenery. Being centrally located, guests are able to explore the Lowveld Panorama, including sights such as God's Window, the Blyde River Canyon and Pilgrim's Rest. We are 4 Star graded and offer beautifully decorated rooms with personal touches and attention to detail. Each chalet is complete with a tea and coffee selection, a log fireplace to keep you warm over wintry nights, and ceiling fans for hot summer nights. With the Kruger National Park's Phabeni Gate just a short 30-minute drive, our visitors may easily access this world-renowned Big 5 reserve on self-driven or guided safari tours. This is a birder’s paradise and home to birds such as the Narina Trogon and Purple Crested Turaco. Activities in the area include abseiling, white water rafting, microlight flights, elephant encounters, horseback riding and much more! We outsource spa treatments from massage to reflexology to manicures and pedicures, all brought to you in the privacy of your own chalet. A couple's massage is ideal for a romantic getaway.Our five magnificent Luxury Chalets are fully serviced and offer king-size beds with mosquito nets, stone baths, waterfall showers, fireplaces and plunge pools. In addition to this the two Honeymoon Chalets offer open-door outside showers on private decks with outstanding valley views and a sitting room and dining area. Each Chalet is secluded, private and surrounded by the unspoilt indigenous bush. Tanamera is perfect for romantic getaways. The main lodge area is tastefully decorated and comprises a dining area, a lounge and a comfortable bar area. You can step down onto our main deck where there is a rim-flow pool and absorb the exceptional views over the cascading Sabie River Valley. Meals are served in our main lodge area, on the candle-lit deck, or privately in your chalet or on your deck. Rates include dinner as well as bed and breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Tanamera Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tanamera Lodge Hazyview, South Africa - Mpumalanga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing