We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NEVER go to Lions Rock!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lions Rock Golf Lodge
Ranked #11 of 23 Hazyview B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 14, 2013

My husband and I decided to 'treat' ourselves with a night in Hazyview following a couple of days in the bush in Hoedspruit. We found this establishment on Where to Stay and chose it due to the '4 star rating'. What a disapointment. We were in the "Honeymoon suite". In summary - OLD decor (looks like the owners decided to move all their old furniture that they don't want anymore into this room), Bedding VERY old fashioned (who doesn't know that the standard for bedding is white and duvets - NOT A BEDSPREAD), 'spa bath' which is so old an dirty I didn't touch it, no toilet paper, and to top it all, no extra blankets. Breakfast was included, but we could not get ourselves to eat as we were scared what we'll get. I wouldn't pay R250 a night to stay and they charged R1,500!!! Marion, you should be ashamed of yourself

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Theresa V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (72)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 72 reviews

Reviewed December 9, 2012

We last stayed at Lions Rock in May 2012, having stayed several times over the last few years and have never been disappointed.

The accommodation is excellent, clean, very spacious with wonderful views and excellent value.

The location is only 20 minutes drive to Phabeni Gate and handily placed for the scenic panoramic route.

Marion and Bruce are very friendly, will help with suggestions of places to visit or recommend places to eat etc if required but will leave you alone if that’s what you prefer.

Probably the best thing about Lions Rock is that it is one of those places you will have to go back to – and we will!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JulieWHuddersfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

We have stayed at the Lions Rock Golf Lodge on 4 occassions during the past 3 years. The lodge is ideally situated close to the shopping Centre in which our stores are situated - close to work. The cottages are tastefully decorated and fully equiped to meet our self-catering needs. The view from the Lodge is spectacular even though we are only at the Lodge early in the mornings and late at night. The private splash pool with every cottage is so ideal especially in the hot summers. There is no need to worry about sharing a pool with other visitors allowing you to relax on your own. The reception at the Lodge is always warm and friendly. Marion and Bruce are friendly and kind people and always go far beyond the extra mile to make their guests feel welcomed and at home. A complimentary breakfast basket was available in our rooms every morning even though we were only charged bed only rates. We will most definately make use of the Lodge in the future. The Lodge is definately a home away from home. Warm regards Mandi de Sousa, Maggie Viviers and Lorraine Simango

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mandi-Leigh d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2009

My wife and I, along with two friends, were driven into Lions Rock Golf Lodge by our tour operator's representative just after 8pm one evening after a day of travelling from Victoria Falls. Tired and hungry our hosts not only phoned a nearby bar to ask them to keep the kitchen open but drove us to it and collected us later. Our hire car wasn't due till the morning.

Bruce and Marion Robertson were excellent hosts during our whole 5 nights stay. Varied and sumptuous breakfasts were enjoyed each day that would happily have graced a 5 star establishment. Sadly, bed and breakfast only at Lions Rock but that meant that we could go out every night to dine at a different restaurant, again kindly booked by our hosts. They also booked our night safari at the nearby Kruger National Park.

Lions Rock sits on the hillside overlooking the Sabie River valley with distant views to Kruger, about 20 minutes drive to the nearest gate. Each lodge is spacious and well appointed with its own modest swimming pool adjoining the patio. Very welcome for cooling down after a day in the heat, or just lazing around to admire the views.

There's lots to do in the area, be it a game drive in Kruger, or local sanctuaries, or visiting some of the dramatic scenery such as can be found in the Blyde River Canyon with its many waterfalls. Perrys Bridge and Hazyview are about 5 minutes drive away and there are plenty of hotels, restaurants and bars there, as well as closer to the lodge.

The nine hole par three golf course has short and long holes to challenge you. The greens still need some work but it was a useful loosener before we headed off for Sun City.

At the end of our stay we were all sad to be leaving Lions Rock but delighted that our Internet research had discovered it amongst the many possible lodges in the area.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kestrel51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2016, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Nathalie254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank corinne6586
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank aliciaeyme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hazyview hotels
3.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hazyview
2.1 mi away
Summerfields Rose Retreat & Spa
2.3 mi away
aha Casa do Sol
aha Casa do Sol
#8 of 13 in Hazyview
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hippo Hollow Country Estate
0.5 mi away
Perry's Bridge Hollow
Perry's Bridge Hollow
#1 of 13 in Hazyview
385 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ashbourne Country Escape
Ashbourne Country Escape
#3 of 23 in Hazyview
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lions Rock Golf Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lions Rock Golf Lodge

Address: R536 Sabie Road, Hazyview 1242, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Hazyview
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Hazyview
Price Range: $115 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lions Rock Golf Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on 28 hectares,4 Stars, TGCSA - B&B,on the main road, Lions Rock is set amongst the mountains of Hazyview, with the Sabie River running through to Kruger National Park.Luxurious chalets, each with private swimming pools, spa baths,spacious showers, king beds,kitchenette, bar-fridge, microwave, tea/coffee,TV/DSTV, comfy lounge area and veranda with views of Sunrise or Sunset. Parking at chalets. Rates include a delicious breakfast, golf on the 9 hole par 3 Mashy Golf Course. Viewing Sport and Movies in the Theatre Room, by appointment. Massages are available, and assistance with reservations for dinners - nearby, plus Kruger National Park, Panorama Route and Adventure Activities/Elephant Whispers and much more. Many eateries nearby for dinners.Chalet options are Twin Beds, King beds, and LION KING CHALET with loft room sleeps 2 adults + 2 children. Two of the king chalets sleep 2 adults plus 1 single. Children 7 years plus.Tranquil walks down to the Lions Rock River Rapids and fishing in the dams - bring own tackle. Peaceful and relaxing 'Getaway'. Choose the Lions Share! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Lions Rock Golf Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lions Rock Golf Lodge Hazyview, South Africa - Mpumalanga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing