We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded Expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Laughing Waters Guest House
Ranked #5 of 20 Hazyview B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
George, Western Cape
Level Contributor
38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Exceeded Expectations”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Situated about 5km outside of Hazyview on a lemon and soon to be macadamia nut farm. Carol and Gavin are great hosts and the gardens and surrounding scenery at Laughing Waters exceeded my expectations. There are 5 spacious and very comfortable rooms. The food was great and overall a wonderful experience. It felt like a home away from home, I could have spent a day relaxing by the pool. The amazing sea food dinner was a highlight. This has to be my guesthouse of choice in Hazyview. I will be back

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gavin021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carolvdw, Front Office Manager at Laughing Waters Guest House, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Gavin

Thank you for your great review.
We hope to see you soon again at your home away from home here at Laughing Waters.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    62
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
58
100
10
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rosario, Argentina
1 review
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Very very nice people and place. Highly recommendable. Clean and cozzy. Home made foods. We checked out early, before breakfast time, and they gave us a box with cereals bars, fruits. Thank very much.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank R B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carolvdw, Owner at Laughing Waters Guest House, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you for your great recommendation.
I am happy we could make your stay so enjoyable.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maputo, Nampula, Mozambique
2 reviews
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Beautiful garden - going through the lemon farm and orchards felt like a paradise! Warmest welcome by the owners - Carol and Gavin, making sure that we were comfortable. Rooms are beautifully decorated, spacious and had everything that we needed. Fantastic meal delicately prepared and served. We enjoyed our stay and are looking forward to be back there!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeyran S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carolvdw, Owner at Laughing Waters Guest House, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us on the farm.
we look forward to seeing you again.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We loved Laughing Waters Guesthouse, specially the hospitatilty of the owners Carol and Gavin. They try to make your stay the best. The food is very good as well for breakfast and especially for diner. Gavin makes lovely dishes. We would definitely recommend this place to stay when you want to visit the Kruger NP and Blyde River Canyon

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank PlanetDeAn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carolvdw, Owner at Laughing Waters Guest House, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you for your recommendation.
We are glad to hear you loved the food and hope to see you one day again.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uvita
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Warm and friendly atmosphere.
Proximity to Kruger National Park.
A country setting, lush landscaping only a few kilometers outside the town of Hazyview.
Gavin, Carol, family and staff.welcome you with wonderful South African hospitality.
Extremely helpful with other travel plans and knowledge of the area.. Plan to take a guided tour with Gavin and you will be guaranteed "The Big Five".
We booked for 3 days and returned for 5 more!
After a long day in the Park, we came "home" to relax and unwind.
Enjoyed one of Chef David's tasteful and beautifully presented 3 course dinners, accompanied by a good South African wine or beverage of your choice from the well stocked" Honour Bar"
If you want to take a day away from the Park, you can sit in the tropical garden,enjoying the
birds or just relax by the pool.
Rooms,with terrace overlooking the gardens were spacious, comfortable beds and large bathroom.
On a scale from 1 to 10 our overall experience would merit a 10

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a terrace, close to the restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carryfinca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carolvdw, Owner at Laughing Waters Guest House, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Carolyn
Thank you for your outstanding review!!!
we enjoyed having you and Brian at the lodge and hope to see you again the next time you come to the area.
we were sad to say goodbye to you on 15 October and hope to welcome you back to your home in the lowveld soon again.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Twelve very happy and satisfied guests.
The high standards are now even higher.
This is the ideal stopover while touring around, as a a base for entry into the Kruger National park.
We will be back, soon.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Steve K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carolvdw, Owner at Laughing Waters Guest House, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you for your great review.
We hope to be seeing you soon again.
We always strive to give the best of service at all times.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Haag, Nederland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

Unfortunately only one night to spend but for sure, is this a place to come back to.

Gorgeous surrounding, wonderful location, seriously beautiful place.

Spacious room, views to garden from the deck/balcony are stunning. Friendly host and staff.

I marked this Nr 1 on my list of guesthouses for this region.

(wouter at aukema dot org)

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank waukema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carolvdw, Owner at Laughing Waters Guest House, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you for your review Wouter.
Maybe we will see you for a longer stay next time :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hazyview hotels
2.8 mi away
Hippo Hollow Country Estate
0.4 mi away
Summerfields Rose Retreat & Spa
1.5 mi away
Ashbourne Country Escape
Ashbourne Country Escape
#3 of 20 in Hazyview
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Bambuu Lakeside Lodge
Bambuu Lakeside Lodge
#4 of 20 in Hazyview
100 reviews
3.5 mi away
Kruger Park Lodge
Kruger Park Lodge
#4 of 40 in Hazyview
462 reviews
3.9 mi away
Dreamfields Guesthouse
Dreamfields Guesthouse
#7 of 20 in Hazyview
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laughing Waters Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laughing Waters Guest House

Property: Laughing Waters Guest House
Address: S29 Sabie Road | R536 Sabie Road, Hazyview 1242, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Hazyview
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Hazyview
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Laughing Waters Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Laughing Waters Guest House in Hazyview is tucked away in the heart of the picturesque Sabie Valley on the banks of the Sabie River. Journey through the lemon trees to arrive in a beautiful sub-tropical garden, surrounded by tall trees and populated with an abundance of birds, Laughing Waters Guest House is a quiet haven, with a familiarity and comfort that makes you feel quite at home.On checking into Laughing Waters Guest House Hazyview, one will be settling into a retreat that boasts high archways, and a Tuscan ambience, a building that evokes an antiquated awe. Through the landscaped courtyard one will find their room with views of the beautiful surroundings. The location of Laughing Waters Guest House, close to the river, ensures slightly cooler temperatures within the valley; this comfortable micro climate makes Laughing Waters Guest House especially welcoming for a Lowveld destination in the hot summer months. The riverine forest and indigenous bush surrounding the farm, the proximity to Hazyview and the Kruger National Park and the occasional sighting of hippos makes Laughing Waters Guest House feel slightly "wild," but still very civilised! We have an in-house tour operator to assist with any tours / transfers you need planned. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Laughing Waters Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laughing Waters Guest House Hazyview, South Africa - Mpumalanga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing