We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth the visit!”

Perry's Bridge Reptile Park
Ranked #5 of 15 things to do in Hazyview
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Get up close and personal with some of South Africa and the worlds most venomous snakes! Large constrictors, lizards, tortoises, spiders, frogs and crocodilians on display, all set amongst lush tropical gardens. A great outing for everyone, combining education and information with fun - don't miss our incredibly informative demonstrations at 11 and 3 daily, and crocodile feeding on Sundays at 2 (seasonal and weather dependent. We are so lucky to be situated centrally, with restaurants (including Spur, Kuka and Topoplinos) and a kiddies playground all within the same centre, Skyway trails right next door, and two Elephant Sanctuaries within 10km! We are also in easy reach of Sudwala Caves and the Panorama Route, and partner with Induna Adventures, Sudwala Caves, Mafunyane water park and Chimp Eden to offer you great discounts.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Worth the visit!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014

My boyfriend and I spent a good part of the afternoon perusing the reptile park. There is a wide variety of reptiles, from snakes to tortoises to lizards to crocodiles (and possibly alligators but I don't quite remember for sure as I was there last May). There are also some spiders and scorpions too! Some of the reptiles were 'on vacation' but there were plenty of creepy crawlies and scaly critters to observe. Also some birds and a wild pig wandering around - cute! The enclosures are big enough for the reptiles and look well kept, and the reptiles appear content and happy. Some more effort could be put into the appearance of the walkways (and maybe gardens etc) to keep the place looking new for visitors. There is plenty of information about each reptile and I learned some interesting things. In fact, the following day in the Kruger National Park, we were able to identify a black mamba slither across the road in front of us, and spot and identify various other reptiles from what we had learned the previous day at the reptile park. It was a bit expensive for us (more expensive than a day in the KNP) but I was glad we went and it was cheaper than most of the other attractions in the area (elephant parks, adventure sports, horserides, monkey parks etc.) some of which are upwards of R500! The staff member we encountered in the park was very friendly and asked if we had any questions about anything. It was a fun and educational afternoon in Hazyview!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindsay W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolyn B, Owner at Perry's Bridge Reptile Park, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review, it is so good to hear that you took away new information, and a good impression of both our animals and our staff (and yes, there are alligators too :) ) . We agree with you about the gardens....but those cute piggies aren't the best gardeners. We tried to put fences up and they managed to destroy them too! But we have our thinking hats on and are looking for a solution to keep both our guests and our piggies happy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    52
    21
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Centurion, South Africa
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Most of the reptiles were on vacation”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

Went with small kids, so for them it was nice, but some of the cages were empty and the sidewalks not very clean, very mucky and some places slippery

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Fatz26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolyn B, Manager at Perry's Bridge Reptile Park, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Hi there,
I would really appreciate it if you can send me a message and let me know which cages were empty? At the moment we have one cage which is empty out of 40 in the snake house, and 1 out of 12 in the frog house. All others are occupied but as the vivariums are designed with plants, rocks and natural cage decor you may well have to take a moment to look for the residents - they are not as obvious as they may be if they are sitting on plain sand, newspaper or astroturf which is what you find in most reptile parks and zoos. We do separate pairs if we are feeding them, but one will remain on display, and if we are cleaning of course we remove the occupants - but not more than 2 cages at a time, and the doors at the back are left standing open so that it is obvious and you don't waste your time looking inside. So I would like to get to the bottom of this if that protocol was not followed. Slippery paths are unfortunately always an issue in rainy season as we are heavily vegetated, so I apologise for that and will ask the staff to do an extra sweep in the mornings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Reptiles”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

Nice quiet setting, and a good little app on the iphone to walk you through the park. The staff keep the place in good shape and the variety of reptiles is really very good.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bruynst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolyn B, Owner at Perry's Bridge Reptile Park, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review! So glad that you found the app useful, it is something new that we are trying, and so far the feedback has been great, so looks like it is here to stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paterson
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“EXPECTED MORE”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

For R80 you get to walk around by yourself. Awesome snakes, but area not well maintained. They should maybe give some pamphlets, regarding the history ect.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lemari M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolyn B, Owner at Perry's Bridge Reptile Park, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Hi Lemari, thanks for taking the time to visit us! I am glad you found our snakes 'awesome', it is great when someone agrees with us on that front! Am sorry you felt that you needed more information though - we endeavor to provide lots of relevant information on every enclosure, and also have a mobile app available both on our website and by scanning the QR code at the reception desk, which gives loads of info in a 'guided tour' format. Should you ever be in the area, I would also encourage you to join one of our advertised twice daily demonstrations which last around 30 - 40 minutes and aim to proved a new perspective on the world of snakes....and which are included at no extra charge. We also have a constant differing of opinions on whether are garden area is 'unkempt' or whether it is achieving what we aimed for, rustic and jungle like, as lawns and flower beds don't really sit well with our sense of what the Lowveld is all about.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
79 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Not so Great”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

Was a bit disappointed with the limited "variety" of snakes and very few crocodiles. The glass where the snakes can be viewed from are quite dirty which affects any pictures one might want to take. For a reptile park in South Africa, I expected to see more African species. We were fortunate to visit on a Sunday when there was a demonstration and information session with about 4 snakes. This made our visit go over an hour but under normal circumstances..in less than an hour one will be done (fed up). In short, don't be too excited about the park

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Admiral N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolyn B, Manager at Perry's Bridge Reptile Park, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Hi there, sorry for the delay in responding as I was waiting on the new Tripadvisor verification process. We really appreciate your feedback. I'm sorry you didn't feel that we had enough local species, but I wonder if you did, in fact, see the whole park. There are more than 40 species of snakes displayed, and in terms of South African species, we currently have on display: black mamba, green mamba, Mozambique spitting cobras, gaboon viper, forest cobra, brown house snake, snouted cobra, boomslang, vine snake, coral snake, cape cobra, African rock python, rinkhals and puff adders. There are of course, many other species of snake in this country, but many of them don't "display" well, in that they are very secretive species that don't thrive when they are in a display situation, or are burrowers that would not be seen by visitors. As for minimal crocodiles - correct that we only have 2. However it is often suggested that "Oom Len" is one of the largest crocs on display to the public, and I'm not sure that "more" equals "better" - we are a reptile park, not a crocodile farm so endeavour to show a wider variety rather than large numbers of any one species. There are of course crocodile farms who display large quantities of crocodiles - but since they spend the majority of the day simply basking increasing the number does not mean you will see any more "action". I do agree that our windows were looking a bit "shabby",though not actually through lack of cleaning but rather as the result of mineral buildup from the condensation which occurs overnight - the downside of keeping our animals with live plants and soil rather than artifical substrates. We unfortunately had to wait for better weather to replace them, and this is now done. Hope you visit again sometime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Perry's Bridge Reptile Park also viewed

 
Hazyview, Mpumalanga
 

Been to Perry's Bridge Reptile Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing